Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Persian Kidney Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Persian Kidney Beans

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2012

      With the only fresh veggies in the house being onions and mixed baby kales, I had to whip up something fast. I already had this recipe set aside as one I wanted to try. We include fresh greens in most meals, so I added a couple handfuls of the baby kale just after I added the canned beans. We also love spices, so I doubled the cumin and added two hefty shakes of cinnamon. I used a teaspoon of red pepper flakes instead of a fresh chili, and used nearly a whole bulb of chopped garlic. We ate it on corn tortillas since we didn't have any pitas. I think it would be excellent on cornbread. We'll definitely be eating this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2012

      Fast, easy & delicious. Served over white rice. Made for Something Old, Something New over inthe Safari Supper Club forum 3/09. :) Oh my, I have made this before! It was fast, easy & delicious this time, too! Served over basmati. Made for Visiting Persia in the NA/ME Forum 6/12.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      I can imagine this would be really good in pita but we are gluten free. For us it was 4 stars over Rice Bil Shareyah (White Rice With Browned Fideo Noodles) eaten with baby arugula. I used canned kidney beans, cayenne powder instead of chili pepper, to taste, sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, plus the rest. Made for Veggie Swap 31 ~ February 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      SO good! i made this to accompany a cactus dish that i made, and i fell in love with it. My husband, who such a picky eater and likes nothing with any spices that resemble middle-eastern/persian really really liked them, he had seconds and then leftovers for lunch. So good that i seriously have been eating it ALL WEEK. just wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      This was a nice change of pace with a little zip to it. I think it was the lime juice that gave it the tang. I used a jalapeno pepper, being that is what I had on hand, but didn't really notice any heat. The combination of the tomato and lime juice gave it a nice acidity that is different for me when eating beans. I served this over Persian Style Steamed Rice. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      These beans were a delicious accompaniment to our artichoke fajitas. I skipped the chili pepper so that our daughter could eat the beans, too. (Fresh chilies were served on the side.) Instead of opening up a can of tomato paste, I subbed 3 T. organic ketchup. I want to make this again soon and use our slow cooker as it would make a great meal served with brown rice and a salad. I think the serving portions may be off though...?? Thanks for posting! Reviewed for Veg Swap #19-2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Made this for a quick and easy dinner for hubby and I last night. I did add a little cucumber as one reviewer suggested. It added a nice crunch. Also I used some hot chili sauce instead of the chili pepper. It had a nice kick. We ate in flat bread as a wrap. Thanks for posting! Made for Veggie Swap January 2010!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      I liked it. I think next time I may add some fresh tomatoes and cucumber to the pita bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Persian Kidney Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (400 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.4
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    15%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 860.0 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 15.5 g
    62%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 15.4 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites