Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Persian Style Carrot Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Persian Style Carrot Salad

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2010

      I made this early in the morning and to be honest the taste I took just after mixing it didn't impress me a lot. That wasn't the case after letting it chill for 4 hrs. My lunch time serving was alive with lovely flavor and the lemon, that had time to work, added a wonderful sparkle. No additional seasoning was was needed and the almond crunch added a lot to the texture. This is very quick to put together using the food processor to do the grating and it was enjoyed very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      Very fresh light salad, I'd happily add to my next buffet, especially when you've got a lot of other bold things going on. I love a carrot salad and just as other reviewers pointed out, found the amount of cumin called for works out nicely as do the other flavours. I goofed and used a macintosh apple....can see now that using something like a tart granny smith would really have been better. Thanks Awalde, I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      Must say that I was ready to cut back on the cumin, but after reading the other reviews, I decided to go the whole way, & am so glad that I did ~ In this particular salad it worked beautifully with the cinnamon (& I'm definitely a big fan of that latter spice)! And, although I was tempted to add some raisins to it, I didn't ~ This carrot salad is most satisfying just the way it is! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      This salad is a delight! I just love the combination of cinnamon and cumin in this, it's a great pairing of flavors that goes well with the sweetness of the carrots and apples. This salad definitely needs to be chilled for a couple of hours before serving to allow the flavors to meld. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      We're in the midst of a heat wave and this salad was a perfect side for dinner. I loved the cinnamon, cumin mixture in the dressing. Made for July NA/ME Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      This was amazing!!!Highly recommend it,one of the best salads I ever had and the kids liked it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      This is a wonderful and easy recipe. I really worried about the cumin in the recipe and only used half the amount stated. I think I'll use the whole amount next time. My family really enjoyed it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      This salad is a pleasure. First who would have thought cumin in a carrot salad? But it works oh so well, the cinnamon cumin combo adds a very nice warm background flavor that balances out the natural sweetness of the carrots and apples without over powering them. Also thought the toasted almonds were a very nice addition. Made as written and am looking forward to enjoying again. The one to four hour sit time is a must. Thanks so much for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      i didnt peel apples it is light and very flavorful used regular oil cause im serving at breakfast just added cinnamon no cumin cause if there is any left going into bread

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      After tasting this I can see why it has so many wonderful reviews. This is a delicious carrot salad. Makes a nice healthy side. The only thing I did was to reduce the recipe by half for the 2 of us. Made for Zaar Stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      This is one tasty carrot salad!! I used organic carrots, Granny Smith apples, whole almonds toasted in a dry pan then chopped, extra virgin olive oil, freshly squeezed lemon juice, brown sugar and the spices. Made for AUGUST 2011 NA/ME TAG! EVERYBODY COME PLAY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      One carrot was replaced with a parsnip for color and the Granny Smith apple (tart apple as another reviewer reminded us) was left unpeeled. We enjoyed the light refreshing taste and the combination of cinnamon and cumin was the perfect amount, too. Chilling is absolutely necessary to allow the ingredients time for flavor enhancement. Reviewed for Veg Tag January.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      Loved the combination of flavors here. I made the comment, that I did not think sugar was needed since you had sweetness from the apple. But it was such a small amount, I still added it in. I'm going to make this for our next gathering at church. Made for Please Review My Recipe 2012

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

    • on December 10, 2011

      Interesting recipe for sure; it's almost like a salad tasting like an apple crisp. 2 of us loved it and 2 of us thought it was so-so; probably one of the recipes that you love or don't care for. But since one of the people that loved it was my 9 year old daughter and since I have not seen her ever shovel this much salad into her mouth in record time - I will give it 5 stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      Wonderful little salad! I enjoyed the warmth of the cinnamon and cumin. Just right. Thanks! Made for NA*ME tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Persian Style Carrot Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 170.2
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    57%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 97.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes