Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pheasant Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pheasant

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2009

      I left the birds whole, did everything the same, but instead of lemon juice, I stuffed them with tangerines. YUM! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      really enjoyed how the wine tenderized the pheasant! i cut the pheasant into strips as well and added more mushrooms and onions but that's only because i love them :-) GREAT recipe! thank you for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      also i cooked this with the wild rice casserole Wild Rice Casserole and they were perfect together!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Loved it. I've also made this with chicken. My opinion is that the flavors melded perfect. I will make this again and again for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2014

      I only had one pheasant (next time, I'll quarter it instead of leaving it whole) but I made all of the sauce. A little freaked out to find there is a teaspoon of pepper - but somehow it worked! The smell of it cooking is fantastic and it tastes just as good. If I were to add more birds, I would probably double the sauce. I just did an Uncle Ben's Original Wild Rice side dish and the sauce mixed with the rice - wow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      my husband loved it but I didn't like the tangy flavor and Mushrooms together. Not my cup of tea but like I said hubby loved it! :-) To each their own...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      This was good! My boyfriend and his family are from New Jersey and hadn't had pheasant before a few night ago. The really enjoyed it! I'm used to either frying or using cream of mushroom soup so this was a nice change but not my favorite. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      My DH & DS went on their first pheasant hunt and brought home 3 birds. I had never fixed pheasant before and needed a recipe, so my DH chose this one. I don't cook with alcohol nor, do I usually like lemon on my food, so I was a bit skeptical. I used 1 c. chicken broth & 2 tsp. white wine vinegar, instead of the dry white wine. I wish we would have tripled the recipe (except the bird) to have more sauce to serve over rice. I had my parents over & everybody loved it! Sad part is, we didn't have any leftovers and I'm ready for more!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      As this was our first 'kill and cook' we were'nt sure of the outcome, so went for this basic recipe. We are more than happy, it was delicious, thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      My husband came home yesterday with pheasant he had shot and asked me to cook them up. I had never made pheasant before so this was my first attempt. This was very good. The kids even ate their entire helping! The sauce it creates was extremley flavorful. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      Having been given Pheasant by a friend, we were casting about for a good recipe. This was easy and tastes WONDERFUL. Be sure to keep in the mushrooms & wine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      This was my first experience with pheasant and what a delight. I did not change a thing and the sauce it created was great on rice. I will probably never have pheasants to cook again but I want to try this over chicken. I think it would be great. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      This had a fantastic flavor! My husband went pheasant hunting for the first time this year, and was also his first time to try pheasant. He could not have been more pleased! The kids also raved. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      So good and flavorful.My husband said it was the best way he'd eaten pheasant.I followed the recipe ingredients but not exact amounts,as I only had 2 pheasant breasts to cook. I used 1/2 cup white wine and 1 cup portobello mushrooms, and about 2 Tablespoons butter.Scant half cup chopped onion. At the end of cooking time to the wine and cooking juices I added a teaspoon cornstarch to slightly thicken.It was delicious !! I served this with wild rice pilaf,a green salad, and a chilled glass of Pouilly Fusse. It would be equally good with an California Chardonnay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      I have never made pheasant on my own,only at Grandma's side...unfortunately did not pay close attention to amounts, but this was very similar to hers so I gave it a whirl - raves all the way around the table of 12, thanks so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      Outstanding flavor!!! I cut the recipe down for 2 people. This was a good thing because my pan only fit 1 bird split in half. I cooked 5 minutes on each side and only sauted mushrooms for 2 minutes. (thinking that they would get plenty of cook time during simmering.) I served them with a salad and Saffron yellow rice, Chef PaulaG turned me onto this rice and now I can't get enough. Well, back to the recipe. We did use the sauce to dip the meat in to help keep it moist. What a wonderful sauce. I will be making this again. Thanks, Satified Kris for posting this tasty dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      While I'm only rating this 3 stars, I should state that perhaps my biggest problem with the recipe is just that I don't like pheasant.My husband and older sons love to hunt, and I'm willing to cook it, but it just always seems to come out dry to me, even with the braising liquid.(and I did take one reviewer's suggestion and increased the wine. I baked it for almost two hours, after preparing on top of the stove.the sauce tasted pretty bland to us, so I kept adding more salt, which helped.The end result wasn't bad, but that's the best any of them could say about it, was that it "wasn't bad" The prep was easy though. I just don't think I'd use this recipe again for my family. Other's reviewers, however, enjoyed it, so it's probably just a matter of taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      This was excellent and very easy - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2005

      A friend recently gave us a few pheasants from his freezer - I'd never prepared it before, and this was the recipe I chose after browsing the pheasant recipes on 'zaar. This turned out amazingly good!! I followed it to the letter, except that I reduced it for one bird, which was enough for two adults and a five-year-old. I also used sliced portobello mushroom caps. We have two pheasants left, and I plan to prepare this recipe again this weekend for a birthday dinner. HIGHLY recommended, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2004

      Excellent recipe, quick and easy and very tasty. Having a brace from a shoot I went on last weekend and looking for a new way to cook them, I thought I'd give this a go. I hung the birds (as shot) by the leg for 5 days to allow the flavour to develop and the meat to tenderise. (Essential with any game. Hanging them upside down helps keep the breasts moist.) After preparing the birds (and jointing into 4 breasts and legs) I pretty much followed the recipe as given. Once the breasts were browned in the butter, I added the other ingrdients and placed the (covered) skillet in the top oven of my AGA. After 1 hour, the wine/lemon juice had pretty much disappeared into the meat. So before transferring to the bottom oven for a further 45 mins, I added an additional(large) glass of wine. Once cooked, I was left with perfectly flavoured meat and a light 'sauce' with mushrooms and onion. Absolutely delicious. So, a big thanks to 'Satisfied Kris' from a definitely 'Satisfied Phil'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pheasant

    Serving Size: 1 (501 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 903.3
     
    Calories from Fat 473
    52%
    Total Fat 52.6 g
    80%
    Saturated Fat 20.5 g
    102%
    Cholesterol 324.6 mg
    108%
    Sodium 686.3 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 91.8 g
    183%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes