Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Persian Tomato and Cucumber Salad (Salad Shiraz) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Persian Tomato and Cucumber Salad (Salad Shiraz)

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 10, 2006

      This is an Iranian staple, and yet I would change up the recipe slightly. . . This is how we traditionally had it in our household. Instead of lemon juice, I would use the juice of 2 FRESHLY squeezed limes, and 2 tablespoons of FRESHLY chopped basil (Persian Basil preferred). And a tablespoon of dried mint. Be generous with the salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Made this as a side for dinner one night when the ac was out. Very tasty, only change was to use mint as suggested by other reviewers since we were out of parsley. Going into the regular rotation for sure! Click for the cure: http://pages.teamintraining.org/va/rnrh10/lselby

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      Yum! Made it with fresh lemon juice and basil instead of parsley. Enjoyed and will be adding it to our regular meal rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      Alawys favorite! I would sometimes make it with lime juice instead for a little different flavor. This is a very common persian salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      Simply delicious! I took this salad to a seafood boil dinner and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it! Great for any outdoor party! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      Simply delicious! we used cilantro instead of parsley (because that's what I had on hand) and we really enjoyed. I can see us having this fairly frequently. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2013

      Easy, fast, very nice summer dish. I used flat parsley, and added some basil and mint. Everything from the garden. Well received by my guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      Great salad! Just goes to show that good food doesn't need to be complicated. This was very tasty and very refreshing. I can see having this come up frequently in our rotation! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      This would be 5 stars without the organic cold pressed, extra virgin olive oil I used. I mean not using any olive oil would be better taste wise. I used English cucumber, vine ripened tomato, less purple onion per preference, flat leaf parsley, a generous amount of sea salt, and freshly squeezed lemon juice, to taste. I would make this again without olive oil. Made for Visiting Iran(Persia) in June 2012!%u200F

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

    • on June 03, 2010

      Simple, light, healthy and delicious. It can't get much better than this recipe. Thank you. Some of us topped ours with feta cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      Wonderful , refreshing salad, I will be making this often!! Lovely fresh salad with lots of crunch. I just sprinkled the juice of about a quarter lemon over it with the olive oil. Just made a small amount for the two of us. Made for the Salad event in the Photo Forum. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      This is a favorite for my daughter and I. We make it often. We don't use nearly as much lemon juice and we drizzle the olive oil as opposed to measuring it out and it always seems to be fine. Sometimes we add a little crumbled feta to this and its amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      i make this often, and also add dill. i make it along side all my persian dishes! thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      What a delicious salad! I used a large english cucumber, campari tomato, and only a quarter of a large red onion (personal taste), and some dried parsley because it's all I had on hand...I also only used a few drops of the olive oil which I believe I will omit next time-thought it did give the salad a wonderful richness. I also grated some lemon peel. Some salt, ground pepper, and a little garlic salt...I will be making this OFTEN!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Absolutely delicious and refreshing salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Love this recipe. Used to eat this salad when I lived in Turkey. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Very good. I really loved this salad. Refreshing, easy, and very flavorful. A great way to use the plentiful garden veggies! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      I mixed a fresh lemon and a fresh lime with taragon because I did not have any mint. this is a fabulous salad. Really love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      I love this salad! It is light, simple, and refreshing. The lemon is a wonderful addition.Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Persian Tomato and Cucumber Salad (Salad Shiraz)

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 67.6
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    48%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites