Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peruvian Chupe De Camarones (Peruvian Shrimp Chowder) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peruvian Chupe De Camarones (Peruvian Shrimp Chowder)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2014

      Love the soup. I used the shells and heads of the shrimp to make a fish stock first with onions, carrots and celery, garlic and aromatic herbs. I used chunks of calabaza squash and cauliflower instead of the potato and rice to lower the carbs. Squash is an ingredient in many chupe de camaron recipes. A really outstanding dish with a great aroma while making it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      love it,!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      This came out better than one of the restaurant's dish I had. Very flavorful. I hope my hubby loves it when he gets home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2011

      There is a Peruvian restaurant in my city that serves an EXCELLENT Chupe De Camarones... only problem is that it's $14!! This is one of my daughters favorite soups. Her mother's side of the family is 100% peruvian. I plan to make this soup for her ASAP.

      I'll try to remember to follow up on this review and compare it to the restaurant's $14 bowl.

      THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      This recipe is very close to authentic Chupe de Camarones! I lived in Arequipa, Peru for 3 years and have had this chupe many times! I never learned to make it there, so I'm really glad to have this recipe. I will say that the Mexican queso fresco that I used is not at all like the queso fresco from Peru that makes a squeaky sound when you bite into it. I think I would add much less, or leave it out entirely next time I make it! It ended up being too thick. But the flavor was excellent! If you want to make it authentically Peruvian, boil some of the shrimp whole and serve each plate with a whole shrimp on top! (Completely grossed out my 3 year old, but it's a cross-cultural experience! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2011

      OMG this chupe de camarones is really EXTREMELY GOOD!!! Its so easy to make, and tastes like heaven.
      Excellent recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      This is amazing! Make it now... you won't be disappointed. I have had 3 times now. I can't get queso where I live so I just used a brick style cream cheese like Philadelphia. Also, I have the Peruvian chile now but when I first made it I used jalapeno...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Amazing recipe. We all loved it. Maybe good to with goat cream cheese. We used light cream cheese. I'd make it again and the 19 people I fed said the same thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      I lived in Peru for a couple of years..I loved their traditional foods..cerviche, rellenos de papa, many dishes I cannot remember now..but by far my favorite was the Chupe de Camerones, Cerviche and Lomo Saltada....!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      this recipe is delicous!!!!!!!i had fun making it,and eating it!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peruvian Chupe De Camarones (Peruvian Shrimp Chowder)

    Serving Size: 1 (537 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 366.1
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    29%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 295.6 mg
    98%
    Sodium 1336.8 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 30.7 g
    61%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    queso fresco

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites