17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

1st of all, I have to say I personally HATE this cookie...always have, always will - just not my thing! That said - my husband was lying in bed reminissing over his mothers perfect pepper cookies - sigh, I never got the recipe, one evening this week.

Leave it to 'Zaar - here is one that is simple, great dough to work with and tastes just like his moms!

THANK YOU!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacey in BG!!! December 23, 2012

Even better with a lemon glaze. Use the icing sugar and enough lemon juice to make a thick paste, and coat the cookies with the glaze.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny November 29, 2009

My German grandmother always had pfeffernusse on hand for the holidays, though I don't recall her ever making them from scratch. This past Christmas, I was feeling especially nostalgic and decided that I *needed* Pfeffernusse, and that store-bought just wouldn't do. I searched and searched for just the right recipe. THIS is IT. This was my first time making pfeffernusse, and they came out perfect. I brought a huge platter of them to my new fiance's family for their Christmas party, where the cookies were a huge hit. I took the rest and made a holiday "tree" out of them -- decorated with fake berries and leaves -- which I used as an edible centerpiece at our own holiday party. The only problem? Guests thought it was too pretty to eat! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynne the Pirate Queen September 19, 2008

Can't add anything more to what has already been said...positively fabulous! Keep them in a plastic bag with a couple of slices of bread to keep them a little soft. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msbolle December 29, 2013

Delicious! Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magliaro December 16, 2013

These are finger lickin' good! Even my non-spoon licking husband licked the spoon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerison December 11, 2012

The BEST cookies I've ever made, followed other reviewers comments and added just a pinch more spices than called for (we love spicy)and used dark unsulfured molasses as that's what I had then followed the directions. Now I now why I always enjoy WS recipes. These are AWESOME, the inside nice and soft with a firm outer layer (be sure and not overcook) I think they'd be really good with a vanilla glaze too. Thanks so much for posting - I'm sure I'll have to make another batch before the holidays as fast as they are going. Made for Photo Forums 2010 Holiday

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 February 12, 2011

Perfect!!. The texture is perfect! - Crispy, crunchy on the outside and softer on the inside. We like them spicy, so I double the spices. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam in the Kitchen December 19, 2009

I baked these last night for our Menu #22502. The directions were easy to follow and the cookies taste delicious! I rolled the cookies in the powdered sugar twice, although I find it easier to roll the cookies individually in a small bowl instead of a bag. (Less chance of them falling apart since they are still warm from the oven.) I was happy to see I could store them at room temperature until Christmas and free up refrigerator space. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl December 22, 2008
Pfeffernusse (German Pepper Nut Cookies )