13 Reviews

I cheated and used purchased pesto. Dh complimented it THREE times. Great idea, great cooking method, great taste. Thanks, MEAN CHEF.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea August 27, 2003

Fantastic! Title bit misleading, it's not roast salmon but pan fried, really, and cooking completed by baking in oven. Which I did not do out of saving time and hassle, turned out really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare June 25, 2014

Oh, my gosh!! This was so incredibly easy and inexpensive and tasty!! I, too, had a prepared pesto, so I can only imagine the homemade is a gazillion times better! I served it with sauteed spinach and treated myself to a yummy and healthy dinner! Can't wait to make it again.... Thank you, Loves2Teach!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katindallas January 11, 2010

Yum! I didn't use the bacon bits, and subbed cilantro for the basil... because I had some and I love it. Perfect crust and just right salmon. Thanks for a good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kmac December 03, 2009

I used a store-bought pesto, but otherwise followed the recipe. Everyone loved it, which is saying a lot since none of us normally cares for salmon. This is a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace-AK September 16, 2009

This was wonderful. I used my own pesto (I used it for angel hair pasta to accompany the salmon) and marinated the salmon in white wine for 15 minutes prior to spreading the pesto on top. Also, after the salmon was seared and prior to putting them in the oven, I poured the white wine over the salmon pieces. This really was wonderful served with pesto pasta and a salad. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StrikingEyes00 October 05, 2007

This is a very tasty dish; I really like the texture created by searing the salmon before baking it. Served it at a dinner party tonight and it got great reviews. I have tried a similar recipe at Buca di Beppo with seared salmon covered in a pesto-cream sauce, and just adored it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 March 31, 2007

I have to add my 5 stars to all of the others. I used a purchased pesto made by a local Italian deli and it worked beautifully. The timing was perfect and the salmon was tender and juicy. I used the rest of the pesto on spinach cheese ravioli to accompany. This is a meal I will make often on busy nights, as well as for guests.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vina February 06, 2005

Great salmon dish. The salmon was tender and perfect and the pesto was a great compliment to it and not overpowering at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Shelly* December 11, 2004
Pesto Crusted Roast Salmon