Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pete's & Olga's Chili Verde Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pete's & Olga's Chili Verde

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2010

      I absolutely love this! I didn't exactly follow the directions. I left out the bell pepper and used a white onion instead of green. I assumed when the Chef says "green enchilada sauce" the second time (16 oz) he means the Herdz salsa verde, so that is what i used. I browned the pork and onions in the olive oil and then just dumped in the rest of the ingredients and simmered for about 4 hours. Delicious over rice, or to smother burritos. The flavor is authentic as far as I am concerned!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      Made this for a bunch of friends that are Latino, they gave me great remarks. I also used jalapeno instead of serrano peppers for my own taste. Also, instead of shoulder I used tenderloin; instead of boiling meat, I browned it off and cooked everything in my slowcooker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      I made this last week and it was great! It was very similar to the recipe I always use except it added the oregano and cumin which made it even tastier. I always boil the pork for 1 hour before doing the other steps and I use pork stew meat. I use La Victoria Enchilada sauce because we like it alot better than Las Palmas. I usually let it simmer for an hour and garnish it with green onions, cilantro and cheese. I serve it with homeade rice and bean and tortillas-it melts in your mouth and is one of our favorite meals. Great recipe, this is the best method for making chili verde! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      This is a great recipe. Loved all the spices, I toned it down a bit and used 1 jalepeno pepper instead of the serrano peppers. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      By far the best chili verde I have ever eaten. I make this for my wife and 3 children at least once a month. It is our favorite meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      I finally got around to making this and it was delicious! I used a pork sirloin roast and I cooked it in my slow cooker earlier in the day (I just couldn't bring myself to boil it!). Lightly seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Refrigerated it until I was ready to start cooking. I used a red pepper (we can't eat the green ones) and forgot the green onions. I also used 1-1/2 tsp cumin - love cumin! I also seeded the serrano peppers - good thing - they were hot! This was still pretty spicy for us. We served it over brown rice and had fresh, hot cornbread. It was great on a cold night. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      This was really great! I doubled the recipe to take to a father's day get together. I did change up the peppers a little - used anaheim chiles instead of the bell peppers, and jalipenos instead of serranos. I used 1 28 oz can of La Palmas green enchilada sauce and 2 7 oz cans of Herdz salsa verde, which seemed like a perfect amount of sauce. Left out the cilantro and green onion because I didn't have any. I also only used 1 onion, just because I forgot to chop the second one (I realized it when I saw the 2nd onion sitting on the counter much later!). I simmered the pork in the sauce for over an hour until it was really tender. This dish was definitely enjoyed by all! Thanks for a dish I will be making alot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      What a great recipe! My family loved this, even the picky teenager! However, I had to substitute the green enchilada sauces with other brands because I couldn't find Las Palmas or Herdz. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2005

      This is the best chile verde I have ever eaten, and I've tried many restaurants in Southern California.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2005

      "wow" what a great recipe. I made this for dinner last night and my hubby, son and myself all agree this is worthy of 5 stars. plus it's low in carbs. the only thing I did different was that I used a small can of Herdez Salsa Verde instead of the small can of Herdez green enchilada sauce (because I couldnt find it} Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      this recipe was great...my family absolutely loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2004

      This was awesome! I used left-over carnitas from a local restaurant here in Gilroy, CA. Called Carnitas Michoacan. They make some of the best carnitas ever. Anyhow, beside the carnitas, we followed the recipe and it was wonderful. P.S. I love Tres Pinos, especially the Tres Pinos Inn for a fine dinner!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pete's & Olga's Chili Verde

    Serving Size: 1 (501 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 818.0
     
    Calories from Fat 572
    70%
    Total Fat 63.6 g
    97%
    Saturated Fat 18.3 g
    91%
    Cholesterol 161.1 mg
    53%
    Sodium 695.5 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 41.6 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites