Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pheasant in Orange Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pheasant in Orange Sauce

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2013

      I really enjoyed this, although, my pheasant got a bit dry. And i even cooked it 15 minutes less than suggested! It would have been inedible if i had cooked it the full time. Maybe I had it simmering too high? Not sure, since no one else seemed to have this issue. Otherwise, the flavor was great. I would definitely try this again. Everyone enjoyed this, but also thought it was dry. I served with herbed oven-roasted potatoes and carrots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Well, I do not know how big your pheasants are, but mine were 3 1/2 pounds, and splitting them into halves was a monster job. I finally managed with a pair of heavy duty wire cutters, and even then, the result looked more like fresh road kill then something bought from the poulterer. Next time, I will freeze the birds and run them through the ribbon saw. My next problem was that it took far too long to evaporate all the liquid. But.... the end result was gloriously delicious. I served the pheasant with small, rosemary, salt and black pepper basted potatoes.
      Thanks for the recipe. Dolf

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Unbelievable! My son brought home wild pheasant last night; I had NO idea what to do with it! I followed the recipe exactly with one exception: I didn't have pumpkin pie spice; I used Chinise five spice instead. What can I say..this dish is hall of fame material. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      this was great and very easy to make. I added the pumpkin pie spice and would never have thought how much it added.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      My husband goes pheasant hunting with our English Pointer all during the season so we have quite a few pheasants in the freezer. This has to be one of the best recipes I have ever tried. It's so good I have shared it with several of my friends and family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      Outstanding! My husband hunts pheasant in the Netherlands every fall so I'm always looking for new ways to cook the wild he brings home. This recipe sounded interesting and different enough to try - - Wow what a hit! The blend of flavors was perfect! I used allspice rather that pumpkin pie spice, but other than that I followed the receipe exactly. The leftovers were so good the next day that I wouldn't be afraid to cook it a day ahead and just heat it up for guests. Definitely a keeper for the hunting season!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      Oh! my goodness we both loved this!! The smell was just wonderful while it cooked in the butter with the paprika. I didn't need to add any water in fact I had too much liquid left over that I took a taste and said to my self, "Don't cook this great tasting broth away." I have saved it for ??? maybe to use in rice or gravy for mashed potatoes. I did pour out a full cup and still had some left over. We must have juicy pheasants here in Washington, may have something to do with the rain. Any Whooo! I did cook this as posted including the pumpkin pie spice. This has gone on my must make again and again for pheasant. Thanks ever so much for posting this great dish Monica in PA.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Excellent! Best pheasant I've ever eaten, juicy and sweet. Like eating from a gourmet restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2004

      forgot the stars!!! (woops)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pheasant in Orange Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (643 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1036.6
     
    Calories from Fat 438
    42%
    Total Fat 48.7 g
    74%
    Saturated Fat 18.1 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 314.5 mg
    104%
    Sodium 304.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.2 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 50.6 g
    202%
    Protein 91.3 g
    182%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites