13 Reviews

OMG...this is a moist and delicious cake that you can make at the last minute that will guarantee you rave reviews. After taking cake out of the oven, immediately place in freezer for 45 minutes. Then it's time to ice. Of course with cream cheese icing. Everyone will be asking for the recipe. When trying new recipes, I do heavily rely on reviews. Afterall who has the time to waste. The most time consuming part is chopping up the carrots...after that it's a snap...but well worth the efforts. I added coursely chopped walnuts and about 1 tsp of cinnamon. If you like this carrot cake I would suggest you try the Banana Cake. It's equally outstanding. Both are well worth your time. I will definitely be making these cakes again and again. Enjoy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheena2 January 01, 2011

Great recipe, I just love carrot cake!! I made one 9x9 inch cake and 12 cupcakes from the batter. the kids enjoyed the cupcakes even without the icing. I iced the cake with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting and it was a great addition. The cake actually tastes better the next day when the flavours have blended. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * June 09, 2005

This was awesome!!! Thanks a bunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DreamerLex June 20, 2010

What? No nuts? Are you crazy, of course I added nuts! So so good! Nothing beats Carrot Cake in my book and this one was a 5 star for sure. More in my book!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tony Rules The Kitchen... Sally Watches! September 13, 2008

I have never made carrot cake before. I read the reviews and was unsure if I should add any spice. I decided to just follow the recipe exactly. It came out perfect but when I tasted it I thought I should have added the spice. My husband asked me to frost it but I do not like cream cheese frosting. I found the recipe for allspice cream cheese frosting and decided to frost half the cake. WELL, let me tell you, the frosting was amazing. I ended up frosting the whole cake,or I should say what was left of it. It was delicous and so easy to make. Can't wait to make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela #5 April 25, 2007

I love this recipe! It's incredibly soft and moist. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha November 06, 2006

The flavor of this cake was delicious and it was no trouble to mix up at all. I added 2 tsps of cinnamon and about 3/4 cup of pecans. Next time I will add raisins as well. I baked this in a 10x14 pan and it was done in just under 30 minutes. I'll definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soup Fly * May 15, 2006

Best Carrot Cake ever. The base recipe is wonderful. Because I felt the need for more than 2 alterations I gave it a 4 star. After the changes it is definitly a 5 star recipe. I added a tablespoon of cinnamon, 3/4 cup of raisans, and 3/4 cup of barely chopped pecans. Absolutely wonderful results. I used a plain cream cheese frosting not spiced.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maeven6 February 09, 2006

I wasn't home when it was cooking and the person I had told to turn it off did it a little too late and it burnt! boo =( I have to retry this one =/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippeastrum July 06, 2005

Truly a Phenomenal Carrot Cake !! I was looking for a recipe that had pineapple and coconut and came across this one , I added chopped pecans , raisins and 3 teaspoons of cinnamon to the batter and made the BEST carrot cake ever !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P June 25, 2005
Phenomenal Carrot Cake