Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pesto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pesto

    Average Rating:

    92 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 92

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2003

      Farmers Market day today so I bought fresh basil and made this great recipe for Pesto.. For about $2.50 worth of ingredients and a wee bit of effort I have about $10,00 worth of Pesto. After making it I placed about a tbsp of pesto in ice cube trays ( got 14) and froze them. Then removed them from the trays and placed them in a freezer bag so I can enoy this great recipe during the Winter too Thanks RitaL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      Lovely stuff. I used half parm, half romano and added 1 tablespoon of lemon juice. I also used roasted sunflower seeds-I'm allergic to pine nuts & went heavy on the extra virgin olive oil as we like pesto on the creamy side. We will inhale this tonight with dinner-thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2013

      This was so quick and simple to make. For me, it was such a wonderful way to use up the extra basil that I had purchased for other recipes. I probably should just start growing my own so I can make more of this amazing pesto! By the way, I followed some reviewers' ideas about freezing the pesto in an ice cube tray. Brilliant and completely came in handy for me! :) I featured this pesto recipe on my blog - http://danasfoodblog.com/?p=1568. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      This was awesome.... thank you :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      Very good! Made this yesterday and used for Chicken Pesto Penne. I usually freeze pesto in cubes, but may just use the remainder up in the next day. It's so fresh tasting! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

      When a co-worker brought big bouquets of home-grown basil, I went looking for a pesto recipe -- and found a complete winner in this one. Simple, straightforward and perfect! We served it over various kinds of pasta with Italian sausages. Wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      Is there anything better than this stuff???

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      Yummy! Usually just wing the pesto recipe, but tried this one today. It was very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2010

      Yum!! I have tons and tons of basil growing in the garden and wanted to make pesto. It was an easy choice which pesto recipe to use Rita always has the yummiest and healthiest recipes. Thank you so much!! We will definitely do this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      I made this yesterday and i thought it was good. I ended up using double the parm cheese, and probably because of that, more oil than in the recipe. It tasted ok at first then after it was in the fridge for a while, it tasted amazing! much better than store bought. I can't wait to make it again. thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      I had bushels of fresh basil left in my garden and needed to use it al before the first frost, so I made giant batches of this pesto for my freezer. Outstanding recipe. It has the perfect ratio of cheese, nuts and basil. I toasted my nuts and freshly grated some Pargiano Reggiano for that maximum flavor punch and added a little kosher salt and pepper to round it out. YUMMY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Can't do without this one no more! ;-) I freeze the pesto in an ice cube tray and then pop the cubes into a freezer box so we always have fresh pesto available when we need it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      Doubled the recipe. Used bagged grated parmesan since I didn't want to use my $9 a pound stuff. Costco helped a lot since they carry a decently priced pine nut (fron China naturally). Upped the garlic a bit. Can't wait for tonites dinner. I've got a hickory smoked rotisserie chicken sitting the fridge waiting to be sliced, heated a bit to top the pasta with this most excellent pesto! What a treat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2004

      I just harvested 1/2 the basil plants in our garden and made this pesto. I used Parmesan cheese. As the pasta was cooking, I had to guard the pesto because the family kept nicking it. A good sign that this is a great recipe. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2004

      Thanks for the great recipe! I made this with pasta, and served it with grilled veggies (#61845) and it was absolutely delicious. In fact, one of my friends commented that it was the best pesto she had ever eaten. I made 1.5 times the recipe, except I only used 3/4 cup of parm, b/c I'm not a huge fan. This made enough to cover about 1.5 lbs of cooked rotini - enough to feed 5 or so. I used pine nuts this time, but they're expensive where I shop ($15 per lb!). Since they seem to taste similar to walnuts, I might use those next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2003

      I just made this with some creamy roasted garlic that I made Yummy! The garlic is more mild. Your mouth WILL taste GOOD!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      Good and easy recipe. I think I'll add extra olive oil next time (like it creamier) and more garlic. Tossed it with penne pasta for a yummy dinner. I think I'll use walnuts next time too since I was shocked at how expensive pine nuts are. I love the idea of freezing the extra in ice cube trays! Great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      great classic pesto sauce. i used 1/4 cup pine nuts and 1/4 cup walnuts and added about 1/4 tsp lemon juice. delicious! we had this over pasta with grilled chicken (simply brushed with olive oil, kosher salt, ground pepper, grilled on the g.foreman) and "better than olive garden alfredo sauce" (Better Than Olive Garden Alfredo Sauce). along with a salad and soft french bread, the meal was complete! thanks rita~!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      This is an awesome pesto recipe! It will be my go-to one in the future. Very flavorful and very easy to make. Thanks, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Savory Sauces Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pesto

    Serving Size: 1 (40 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 137.5
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    70%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 7.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 130.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites