Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pesto Pastry Stars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pesto Pastry Stars

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2010

      This is unbelievably easy and super quick to make. I made the recipe exactly as stated (with 2T of butter, 2T of pesto and one sheet of Pillsbury Crescents). I spread the mixture basically evenly on the pastry sheet. (Note that I used a silicone cookie-sheet liner and didn't grease the cookie pan, and it was just fine). Instead of cutting into stars (which would, to me, waste a lot of the goodness of the recipe), I cut the pieces into little squares. I cooked for almost 10 minutes (about 9 1/2, to be exact) at 400-degrees and they were awesome. Next time I make these, I might try adding a bit of garlic and parmesan cheese to top off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Overall, winner! I experimented with these, based on reviews. I used 1 sheet of puff pastry and initially got 9 stars. I decided to really load on the pesto sauce since some folks had complained of low flavor. I couldn't see mixing butter with pesto sauce, since pesto is so rich to begin with. Instead of butter, I sprinkled some Emeril essence (spicy) and just a pinch of Parmesan cheese. Baked these and they came out beautifully. However, they were too salty and pesto-laden. With the leftover puff pastry dough, I was hesitant to gather it in a ball and reroll it (like cookie dough), but that's what I did, because all I had were scraps. I cut back on the pesto topping for the second tray. I learned that you really cannot treat puff pastry dough like cookie dough. My second tray of stars were teeny tiny, not very puffed, but still flavorful...although not as good as the first tray. Upshot: even though the stars are so cute, I'd use just 1 sheet of puff pastry next time, score it into small squares (to use it all in the first baking), cover it moderately thick with pesto and some kind of spice seasoning (even just a dusting of cayenne), a pinch of Parmesan and call it a day. I would not add butter. They'd truly be too greasy and rich, in my opinion. The other thing about these (sorry to be lengthy) is that they are best enjoyed straight from the oven, piping hot and flaky. I don't know how you'd save them for a dinner party or make them ahead without losing their tenderness. I made them for the family and we scarfed 'em down fresh from the oven. And we thought they tasted fabulous!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      These were great. I cut them in circles because I could fit them together with less wasted puff pastry. I cut the circles out and put them on a parchment lined cookie sheet. I put them in the freezer until I was ready to bake them. ( about 2 hours) I left out the butter and just put a small spoonful of pesto on the middle of the circle and topped with the parmesan cheese and baked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      I made this as an appetizer for Thanksgiving 2010. They were extremely easy and pretty. Taste was only 'eh'. So if you are doing several appetizers this one is a good addition because it's quick, easy and pretty, but not strong enough to be the only appetizer at a dinner party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      These are super-cute!! Not a ton of flavor...maybe next time I'll use a bit more parmesan or be a little more heavy-handed with the pesto. The sundried tomato pesto might have a little more kick too. I didn't use butter, which I was glad about as they were already quite rich. Sent the stars (and a few Christmas trees and a couple hearts) to the party and baked up the scraps to nibble on here at home. Overall a great app!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      This is such a simple, yet almost elegant appetizer. I ran a trial run before making them for my wife's work party. We both loved them! I used the suggestion and made half the sheet pesto and the other half sun dried tomato pesto. I am not sure if butter is really needed due to all the oil in the pesto, and the sun dried tomato pesto was exceptionally oily; those ones didn't puff up. I might drain it a bit if I decide to use it again. A very light coating of the brand of pesto I used was just the right amount. I love pesto, but the few that had a heavier coating on them didn't puff fully and were just too strong. I used a larger half-moon cutter 3.5inches, and was able to get about 15 out of each sheet. Oh, and make sure you refrigerate your puff pastry after you thaw it. I had a heck of a time cutting them once they were very thawed. Glad I learned that on the trial run.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      These are very good, right out of the oven! Once they cool down, they lose the buttery flaky texture which makes them so wonderful! I used almost half of a 7 oz. container of basil pesto for covering both sheets of pastry, we loooove pesto! Thanks for this simple and yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Oh my, snack heaven! My only problem is that two tablespoons of pesto and 1/2 cup of parm was not nearly enough to cover the 2 sheets of puff pastry. I easily tripled the pesto and used over a cup of cheese. Also, it seems that I, erm, don't have any cookie cutters in the house, let alone anything star shaped. We do, however, have plenty of whisky glasses in the house, so I used those! Once we got over the quantity and shape hurdles, these were so easy to make, and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      I made these for an office holiday party, they were a big hit. Plus they were easy to make. We ate the ‘puzzle’ piece leftover puff pastry at home, every one loved them, from my 3 year old to my 18 year old. I will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      I was a little disappointed in this recipe. Great concept, little flavor. I could barely taste the pesto and they seemed quite bland. What a bummer when you make it for a special dinner, and you waste your time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Super easy to make and a delicious pesto appetizer! I made it easier and just cut them into squares and they turned out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Very easy, made while I was doing other baking. I didn't worry too much about the amounts, just spread on as much as I felt I needed. I used half basil pesto and half sun-dried tomato pesto, equally delicious! Lovely snacks, thank you, Flower!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      I'm not sure what temperature "moderately hot" would refer to, so I baked these at 375^F till they were puffy & lightly browned. Very good, big hit at a Wine Tasting Party held for my sister.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      Flavorful, although mine didn't look as pretty! I think I would cut back on the butter next time and go with more pesto and cheese as they have enough oils. ;) I used a teapot shaped cutter as i did not have a good star shape that would cut cleanly. Fun recipe - kids enjoyed it! Thanks Chef floWer!! ZWTIII.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      I made these stars for a work morning tea, and they turned out great. I made them the night before and reheated them in the oven for a few minutes before serving. I made two batches -- one with basil pesto, the other with sun-dried tomato pesto. I did have problems cutting them out, but whether that's because my cutter wasn't sharp enough, or because I'd let the pastry thaw out too much, and it became very sticky, I don't know. Nevertheless, they looked and tasted great! Thanks for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

    • on December 16, 2012

    • on July 27, 2012

      I made this recipe with 2 puff pastry sheets, 6 tbsp pesto and just over 1 cup of grated parmesen.............yummy!!!!!!!!!!!!! But for a party I would definately add a little extra, maybe sum sliced mushrooms on sum, sun dried tomatoes on others and perhaps a spice (cayenne, on others as suggested by another reviewer) But this recipe is sooooooooooooo easy and sooooooooooooooo quick, definately recommend to time poor party preppers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      What a fantastic and simple appetizer! I made these for my Ladies Night Christmas Party this year...I used traditional pesto on half and sundried tomato pesto on the other half... I used mini snowflake cookie cutters. People were literally grabbing them off the platter as I carried them to the table. They were the last dish out and the first one gone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      These were the cutest appy I served on Xmas Eve....They turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pesto Pastry Stars

    Serving Size: 1 (580 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 78.9
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    64%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 2.7 mg
    0%
    Sodium 55.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites