464 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are awesome. Light, fluffy and so easy to make. I used a little under 1/4 cup of batter to size mine. I also used 2 tbsp of sugar, 1 tbsp of brown sugar and made sure they were blended evenly. I served these with melted butter and maple syrup. I hope to make these again ASAP!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karina A December 16, 2009

These were really great!! They tasted just like homemade buttermilk pancakes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jesse Q December 02, 2009

Excellent taste and texture! I have made these quite a few times now, and have substituted apple sauce for eggs once and once for butter as well when I didn't have those in the house. I also add fresh berries and chocolate chips sometimes-very versatile recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_princess_suzy December 01, 2009

The best pancake recipe!! I thought it was not going to work out, when I added my melted butter to the milk, it hardened up in little bits but in the end they came out delicious!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.rua November 28, 2009

This was amazing! I added a little bit of vanilla extract, because I always do. Thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stefanie828 November 21, 2009

I have tried more pancake recipes than I can count, and they always come out dense...not with this one! These were so light and they just melted in your mouth. I will be using this recipe from now on. Thank you for fixing my pancake problem:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winterrace November 16, 2009

SO GOOD! thank you so much, i didnt have milk left so i did half buttermilk and half cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Earl&Chai November 15, 2009

Created an account just to review this recipe. Pancakes are supposed to be easy, yet the various recipes I've used have been hit or miss. This one is just about perfect. I substituted 25% of the flour for whole wheat. Next time I'll try 50%, because I couldn't even tell that there was any whole wheat flour in there.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ddonahue99 November 14, 2009

Can't remember if I rated this before, but these came out very good. I substituted 1/2 cup whole wheat flour for the regular. Very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeffsmom November 09, 2009

These are different breed of pancake and my family loved them. The batter is not runny, but sponge-like and they are very thick, but amazingly light pancakes. Often times you get a thick pancake that will tend to "grow" once it gets to your tummy making you feel stuffed as time goes on. This is NOT the case with these. First time around I made them as the recipe stated, but I am anxious to start making them with different combinations of flours and sweeteners.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TryingTraditional October 01, 2009
Pete's Scratch Pancakes