37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This would be 5 stars without the organic cold pressed, extra virgin olive oil I used. I mean not using any olive oil would be better taste wise. I used English cucumber, vine ripened tomato, less purple onion per preference, flat leaf parsley, a generous amount of sea salt, and freshly squeezed lemon juice, to taste. I would make this again without olive oil. Made for Visiting Iran(Persia) in June 2012!%u200F

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat June 11, 2012

Simple, light, healthy and delicious. It can't get much better than this recipe. Thank you. Some of us topped ours with feta cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 June 03, 2010

Wonderful , refreshing salad, I will be making this often!! Lovely fresh salad with lots of crunch. I just sprinkled the juice of about a quarter lemon over it with the olive oil. Just made a small amount for the two of us. Made for the Salad event in the Photo Forum. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf April 14, 2010

This is a favorite for my daughter and I. We make it often. We don't use nearly as much lemon juice and we drizzle the olive oil as opposed to measuring it out and it always seems to be fine. Sometimes we add a little crumbled feta to this and its amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountain~Mama April 03, 2010

i make this often, and also add dill. i make it along side all my persian dishes! thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chunx January 25, 2010

What a delicious salad! I used a large english cucumber, campari tomato, and only a quarter of a large red onion (personal taste), and some dried parsley because it's all I had on hand...I also only used a few drops of the olive oil which I believe I will omit next time-thought it did give the salad a wonderful richness. I also grated some lemon peel. Some salt, ground pepper, and a little garlic salt...I will be making this OFTEN!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snoelle January 14, 2010

Absolutely delicious and refreshing salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anita S. November 05, 2009

Love this recipe. Used to eat this salad when I lived in Turkey. Perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DanaJoy! September 29, 2009

Very good. I really loved this salad. Refreshing, easy, and very flavorful. A great way to use the plentiful garden veggies! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennsniffer July 23, 2009
Persian Tomato and Cucumber Salad (Salad Shiraz)