Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pesto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pesto

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 16, 2007

      While I consider ways to mainline this in order to get it into my system faster than through the typical oral avenue, allow me to sing its praises in harmony! We have 4 kinds of basil growing in our garden at the moment; Italian Sweet, Purple Ruffle, Magical Michael and Ararat. It is the latter that I used for this pesto and the first time using this variety at all. This is a dark green and purple variety, very similar to classic sweet basil in flavor, but with vague hints of licorice and clove. In any event, combined with the other ingredients, it made a lovely pesto. I processed all ingredients except the parmesan in my Magic Bullet, then blended in the cheese. I then froze portions in an ice cube tray for individual use. Just pop one or two frozen cubes (in my case, frozen hearts) in the microwave until soft, then mix in with your favorite pasta. Doesn't get any easier than that! :) For our garlic-loving taste buds, 2 cloves made it VERY garlicky. Thank you for posting, Samuel, it's delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      Perfect recipe; exactly what I was expecting. Thank you! I mistakenly used a blender instead of a food processor but it worked fine once I got it going. I also used Himalayan salt for the salt ingredient, which was divine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      I used this recipe as my base recipe as it was simple with some great flavours. However i swapped the pine nuts with almonds and i added a little less oil because i wanted more of a thick paste. Thanks for posting this recipe it was great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      This was very easy to make and delicious! DH likes it so much he eats it on crackers, bread, or whatever we have here! I had to halve the recipe because I bought on basil plant at the store and it only ended up being 1 c of leaves pressed down.... I will have to make sure I buy more nex time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Excellent, first time making pesto and what a hit. Followed recipe except used a little less olive oil, came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      This was so good, I've been wanting to make a good pesto sauce for awhile. I made it with Chicken Pesto (Chicken Pesto). I will definately keep it and use it in the future for other things.. One of my favs w/pesto is chicken pesto pizza w/feta cheese.. yumm..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      Easy and good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      I followed the recipe exactly and it is great! Very simple and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      Good basic pesto; I substituted pine nuts with walnuts and I think it still came out pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      Perfect Pesto sauce. Used it with home made semolina noodles. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      Excellent pesto--just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      Wonderful! I used fresh sweet basil from my garden, EVOO, 3 cloves garlic (I LUVS gahlik!) and the rest. Used some with Slow Roasted Tomatoes With Baby Spinach & Pesto Dressing, another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      This is the first time I'd made pesto and used this recipe. It is SOOOO yummy! Thanks, Samuel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      Fabulous. I made a quarter recipe to use in Lemon Pesto Zucchini Bell Peppers. Used my own fresh basil and it was a lovely fresh tasting pesto.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      This is a fantastic pesto recipe...almost identical to the one that I use. I use slightly more parmesan and slightly less olive oil. As per another reviewer...stick to the pine nuts and don't leave any unprocessed. I also would not increase the garlic..this is plenty "garlicky" even for garlic lovers. You can really impress dinner guests with this and they have no idea how easy it is. This is the recipe for you to try if you have never made pesto and are looking for one with that classic pesto flavor. Give this one a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2005

      Adding grated Romano, 1/4 the amount of the Parmesan, may help any pesto

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2005

      I thought it was splendid

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      It was very good but not the best I have had. I left some of the nut pieces present as suggested by another viewer. I do NOT suggest doing that. I also used walnuts instead. I wanted to use the cheaper nut. It may have been the best if I had followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2004

      This recipe was easy to use and so delicious!! I added extra garlic, but I would recommend that you stick to the recipe as the garlic became a little overpowering. I will definately use this recipe again because it was a HUGE hit with my finicky dinner guest! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2003

      This is a good recipe- but the pesto should not be blended completely into a paste. You should blend it only so much that there is a bit of texture left. You should be able to taste the pieces of pine nut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Sauces Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pesto

    Serving Size: 1 (262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1318.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1249
    94%
    Total Fat 138.8 g
    213%
    Saturated Fat 20.9 g
    104%
    Cholesterol 22.0 mg
    7%
    Sodium 1552.3 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 17.3 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites