Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pesto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pesto

    Average Rating:

    93 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 93

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2008

      Nice and simple recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      I will NEVER buy pesto from the store again. After loving it on pasta, I ended up using it in wraps and on sandwiches too! I used the 1/4 cup of olive oil, store-bought basil (yes, I know it says "home grown" but it still worked out well), fresh garlic, and fresh-grated (not store-grated) parmesan cheese. Thanks Rita!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      I've made this twice now over the summer, and it's turned out perfect each time. Thanks for giving me a tasty way to use the basil in my garden!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      I finally got a bumper crop of basil this year, so I was so excited to try my hand at making pesto. DH kept saying How Professional my pesto sauce turned out… I guess that’s a complement! I divided the pesto into 5 little plastic containers, one for the dinner that night and the rest went into the freezer. Oh, I did add the full ½ cup of olive oil and added a bit more on top of each container to prevent the pesto from browning. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      Just awesome!! I put it on a pizza with some chicken, mushrooms and mozzerella. Just to die for. I used closer to 1/2 cup of oil and added some salt and pepper but not very much. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      Great recipe! Easy- Did not even have to measure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      Soo good! I used 1/2 c. of oil( I like mine reamy), 1/4 tsp of kosher salt, and some fresh cracked black pepper. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      The original authentic pesto, although when this was made with a mortar and pestle (pesto - geddit?) people used to add a little crude salt to help pulp the garlic. Don't go overboard on the salt though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      Great pesto recipe! I used two types of basil (anise basil and traditional Genovese) for this recipe, and used my microwave method of toasting the pine nuts. The result was a lovely creamy blend of flavors---I will be making this again!!! Thanks Rita, for a lovely recipe---made for the Herb of the Month August '08 challenge in the gardening forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      Oh so yummy! This is such an easy recipe and the outcome is nothing less than fantastic. I did add a little salt, personal preference. I was looking for a good pesto recipe because I have an abundance of basil growing in my garden right now. This is fabulous. I like to serve it with a little extra olive oil and crusty bread. Does anyone know if this freezes well? It would be worth making extra batches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      This recipe is great. I made it as is and added a little salt. I love this time of year with lots of fresh basil. This recipe is so easy to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      One word: Amazing. And you should double the recipe so that you can go crazy on the sauce! And use Rotini pasta if you really want to impress! I used romano cheese instead of parmesan, added salt to taste, and broiled chicken cilantro sausage from Trader Joe's, then cut it up into the tossed pesto pasta. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      This is outstanding. I made this a few weeks ago, then froze the pesto in ice cubes. I just take one out when I need it. I used this recipe last night for another recipe on this site and it was so delicious. This will be my 'go to' recipe for pesto, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      My basil seemed to grow two feet in one week so I "had" to make pesto. It turned out just as I had hoped. I did add a teaspoon of salt to enhance it a wee bit. Had a lovely vine ripened tomato that I sliced and topped with a small dollop of the fragrant fresh pesto. Summer doesn't get any better that this! Pesto freezes quite successfully and I've been known to add a cube or two to (heaven help me) store bought pasta sauce. Perks it up just a little. If you have one square foot of soil in a sunny location, do grow your own basil. It's easier than growing weeds, and you can make a years worth of pesto!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      I have been making something similar for years. I sometimes cut the recipe in half for when I want a small amount. I will freeze the leftovers in ice cubes and pull out what I need. You will never go back to store bought pesto again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      I'll also never buy jarred pesto again. I was shocked at how impressed people were when I told them it was homemade. Great recipe.Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      Great recipe! Couldn't be easier! Used this recipe to substitute the jarred pesto in the Cheese Tortellini Pesto Pasta Salad Recipe (I strongly suggest you try it!!). Will never buy jarred pesto again after making this recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      Great Pesto and easy to prepare. I heated some heavy cream and added this pesto to it and it made a great creamy pesto sauce for my ravioli ! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      Ok, but I think the proportion of the cheese was too much. I had to add more than 1/2 cup olive oil to get the right consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      Love this Pesto, it was everything I hoped for. I trebled the amount as I have a lot of Basil coming out of the garden now, and I will be freezing most of it. I did add extra garlic and a little salt though it didnt need a lot. Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Savory Sauces Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pesto

    Serving Size: 1 (40 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 137.5
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    70%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 7.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 130.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes