Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peruvian Caramel Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peruvian Caramel Cookies

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 21, 2009

      you can cook the condensed milk and take label off the can in the can and fill a sauce pan with water to cover for a couple hours or less boil the water .And in the end it is alot less cleanup and my husband family is all Peruvian and that is the way they do it...when done let cool a bit then open can carefully brown gooey yummm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      My son made these for a Spanish class assignment. The only change was to use store bought Dulce de leche (found at Cost Plus World Market). He got an A+ and didn't bring home any leftovers! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      These are actually called Alfajores. The cookies are the perfect "pie crust" texture they are supposed to be. I did not need to cool the baking sheet completely, nor did I chill the dough. I cooled the cookies on a flat surface because they seemed a bit too fragile for a wire rack right out of the oven. Also, I used store bought dulce de leche (Nestle) which worked fine and saved tons of time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      These are the best cookies I have ever tasted. Don't be put off by the preparation time. it's really not that bad, only the caramel takes a long time to make, but you can do other things while keeping an eye on it. The cookies themselves don't take that long and were an absolute hit at a birthday party, well worth the effort to make them. *I followed the advice above about using only one can of condensed milk, only to find that I was short for about half the batch and had the extremely tedious task of slow boiling another can in order to finish the cookies...the recipe is correct - you definately NEED two cans of condensed milk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      This is VERY similar to what in Peru we call "Alfajores" (Al-pha-hó-res). We don't chill the dough though. My mom makes the best ones ever! I'll post her recipe one of these days. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      They turned out great! and were not at all sticky so...I don't know what ya'll did wrong

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

    • on December 20, 2007

      These are my favorite cookies and I've loved them since I had them at a Peruvian restaurant. This recipe is very good. The cookie is a shortbread variation. I did ground candied pecans instead of the almonds since that is all I had. These are delicious...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      i made these cookies for a spanish project and they were loved by everyone. they are just so sweet and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2005

      I made these cookies for my sons Geography class. I did not have time to make the caramel, so I bought some premade in the grocery store. Everyone loved them...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      This recipe takes foreeeeeeeeevver. It is a LOT of work, but they are pretty tasty. The cookies themselves resemble shortbread. The caramel is a nice contrast to the cookie. I only used about half of the caramel, so I would suggest to anyone else to just use one can. Now I'm wondering, "What do I do with all this extra dulce de leche? You should put that on the double boiler long before you start actually making the cookies. Leave it on for a long time because you want it thick. I think mine wasn't thick enough because when i put it in between the cookies it was dripping everywhere. I would also suggest making this recipe in winter. It's 80 degrees outside here in Nashville, and I'm sure it's much hotter than that in my kitchen. I had a hard time keeping the dough, the caramel, and the cookies cool enough to work with. Making the dough into cookies is the hardest part. It's really sticky. I suggest using plastic wrap to keep it from sticking to everything in sight. That made clean-up easier as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2004

      I made them for my Spanish class and they were a big hit. Everyone was asking for the recipe. One of the best cookies I've ever tasted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      These cookies are great! I made them for my daughter's social studies class, and not only did they taste wonderful, they travel well too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peruvian Caramel Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1691 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 296.2
     
    Calories from Fat 136
    46%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.1 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 41.7 mg
    13%
    Sodium 68.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 24.0 g
    96%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes