16 Reviews

I made this early in the morning and to be honest the taste I took just after mixing it didn't impress me a lot. That wasn't the case after letting it chill for 4 hrs. My lunch time serving was alive with lovely flavor and the lemon, that had time to work, added a wonderful sparkle. No additional seasoning was was needed and the almond crunch added a lot to the texture. This is very quick to put together using the food processor to do the grating and it was enjoyed very much.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia November 04, 2010

Very fresh light salad, I'd happily add to my next buffet, especially when you've got a lot of other bold things going on. I love a carrot salad and just as other reviewers pointed out, found the amount of cumin called for works out nicely as do the other flavours. I goofed and used a macintosh apple....can see now that using something like a tart granny smith would really have been better. Thanks Awalde, I'll be making this again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner January 03, 2011

Must say that I was ready to cut back on the cumin, but after reading the other reviews, I decided to go the whole way, & am so glad that I did ~ In this particular salad it worked beautifully with the cinnamon (& I'm definitely a big fan of that latter spice)! And, although I was tempted to add some raisins to it, I didn't ~ This carrot salad is most satisfying just the way it is! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 29, 2010

This salad is a delight! I just love the combination of cinnamon and cumin in this, it's a great pairing of flavors that goes well with the sweetness of the carrots and apples. This salad definitely needs to be chilled for a couple of hours before serving to allow the flavors to meld. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof November 04, 2010

We're in the midst of a heat wave and this salad was a perfect side for dinner. I loved the cinnamon, cumin mixture in the dressing. Made for July NA/ME Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario July 21, 2011

This was amazing!!!Highly recommend it,one of the best salads I ever had and the kids liked it too!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia February 10, 2011

This is a wonderful and easy recipe. I really worried about the cumin in the recipe and only used half the amount stated. I think I'll use the whole amount next time. My family really enjoyed it. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie November 29, 2010

This salad is a pleasure. First who would have thought cumin in a carrot salad? But it works oh so well, the cinnamon cumin combo adds a very nice warm background flavor that balances out the natural sweetness of the carrots and apples without over powering them. Also thought the toasted almonds were a very nice addition. Made as written and am looking forward to enjoying again. The one to four hour sit time is a must. Thanks so much for the post.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl November 28, 2010

i didnt peel apples it is light and very flavorful used regular oil cause im serving at breakfast just added cinnamon no cumin cause if there is any left going into bread

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. October 11, 2011

After tasting this I can see why it has so many wonderful reviews. This is a delicious carrot salad. Makes a nice healthy side. The only thing I did was to reduce the recipe by half for the 2 of us. Made for Zaar Stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 24, 2011
Persian Style Carrot Salad