Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pete's Scratch Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pete's Scratch Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    383 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 383

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2001

      very easy to make,about 5 minutes. the recipe made 9 pancakes 6 inchs round fluffy very light. I was pleased that butter and syrup didn't "water log" the cakes. You could add any fruit in this recipe. Overall these were the best I've ever made. thank you dansa111

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2001

      I made these pancakes this morning for the family and they were great! I found them to be light and cakey. I think the melted butter is what made them so delicious. I'll be using this recipe from now on. Thanks Bill. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2002

      best pancake recipe i have tried... last time i made them w/frozen blueberries and this weekend i made them w/sliced strawberries. both were excellent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2002

      Excellent pancakes. I was afraid I wouldn't like them because they looked too thick while they were cooking, but they were very light!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      This was very easy, the pancakes were light and fluffy, but the baking powder flavor overpowered everything else. I would definitely consider making these again with half the amount of baking powder. Of course, they may not be as light and fluffy, but I'm willing to chance that. I look forward to trying these again, and if they come out better with less baking powder I'll revisit this and up my star rating.***Edited***I made this recipe again with 1/2 the baking powder, and the pancakes were still light and fluffy, but the baking powder mixed in properly, and left no aftertaste. I have upped my star-rating to reflect this. I also used white whole wheat flour the second time around, and they came out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2002

      These are the best homemade pancakes ever. I always make a double batch because they freeze very well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2002

      The BEST pancake mix I ever tried, husband and son (2 years old) loves 'em!!!!!! My little boy out eats his daddy when I make these! I found these very easy to make, and sometimes I add a hint of cinnamon...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2002

      yummy! these were so good and so easy to make, I made a dbl batch the following week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2001

      I am a new cook and the pancakes were easy and wonderful. Jim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2001

      Have used the recipe several times. Grandkids love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Perfect pancakes! I used 1/2 tsp of salt because we use sea salt, but everything else stayed the same. Thanks for the great recipe! Update: we made these with 1 tbs of baking powder and a little more milk and they were even better! Not crumbly at all, but not as fluffy - but we like them better this way. Thanks again for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      I made this recipe for my family and it was great! I did make some changes like using 2 cups of buttermilk in stead of whole milk, and a 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla for flavor. The pancakes were light and buttery with a touch of vanilla they were DELICIOUS with hot maple syrup! The only thing that I would do different next time is only use 1/2 teaspoon of salt instead of a full teaspoon. Thanks Bill this is my go to recipe for pancakes. I think I will add chocolate chips and banana's the next time. Neesha

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      This has become my "Go-To" recipe for pancakes. I do home daycare and this makes plenty for 6 toddlers with leftover batter (which I refrigerate & use later). I usually mix the milk & egg together & microwave them long enough to knock the chill off before adding the butter...like 30 sec or so (to minimize clumps). It's not much harder to make than the mix stuff & way more economical (not to mention it tastes much better). Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      These are great! I live up at the elevation of almost 9000 ft, so I took out half the baking powder and added a few extra tablespoons of milk. They turn out light and fluffy every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      Hands down beats the recipe I've been using w/ great success for 20 years. Pete's is my new and ONLY pancake recipe. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      It needs a wee bit of vanilla flavouring to make it perfect! Lotus.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      This is a terrific pancake recipe! It's hard to imagine how such big and hearty pancakes can also taste so light and fluffy. I'll be using this recipe for pancakes from now on ....thanks for sharing it! Made for the Best of 2020 Event (recommended by AZPARZYCH)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      Amazing! Have used mix and always thought it was pretty good but these are so light and fluffy and above all easy - I actually mixed all the ingredients together at once, and used a whisk to make sure it was blended smoothly. Will be a regular family recipe. Many thanks for posting such a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      VERY good, light but thick and fluffy. I scaled the recipe down to make only 4 6-in. pancakes, tossed in some frozen blueberries as they cooked, and they came out great. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      PERFECT EVERY TIME! I've made these pancakes several times now and they always turn out perfect. This last time we added 3 mashed very ripe bananas and served with whipped cream and chopped pecans -- YUM! Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 20

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pete's Scratch Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (906 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.3
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    34%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 61.5 mg
    20%
    Sodium 585.0 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites