11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love it how the grains separate. My DH taught me a shortcut. Add the rice and water, salt and a little oil. When there are little holes in the rice add 1/8 of a cup of water and a little more oil and let it simmer on the lowest on your stove. This is the way the rice is made in Northern Iran.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia September 25, 2009

This ended up being just greasy rice for me. I don't know what happened. After 45 minutes and no sign of crustiness I took the rice out of the pan, tuned up the heat and then fried the rice. If this happens to you don't do what I did as a rescue. If anyone has any ideas as to what I did wrong, please let me know.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oak park katie April 14, 2009

This is known as Chelo in Iran. If you make it with a sauce added it become Polow. I boil the rice for only about 6 minutes before draining, the final rice after steaming should not be mushy, each grain to be separate, it takes some practice! If you sit the covered pot in a sink filled with cold water for about five minutes before turning it over onto a large platter the tadiq will loosen from the pan and it should come out easier. This is the only way to eat basamati rice! The texture and crunch of the tadiq is absolutely addictive!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cat19 January 23, 2009

This was really cool - a neat new way to serve rice! When I did the initial cook I took it off at nine minutes and it was almost done, so next time I will cook for less. Also took almost an hour for the nice crust to form. Am wondering if it shouldn't be done in a non-stick pan? Great recipe and I will make again with a few adjustments and I will season before second cook! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrumpyIrishLady March 11, 2008

I grew up on this rice! Fantastic taste, and yes, get ready to fight for the tadiq! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cylee October 31, 2007

My 4 kids ask for this constantly!! It is a tiny bit more work, but if you follow the recipe as shown- it's perfect every time. The crispy, buttery rice is so delicious and makes a wonderful presentation when it's flipped onto a platter. I serve it with Butter Chicken and Raita or Chicken Divan. Divine!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Daniela October 16, 2007

This was a lot easier to make than I thought it would be. It was really good, and it was nice to be able to get steamed rice without a rice steamer! Also, as a response to the other review, I think it's supposed to stick to the bottom - you scrape up the crispy layer off the bottom and eat it, at least that's how I've seen it in restaurants.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
horseplay September 27, 2007

I had this at a Persian friends house when I was young, and remember it being very tasty! I think they put psitachios or something in with it too though after it was cooked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicoleelizabeth August 20, 2006

this was great but it stuck to my pot at the bottom. i'll try it again with a different pot i think

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenkungfu April 05, 2006
Persian Rice