11 Reviews

Holy Mother of Pearl! This was great!!! This marinade is fantastic! My son could not stop moaning with delight as he stole small pieces while I was carving the bird. This rivals the rotisserie chicken at our favorite Peruvian restaurant. I roasted a whole chicken. I strained out the garlic and put it into the cavity and poured some of the left over marinade under the skin before putting it in the oven. Then I basted with the remaining marinade every fifteen minutes or so as it cooked. The chicken came out moist and juicy and oh so yummy! I will definately be making this again! (I'm laughing at all the exclamation marks in my review. They're well deserved!) Thanks for sharing!!!!!!!!! :-D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunkle March 22, 2009

I used a combination of lemon and lime juice to marinate a small, whole butterflied chicken for about 12 hours... The chicken came out very moist, but had a strong tumeric flavor for us. The garlic flavor was really nice though and the chicken browned up really nicely. Thanks for sharing!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlfitgirl May 13, 2008

I made half a recipe and used with 5 meaty chicken legs. The marunade was poured over the chicken and placed in the refrigerator for about 4 hours before grilling. The chicken had a very nice flavor. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG July 15, 2012

Thanks for the recipe, I always enjoy trying something new! We made this last night for dinner, but I guess maybe it just wasn't to our taste. I marinated chicken breasts in this recipe exactly for 24 hours and then cooked them in the slow cooker on low for 8 hours. Meat was juicy and flavorful, smelled terrific! Was really looking forward to this dish but neither DH or myself cared for the taste. Thanks again, appreciate the opportunity to try it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Skies June 22, 2009

This was a very good chicken! I left mine sit for most of the day in the marinade. Tender and juicy, very flavorful. Shoved half a lemon and some garlic and some herbs in the cavity. I don't have a rotisserie (on my list!) so I just baked it. Great with our sweet potatoes, green beans, and baked beets. (well, still unsure about that last one) Have the carcass on the stove for stock now. Thanks so much. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph July 10, 2008

I used drumsticks for this and baked in the oven. YUM! I only marinated for about 1 1/2 hours and wished I had let them sit a little bit longer. I had scraped off the marinade as instructed but I think I would leave the little bits of garlic, the few that made it past me were very tasty. But I love garlic. Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 July 05, 2008

YUM ! I just love a recipe packed with garlic and turmeric, pakrika etc... DH isn't a chicken lover at the best of times so I happily made a smaller portion of this for myself while he indulged in pasta yet again. I consider that I got a better deal out of dinner than he did because this was certainly good, and the flavours worked very well indeed. DH threw this together for me in the morning and I cooked it after work so the flavours had time to blend and work together, this longer marinating time is highly recommened. Please see my Rating System: 4 excellent stars for a recipe I will be making again soon. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 30, 2008

the subtle flavors of this chicken are just out of this world! do not be afraid of any amounts in this recipe; make it as described (my only substitution is putting the garlic through a press and using regular paprkia). i've let it sit for as little as 30 minutes and as long as several hours; used boneless, skinless thighs as well as "pick of the chick, bone-in (took the skin off though) and each time it came out deliciously (grilled). it's a rare night that everyone in my house actually enjoys the same meal and this recipe guarantees that all the kids are happy. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annfchen June 02, 2008

I used lime juice, let it marinate about 5 hours, and roasted the chicken in the oven. This is a great simple recipe for a yummy chicken dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mle234 May 01, 2008

I was a little wary of putting in all that turmeric, but it tasted great. I used it on grilled chicken portions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel December 14, 2007
Peruvian Marinade (Rotisserie, Grill, or Oven Chicken Marinade)