35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is unbelievably easy and super quick to make. I made the recipe exactly as stated (with 2T of butter, 2T of pesto and one sheet of Pillsbury Crescents). I spread the mixture basically evenly on the pastry sheet. (Note that I used a silicone cookie-sheet liner and didn't grease the cookie pan, and it was just fine). Instead of cutting into stars (which would, to me, waste a lot of the goodness of the recipe), I cut the pieces into little squares. I cooked for almost 10 minutes (about 9 1/2, to be exact) at 400-degrees and they were awesome. Next time I make these, I might try adding a bit of garlic and parmesan cheese to top off.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mysticorient November 19, 2010

Overall, winner! I experimented with these, based on reviews. I used 1 sheet of puff pastry and initially got 9 stars. I decided to really load on the pesto sauce since some folks had complained of low flavor. I couldn't see mixing butter with pesto sauce, since pesto is so rich to begin with. Instead of butter, I sprinkled some Emeril essence (spicy) and just a pinch of Parmesan cheese. Baked these and they came out beautifully. However, they were too salty and pesto-laden. With the leftover puff pastry dough, I was hesitant to gather it in a ball and reroll it (like cookie dough), but that's what I did, because all I had were scraps. I cut back on the pesto topping for the second tray. I learned that you really cannot treat puff pastry dough like cookie dough. My second tray of stars were teeny tiny, not very puffed, but still flavorful...although not as good as the first tray. Upshot: even though the stars are so cute, I'd use just 1 sheet of puff pastry next time, score it into small squares (to use it all in the first baking), cover it moderately thick with pesto and some kind of spice seasoning (even just a dusting of cayenne), a pinch of Parmesan and call it a day. I would not add butter. They'd truly be too greasy and rich, in my opinion. The other thing about these (sorry to be lengthy) is that they are best enjoyed straight from the oven, piping hot and flaky. I don't know how you'd save them for a dinner party or make them ahead without losing their tenderness. I made them for the family and we scarfed 'em down fresh from the oven. And we thought they tasted fabulous!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr December 26, 2009

These were great. I cut them in circles because I could fit them together with less wasted puff pastry. I cut the circles out and put them on a parchment lined cookie sheet. I put them in the freezer until I was ready to bake them. ( about 2 hours) I left out the butter and just put a small spoonful of pesto on the middle of the circle and topped with the parmesan cheese and baked.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marianne in the Village December 20, 2009

I made this as an appetizer for Thanksgiving 2010. They were extremely easy and pretty. Taste was only 'eh'. So if you are doing several appetizers this one is a good addition because it's quick, easy and pretty, but not strong enough to be the only appetizer at a dinner party.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr.JenLeddy January 16, 2011

These are super-cute!! Not a ton of flavor...maybe next time I'll use a bit more parmesan or be a little more heavy-handed with the pesto. The sundried tomato pesto might have a little more kick too. I didn't use butter, which I was glad about as they were already quite rich. Sent the stars (and a few Christmas trees and a couple hearts) to the party and baked up the scraps to nibble on here at home. Overall a great app!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely December 14, 2010

This is such a simple, yet almost elegant appetizer. I ran a trial run before making them for my wife's work party. We both loved them! I used the suggestion and made half the sheet pesto and the other half sun dried tomato pesto. I am not sure if butter is really needed due to all the oil in the pesto, and the sun dried tomato pesto was exceptionally oily; those ones didn't puff up. I might drain it a bit if I decide to use it again. A very light coating of the brand of pesto I used was just the right amount. I love pesto, but the few that had a heavier coating on them didn't puff fully and were just too strong. I used a larger half-moon cutter 3.5inches, and was able to get about 15 out of each sheet. Oh, and make sure you refrigerate your puff pastry after you thaw it. I had a heck of a time cutting them once they were very thawed. Glad I learned that on the trial run.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fireguypa November 13, 2010

These are very good, right out of the oven! Once they cool down, they lose the buttery flaky texture which makes them so wonderful! I used almost half of a 7 oz. container of basil pesto for covering both sheets of pastry, we loooove pesto! Thanks for this simple and yummy recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gr8full One December 26, 2007

Oh my, snack heaven! My only problem is that two tablespoons of pesto and 1/2 cup of parm was not nearly enough to cover the 2 sheets of puff pastry. I easily tripled the pesto and used over a cup of cheese. Also, it seems that I, erm, don't have any cookie cutters in the house, let alone anything star shaped. We do, however, have plenty of whisky glasses in the house, so I used those! Once we got over the quantity and shape hurdles, these were so easy to make, and yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj March 17, 2007

I made these for an office holiday party, they were a big hit. Plus they were easy to make. We ate the ‘puzzle’ piece leftover puff pastry at home, every one loved them, from my 3 year old to my 18 year old. I will definitely be making these again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cara G December 29, 2006

I was a little disappointed in this recipe. Great concept, little flavor. I could barely taste the pesto and they seemed quite bland. What a bummer when you make it for a special dinner, and you waste your time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MartinMama December 24, 2009
Pesto Pastry Stars