Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Persian-Style Basmati Rice Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Persian-Style Basmati Rice Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2009

      Thanks again for another keeper! I added about 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. The only other slight change that I made was that I added the rice at the same time as the garlic to somewhat toast the rice as well for about 3 minutes before adding the broth, spices and raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      Delicious Recipe and esay too. I left out the almonds because I didnt have any. I made this in my rice cooker as follows: 1. I melted 2 Tb of butter & 2 Tb light olive oil in a pan . 2. I sauted the chopped onions until translucent-over medium. 3. I added the chopped garlic and sauted about 1 min more. 4. I added the rice ( well rinsed), spices ( including the pinch or saffron and cayenne) and raisins and mixed well and sauted for another minute ( maybe a bit more) so that the rice/spice/onions/garlic/raisins all mixed together and the rice was sauted also. 5. I poured the mix into the rice cooker and added the chicken stock-I used about 2 3/4 cup of chicken stock-I find that the rice cooker uses less liquid. 6. I let the rice cooker cook in the white rice setting. Thanks KITTENCAL for another great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      This was a wonderful side dish ~ Thank you so much for the recipe! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Good. I Used the garlic, and replaced the almonds with pine nuts. I didn't add raisins, (though I can see it would be good with them) neither did I add pepper. I served this with Greek Lemon Chicken Kabobs With Mint Marinade

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      This was definitely a winner for us! I used regular long-grain white rice instead of Basmati rice, and substituted toasted pine nuts for almonds since I was taking it to a potluck where tree nuts weren't permitted. I prepared this in a fuzzy logic rice cooker by doing step 1 on the stove, and then dumping everything into the rice cooker.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      I am almost certain if I make one of your recipes, that my family and I will love it! <br/>Great Job Kittencalskitchen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      I made this exactly as listed and it was delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2012

      This is a great recipe, I made the the following changes to the flavors to compliment the main course at the time (lamb kabobs)

      But make these changes.

      Use grated onion with juice removed.
      Use mace and just a touch of cinnamon
      Leave out the garlic.
      Use less tumeric but add saffron threads to the butter.
      Use half raisins and half chopped dates.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      This rice was delicious with chicken and vegetable kebabs. I was serving 8 adults so I doubled the recipe. Everyone loved it, but it made SO much. I had at least 4-6 generous servings leftover. I substituted olive oil for 1/2 of the butter and used golden raisins. I didn't have any saffron, but was generous with the garlic and cayenne pepper. This recipe is a keeper! Next time I might try whole grain basmati rice instead of white, for added nutrition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      You never disappoint Kittencal! I used pine nuts and substituted brown rice and threw it all in a rice cooker after cooking the onion and toasting the pine nuts and it turned out beautifully despite my tinkering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      This dish was great. I omitted the raisins and almonds and added 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. I will definitely make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      This was delicious and very ease to veganize. The only thing I did differently was to add some soy curls. The flavor is not overwhelming and you get a perfect amount of sweetness when you bite into a raisin. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      So good with so many different kind of meals! I did add 1/4 teaspoon of cardamom and 'cause I'm not a big fan of cooked raisins, added 1/2 cup of them after rice was done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      another great one! made as it says, except for the pepper, my daughter hates anything spicy. oh and did add the garlic. yummy! goes great with a tandoori chicken recipe i have from a friend (i know, different countries, but still good together!). thanks again kittencal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Good stuff. I also used saffron. I didn't add almonds or mushrooms, but used mushrooms and carrots when I stir fried. I have a normal rice cooker which did cook it in 20 minutes, but stir with wooden spoon since it does stick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      We loved itand I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      OMG Kittencal how do you do it? You have some of the greatest recipes! Another winner here, my husband and I REALLY enjoyed this. We followed the recipe almost exactly except we used low sodium vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, and we used 4 cups veggie broth (wanted to use it up), and so we added a little bit more rice (1/4 cup?) It was soooo delicious, I will DEFINITELY make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      SO GOOD!!! My mom and I are NUTS about this FANTASTIC rice!!! Made with garlic. MMMMMM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      This was excellent, but a little high on the salt. With a low-salt homemade broth it would have been perfect. I followed the recipe to the letter. Timing was right on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      I did not use the raisins, other than that I followed the recipe exactly with garlic. It came out perfect! The slivered almonds add a nice crunch. I served it with Greek Lemon Chicken Kabobs With Mint Marinade. THX Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Persian-Style Basmati Rice Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (319 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 530.4
     
    Calories from Fat 193
    36%
    Total Fat 21.5 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 744.8 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.5 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 12.8 g
    51%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites