Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Persimmon Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Persimmon Pudding

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2002

      This was very yummy! The persimmon by itself was terribly bitter but in this recipe it was absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      I have not yet tried this particular recipe, but persimmons were an integral part of our yearly foraging pattern when I was growing up and we always had frozen pulp on hand. This is an unusual fruit, and care must be taken in order to ensure a pleasant experience. First, and most important, NEVER pick the fruit from the tree, at least until after gaining some familiarity with the fruit, it must be fully ripe and soft, otherwise we call it "puckery" and it is a most unpleasant and unforgettable taste which may put one off persimmons forever. The fruit is best when soft, and it is generally best to wait til they fall. This will vary from one tree to another, some here being good in August while others will not be ready till a frost or freeze. The ones that fall will look nasty sometimes, bits of leaf and dirt stuck to them, but this is MUCH preferable to an unripe fruit. Simply mash them through a colander to remove the seeds and debris, a bit messy true but sometimes really good food requires a bit of work. We are currently in the midst of harvest season here in Southern Indiana, and while we are in the midst of a severe drought and this was a record summer here for heat, the fruit is, to my taste buds, some of the sweetest I've ever encountered. Give it a try, but do it properly, and you should have good results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      You have to bake it for more like an hour. I put my oven at 315 for the first 35 minutes, then turned it up to 325 and kept setting the timer for 10 minutes. I baked it for another 35 minutes at 325. I used a little less sugar than it called for, too. Probably 3/4 cup. Great recipe, though!! And I shot a photo of mine since there wasn't one here. Use Hachiya persimmons when they are squishy ripe. No bitterness whatsoever. They can also ripen after being picked. The birds can get them or they can fall and splat on your head, as happened to my neighbor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      Delicious! Can't keep this stuff in the kitchen, everyone loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      We just tried this. It was delicious except too sweet, even after going to 3/4 cups of sugar. We will try again with 1/2 cup and will increase the cooking time. Very promising.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Greetings from Portugal. I have a persimmon tree in my front yard along with other fruit trees. I never knew you could make pudding out of them, this is a great receipe it worked out really good for me. For those who do not know, persimmons have to be eaten when really ripe,or they won't taste very good they will taste very dry if not fully ripe! Thank you Rhonda for sharing this receipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2004

      I don't care for the persimmon fruit, but wanted to cook something for my mother-in-law who loved persimmons. This recipe was just what I needed. This pudding recipe is excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2003

      Did you ever have one of those neighbors that grew too much of something and just knew they needed to give it all to you?? My MIL's neighbor has a persimmon tree. When presented with a plethora of persimmons she decided to make this, and after having some I borrowed some persimmons to make my own. I found the flavor and texture to be somewhat close to pumpkin pie. It was wonderful warm and tasted nothing of persimmon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      Tried this recipe today, it is a good one, sweet, beautiful brown color, moist, not too spicy..just right, as good as the one's my mother in law use to make

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      I didn't exactly know how to make persimmon pulp so I just peeled the persimmons and squished them with my hand. It turned out wonderfully! It is very reminiscent of a pumpkin pie. I think I put in a little more nutmeg and cinnamon than was called for, and used only about 3/4 cup of sugar (I ran out!) It was delicious warm and still good the next day cold. I have a lot more persimmons so I'll definitely be making this again soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2005

      Wow! Tastes kind of like blondies. I'm not a huge fan of persimmons, but an acquaintance insisted i take 4 (unripe ones) from her organic tree. I waited and waited, and they're still not completely soft, but I made this pudding/cake anyway. Totally delicious, and you'd never know there were persimmons in there. My husband, also not a persimmon fan, describes it as "too good". Next time I might add a little vanilla.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      I've never tasted persimmons until this week when we got 3 in our weekly organic box. We ate one on it's own, and liked it, but needed a way to use the other two. I tried this recipe to do just that. The pudding was ok, but a little too sweet for my liking. I think next time I'll see what happens if I halve the sugar. I will try it again though. Thanks Rhonda O!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      mm not bad at all.. I got some people (who didn't know it had persimmons in it) to actually eat it when they normally don't like them. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2004

      This is wonderful! Have been wondering what to do with two trees full of persimmons, and have found the perfect solution. At least part of the solution. This recipe will stay in the favorites section of my cookbook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      I served this as Christmas dessert with whipped cream. Several folks said they were too full and only wanted "a tiny sliver" . They all came back for seconds. I didn't any leftover-waaaah, yes Virginia, it is THAT good. PS-you can pulp the persimmon and freeze it. So it doesn't make any difference what time of year you want this luxurious dessert, this is it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      I haven't had persimmon pudding in years and have never made it. I wasn't a huge fan before but this recipe tastes fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Persimmon Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (87 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.9
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    47%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 92.9 mg
    30%
    Sodium 167.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 16.7 g
    67%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    persimmon pulp

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes