Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Persian Split Pea and Barley Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Persian Split Pea and Barley Stew

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2014

      Amazing taste!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2013

      Wonderful & complex. We loved all the interplay of flavorings from the lemon juice and parsley to the cardomom and carrots! Hearty & delicious. Just the two of us almost finished this off in one night - ate dinner, went to a show, came back and ate another dinner! We enjoyed this with bread & butter and a dry stout. It's also very budget-friendly. I used Pomi packaged chopped tomatoes - which were great - because I have a hard time finding any decent fresh tomatoes, unfortunately, in the nearby stores. The stew does take a lot of salt though to bring out all the flavors. Outside of that (if you are not salt sensitive), A definite keeper. We will be keeping this in rotation. Solid recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      I think the base of the stew is very good and nutritious, but next time I will omit the cardamom and cinnamon, as I prefer a spicier taste and not the sweetness that these two ingredients added.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      This was so tasty! I had never cooked with cardamom before, but will again. I also used canned diced tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      Who would have thought that a split pea and barley stew could have such complexity of flavors! DH, who sometimes balks at vegetarian meals (he does love vegetables, though, unlike many DHs!), thought this was terrific. I used ground cardamom (fortunately there's someone in town who sells spices in small packets), and canned tomatoes. Be warned: it does need a fair amount of salt to bring out all the flavors, even with the lemon juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Excellent recipe! I really enjoyed the spices (and also enjoyed the opportunity to use up some cardamom I've had for too long). I followed the recipe closely, except that I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh. Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      I love this recipe. But I love cardamom. You have to like cardamom to like this I think. If you remove the seeds from the pods, the cardamom is stronger. Than if you were to buy it already ground. Just a heads up, I ground mine myself and 1 tsp was a little much, I think in the future I will use a little less.I also took another reviewers advice and added a little more cinnamon. I used 1 tsp and I think it was great. This is easy, and super yummy and definately nutritious. I will make it again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

    • on June 13, 2007

      This was very, very good! It also came together much faster than the time indicated...more like an 1-1 1/4 hours depending on how much veggie chopping you do. I loved the mix of Middle Eastern flavors in this! Ground cardamom was ridiculously expensive, so I bought green cardamom pods and chopped them up instead. I also added some celery and peas. The only modification that I would make when I prepare this in the future is to use more cinnamon. When I reheated this, I added a bit more and really think that it added to the dish. Thanks dicentra! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Persian Split Pea and Barley Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (377 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.3
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    97%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 924.5 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.0 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 21.3 g
    85%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 18.2 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites