Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pesto "Fried" Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pesto "Fried" Chicken

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2003

      Great idea for an easy chicken dish, CG! I used cilantro pesto and cut the chicken breasts into strips -- Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      I served this to a few family members and we all loved it. I thinned out the pesto w/some olive oil, coated the chicken, and threw it into a ziplock bag and let it sit in the fridge for about 4-5 hours. I added seasoned salt to the cornflake crumbs. Thanks for posting CG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2003

      CG, I just love your recipes! And this one is no exception. :) The flavor...nothing short of spectacular. The ease of prep...I could make this in my sleep. lol For gluten-free, just used gluten-free corn flake crumbs. I pounded the thickest part of the breast lightly to make it the thickness of the rest. Then I lightly oiled my cookie sheet, and sprinkled with cornflake crumbs. I spread pesto on one side of the chicken breasts and layed that side down on the cookie sheet. Then spread pesto over the top of the chicken, sprinkled with cornflake crumbs, and sprinkled with a little Parmagian-Reggiano (sp). I let it sit for about 10 minutes at room temp and then baked for 20 minutes. My husband and I loved it!!! We served it with Westbrae Angel Hair Pasta (gf) and salad. We had a Montrachet wine with this, too. This could be a fabulous do ahead company meal! Thank you my sweet friend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2003

      YUM! This was great! I made my own pesto and cut the chicken in to strips, I also added a little parmesan cheese in with the crushed cornflakes. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2003

      This was so easy and I will make this again and again. Next time I will not be so generous with the cornflake crumbs. I should have used the amount you suggested - too much did take away from the lovely pesto flavour as Sugarpea suggested in her review. Thank you Canarygirl for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2003

      Very tasty, very quick. Next time I won't allow myself to use more than the recommended 1/4c cornflakes. It hid the taste of the pesto. We're having the leftovers at a picnic tomorrow. The tenderloins make perfect finger food when chilled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2003

      This was such an easy and fabulous dish, my family really loved it! I substituted multi-grain flakes for the cornflakes (slightly less carbs) and used the Classico pesto. Next time I'll try it with chicken tenders. The flavor was unbeatable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      I loved the idea but didn't have corn flakes so I used plain bread crumbs. It was really yummy! The boyfriend even commented on how good it was. I also used the Classico pesto.(love it!) I can't wait to try it with the corn flakes. Thanks for another great idea, cg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2005

      Easy, fast, and super tasty! I made this one as written and I really don't think I would have changed a thing. Wonderful recipe that I'll be hanging on to. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2003

      Yummy chicken. Moist on inside and crunchy on the outside ... and I love that it is low in fat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2003

      Definitely a 5-star chicken recipe because it delivers so much taste for such little trouble. I used Bartolli brand pesto (I'm in the UK) and it was perfect for this. I served this with a rocket (arugula) salad and #53176 Zucchini with Walnuts. Delicious meal that was raved about by spouse darling. The next day for (Saturday) lunch we had the leftover breasts sliced on top of wheat buns, broiled for a few minutes. Thanks, canary girl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2003

      This was so easy, yet so yummy. This is now my sista's fav. way for me to make chicken. Thanks for a "keeper!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2004

      I made this last night. I marinated one batch of chicken strips in basil pesto and another batch in sun-dried tomato pesto. I loved both of them. I would have a hard time choosing only one to make next time. I served this with green beans and a salad with olive oil and balsamic vinegar dressing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2003

      Made it as directed which is always the best way to start. Tastes very good, however the corn flakes didn't seem to stick very well. Next time, I'll try a few of the suggestions of the other reviewers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2003

      I loved the chicken, but my girls,14 & 12 thought they were kind of dry. I served it with steamed rice and vegetables.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2003

      I really enjoyed this recipe. I just recently started using pesto and I LOVE it. This was a great alternative to regular fried chicken, which I hate, this was just simply YUMMY!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2013

      Simplicity at its finest. Quick, easy and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      Very tasty! I cut the chicken breasts into tenders and used a little nutritional yeast in the corn flake crumbs. They were very moist and flavorful. Thank you for the recipe, canarygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      simple to make and tasty, too. I increased the cornflakes a bit, specifically to "tame" the pesto, as my DH prefers a milder pesto. I did find that the cooking time wasn't sufficient, and another 10 minutes was required in my gas oven, and it was a fine line between cooked through and dry for us (smaller pieces were a bit dry). Served with chicken seasoned rice and veggies and will certainly repeat. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Easy to make, but not really outstanding in taste for me to keep in my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pesto "Fried" Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 193.5
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    85%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 98.7 mg
    32%
    Sodium 123.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 39.4 g
    78%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pesto sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites