13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I absolutely love this! I didn't exactly follow the directions. I left out the bell pepper and used a white onion instead of green. I assumed when the Chef says "green enchilada sauce" the second time (16 oz) he means the Herdz salsa verde, so that is what i used. I browned the pork and onions in the olive oil and then just dumped in the rest of the ingredients and simmered for about 4 hours. Delicious over rice, or to smother burritos. The flavor is authentic as far as I am concerned!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks February 12, 2010

Made this for a bunch of friends that are Latino, they gave me great remarks. I also used jalapeno instead of serrano peppers for my own taste. Also, instead of shoulder I used tenderloin; instead of boiling meat, I browned it off and cooked everything in my slowcooker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lanesmom July 12, 2009

I made this last week and it was great! It was very similar to the recipe I always use except it added the oregano and cumin which made it even tastier. I always boil the pork for 1 hour before doing the other steps and I use pork stew meat. I use La Victoria Enchilada sauce because we like it alot better than Las Palmas. I usually let it simmer for an hour and garnish it with green onions, cilantro and cheese. I serve it with homeade rice and bean and tortillas-it melts in your mouth and is one of our favorite meals. Great recipe, this is the best method for making chili verde! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bad kitty 1116 June 09, 2008

This is a great recipe. Loved all the spices, I toned it down a bit and used 1 jalepeno pepper instead of the serrano peppers. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingbee January 17, 2008

By far the best chili verde I have ever eaten. I make this for my wife and 3 children at least once a month. It is our favorite meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
btstoddard January 11, 2008

I finally got around to making this and it was delicious! I used a pork sirloin roast and I cooked it in my slow cooker earlier in the day (I just couldn't bring myself to boil it!). Lightly seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Refrigerated it until I was ready to start cooking. I used a red pepper (we can't eat the green ones) and forgot the green onions. I also used 1-1/2 tsp cumin - love cumin! I also seeded the serrano peppers - good thing - they were hot! This was still pretty spicy for us. We served it over brown rice and had fresh, hot cornbread. It was great on a cold night. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sky Hostess January 10, 2008

This was really great! I doubled the recipe to take to a father's day get together. I did change up the peppers a little - used anaheim chiles instead of the bell peppers, and jalipenos instead of serranos. I used 1 28 oz can of La Palmas green enchilada sauce and 2 7 oz cans of Herdz salsa verde, which seemed like a perfect amount of sauce. Left out the cilantro and green onion because I didn't have any. I also only used 1 onion, just because I forgot to chop the second one (I realized it when I saw the 2nd onion sitting on the counter much later!). I simmered the pork in the sauce for over an hour until it was really tender. This dish was definitely enjoyed by all! Thanks for a dish I will be making alot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarlaM July 17, 2007

What a great recipe! My family loved this, even the picky teenager! However, I had to substitute the green enchilada sauces with other brands because I couldn't find Las Palmas or Herdz. I will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phashimoto October 26, 2005

This is the best chile verde I have ever eaten, and I've tried many restaurants in Southern California.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPV5 April 27, 2005

"wow" what a great recipe. I made this for dinner last night and my hubby, son and myself all agree this is worthy of 5 stars. plus it's low in carbs. the only thing I did different was that I used a small can of Herdez Salsa Verde instead of the small can of Herdez green enchilada sauce (because I couldnt find it} Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmfusilier April 20, 2005
Pete's & Olga's Chili Verde