10 Reviews

This was really close to the restaurant. I think the key missing ingredient to make them darker and more "carmelized" is Asian Hoisen sauce. NOT plum sauce; that's totally different. Go to your local Asian grocery store and look for Hoisen sauce. Or go to your favorite grocery store and pay 4 times as much for it :-) Anyway, add about 2-4 tablespoons of Hoisen sauce directly to the mix in the frying pan right after you add the stir fry sauce. And, I was reading some reviews that say use ground chicken. I say dice it really small, like the same size as the mushrooms, and it will be much better. Texture makes a huge difference. Bless you all!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cory #3 August 04, 2008

This was very good and just like at PF's. I would double the recipe next time so I could have more left overs. The hot sauce is what makes the wraps!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Max Power January 18, 2010

This was pretty good, but I definitely needed more cooking sauce. Next time I will double it! I didn't have the cellophane noodles and will make sure to have those too. I think it needed a dipping sauce and I used another PF Changs lettuce wrap recipe from here for that "special" sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newmama March 24, 2009

Others thought the sauce was too thin but that's how we like it. I thought the restaurant version was too rich. My husband and I love the gluten free version of this recipe (we don't have a gluten allergy). We omitted the Oyster sauce (not a fan). Make sure you use ICEBERG lettuce. I still don't know hot to cook those cellophane noodles. Very yummy. It's part of my regular dinner menu.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Villster January 26, 2009

I agree with others that the cooking sauce was too light. I added 2 additional tablespoons for hoisin sauce, 1 tablespoon soy sauce and 1 tsp. sesame oil. I didn't have any sherry so I used sake instead. Didn't need the cornstarch in the marinade or cooking sauce. I used 1.25 lb of ground turkey instead of chicken. For the filling, I left out the bamboo shoots and noodles since I didn't have any and added some finely chopped onions. If you want more flavor, I made a sauce with 1/4 cup water, 1/8 cup sugar, 1 tablespoon soy sauce, 1 tablespoon rice vinegar and 1/8 teaspoon sesame oil and spooned a little sauce over the filling. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nostress July 23, 2008

Loved it! All that chopping is worth it! Believe it or not, this really was a simple recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilgal January 24, 2008

I used ground chicken for this... made things a lot easier. I also added about a teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Tastes a lot like the P.F. Chang's version!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neobella March 15, 2007

Soooo good! I read the other reviews, and took the advice to add more hoisin and oyster sauce (added 1T of each). The sauce was definately lighter than the original, but still very good. I think I'll double the whole sauce recipe next time and see how that goes. I don't have alot of experience in preparing Chinese dishes, and this one was really easy so I'll bet anyone can tackle it. I cheated and used the KitchenAid food grinder and ground up the chicken, and used my food chopper for the rest, so it went pretty quickly! I had to use portabello mushrooms, since that was what I had. A note on the noodles - I've never even seen the things before, so had no clue what to do with them. I took the advice from 'suseme' and fried them (soaked them in water for 10 minutes first, rinse and drain) - it's important to make them in small batches, and I mean SMALL... I thought a handful would be fine, but you really need to string them out in the oil or they clump together and get really greasy. Thank you for a great recipe - I will definately make these again to feed my addiction!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee in WI December 05, 2006

These lettuce wraps were very good. I added a few extra cloves of garlic to the main ingredients and an extra tsp. of hoisin & oyster sauce each, as I thought the cooking sauce was too light. There is lots of prep time & chopping, but certainly worth it--my FH loved the recipe. I will certainly make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlisonAnn March 03, 2006

Very good, although the flavor is different from the PF Chang version, lighter. Be prepared for lots of chopping; we did food process the chicken. I think next time I might double the cooking sauce or something like that. We fed 4 adults for lunch on this amount. It doesn't give a recipe for the dipping sauce; another recipe gave one for 1/2 c. soy sauce, 1/2 cup chicken broth--we added several tablespoons hoisin sauce because we thought the flavor was too light--of course you can add garlic-chile sauce and/or hot mustard to taste, like they do at the restaurant. Another comment was that they used more of the cooking sauce for dipping sauce. With the noodles, don't use the rice sticks, use the mung bean noodles-type of cellophane noodles. Fry in enough oil to cover them, and they puff very quickly when the oil is hot enough, so watch carefully; I did it in small batches. I ddin't use the ginger; one comment was that they asked and the restaurant doesn't use ginger in their wraps, and I'm not fond of ginger anyway. I will fix these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4theFamily November 30, 2005
Pf Chang's Chicken-Lettuce Wraps