9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Amazing taste!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarinaLibik January 11, 2014

Wonderful & complex. We loved all the interplay of flavorings from the lemon juice and parsley to the cardomom and carrots! Hearty & delicious. Just the two of us almost finished this off in one night - ate dinner, went to a show, came back and ate another dinner! We enjoyed this with bread & butter and a dry stout. It's also very budget-friendly. I used Pomi packaged chopped tomatoes - which were great - because I have a hard time finding any decent fresh tomatoes, unfortunately, in the nearby stores. The stew does take a lot of salt though to bring out all the flavors. Outside of that (if you are not salt sensitive), A definite keeper. We will be keeping this in rotation. Solid recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gaia22 March 29, 2013

I think the base of the stew is very good and nutritious, but next time I will omit the cardamom and cinnamon, as I prefer a spicier taste and not the sweetness that these two ingredients added.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimmore August 08, 2011

This was so tasty! I had never cooked with cardamom before, but will again. I also used canned diced tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neraulia November 20, 2010

Who would have thought that a split pea and barley stew could have such complexity of flavors! DH, who sometimes balks at vegetarian meals (he does love vegetables, though, unlike many DHs!), thought this was terrific. I used ground cardamom (fortunately there's someone in town who sells spices in small packets), and canned tomatoes. Be warned: it does need a fair amount of salt to bring out all the flavors, even with the lemon juice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole May 28, 2010

Excellent recipe! I really enjoyed the spices (and also enjoyed the opportunity to use up some cardamom I've had for too long). I followed the recipe closely, except that I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh. Thanks so much for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie May 16, 2010

I love this recipe. But I love cardamom. You have to like cardamom to like this I think. If you remove the seeds from the pods, the cardamom is stronger. Than if you were to buy it already ground. Just a heads up, I ground mine myself and 1 tsp was a little much, I think in the future I will use a little less.I also took another reviewers advice and added a little more cinnamon. I used 1 tsp and I think it was great. This is easy, and super yummy and definately nutritious. I will make it again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missylovescake January 18, 2009

This was very, very good! It also came together much faster than the time indicated...more like an 1-1 1/4 hours depending on how much veggie chopping you do. I loved the mix of Middle Eastern flavors in this! Ground cardamom was ridiculously expensive, so I bought green cardamom pods and chopped them up instead. I also added some celery and peas. The only modification that I would make when I prepare this in the future is to use more cinnamon. When I reheated this, I added a bit more and really think that it added to the dish. Thanks dicentra! Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
poo235 June 13, 2007
Persian Split Pea and Barley Stew