37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an Iranian staple, and yet I would change up the recipe slightly. . . This is how we traditionally had it in our household. Instead of lemon juice, I would use the juice of 2 FRESHLY squeezed limes, and 2 tablespoons of FRESHLY chopped basil (Persian Basil preferred). And a tablespoon of dried mint. Be generous with the salt.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
@een July 10, 2006

Made this as a side for dinner one night when the ac was out. Very tasty, only change was to use mint as suggested by other reviewers since we were out of parsley. Going into the regular rotation for sure! Click for the cure: http://pages.teamintraining.org/va/rnrh10/lselby

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
McGelby July 06, 2010

Yum! Made it with fresh lemon juice and basil instead of parsley. Enjoyed and will be adding it to our regular meal rotation.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hbenedict March 31, 2010

Alawys favorite! I would sometimes make it with lime juice instead for a little different flavor. This is a very common persian salad.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morti March 04, 2007

Simply delicious! I took this salad to a seafood boil dinner and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it! Great for any outdoor party! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becauseilovemychildren September 26, 2009

Looks good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meganschools January 29, 2015

So refreshing. I did use fresh squeezed lime, since I only had bottled lemon. This is better the longer you can let it sit, I made four hours ahead of serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoulashGourmet October 30, 2014

Simply delicious! we used cilantro instead of parsley (because that's what I had on hand) and we really enjoyed. I can see us having this fairly frequently. =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B December 27, 2013

Easy, fast, very nice summer dish. I used flat parsley, and added some basil and mint. Everything from the garden. Well received by my guests.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IronChefMikey July 23, 2013

Great salad! Just goes to show that good food doesn't need to be complicated. This was very tasty and very refreshing. I can see having this come up frequently in our rotation! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori February 27, 2013
Persian Tomato and Cucumber Salad (Salad Shiraz)