8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've never had the PF Chang's version of this, so I have no prior knowledge of this recipe, or the flavors involved. First, I think the shrimp themselves could have used some seasoning. They did fry up nicely, but after tossing them with sauce, they lost their crunch. I like crispy shrimp, therefore, I would serve the sauce on the side, next time...The candied walnuts were a nice addition. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Sarah the Chef. Made for Fall PAC 2011.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl October 24, 2011

We had this a week ago at PF Chang's and loved it. I was excited to see it online and since I had the ingredients, I decided to make it last night for dinner. It was a real winner. It tasted exactly like PF Chang's. I thought the flour/cornstarch coating was great. My shrimp was very crisp. I fried about six at a time in a medium sized pan. Thank you Sarah for posting it. I give it a five.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
8KIDS-MD June 30, 2013

I enjoyed this dish. The walnuts add a really nice touch to the coconut flavor. Be careful working with the shrimp before and during the frying process or else they'll separate or not come out exactly as envisioned. Perhaps the shrimp was a little heavy on the mayo side, but it'll definitely satisfy those who love Americanized Chinese food and places such as Pf Chang's.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpatel02004 September 29, 2012

My partner loved this.. I used coconut cream instead of milk..and it was so so yummy.. Definately five stars and on the menu again and again.. this would be great at a potluck..I will take it with me to my next one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nekogoddess January 07, 2012

I think this recipe is very close to the PF Changs recipe. In fact,I would venture to say that it might just be a bit tastier. There have been times when I have ordered this shrimp at the restaurant and it was overly sweet. This recipe has a perfect balance of creamy and sweet. I felt that the lack of additional seasoning in the flour for the shrimp allowed the sauce to really shine through. I would not change it at all. I rate this recipe a five-- for outstanding flavor and also, for being as close to the restaurant recipe as I believe you can get.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amc1265_4794837 November 10, 2014

It took a little bit effort to make this dish but it's well worth it. I agree with one of the commenters that the shrimp could use a little seasonings to add some additional flavor. After tossing the shrimps with the sauce, this dish became very rich and the candied walnuts as topping was a nice touch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen October 26, 2013

I absolutely loved this! The flavor was just delish. Next time i make it though, i will have to have the sauce optional. The rest of my family didn't exactly care for it, but they loved the shrimp. So i will make this again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazze's Mom September 28, 2011

Tried this recipe with some reservations. Figured it would reqwuie some adjustments before I was happy. Imagine my surprise when it came out absolutely perfect the first time. Definately 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roadrunnergb August 11, 2011
Pf Chang's Shrimp With Candied Walnuts