8 Reviews

With the only fresh veggies in the house being onions and mixed baby kales, I had to whip up something fast. I already had this recipe set aside as one I wanted to try. We include fresh greens in most meals, so I added a couple handfuls of the baby kale just after I added the canned beans. We also love spices, so I doubled the cumin and added two hefty shakes of cinnamon. I used a teaspoon of red pepper flakes instead of a fresh chili, and used nearly a whole bulb of chopped garlic. We ate it on corn tortillas since we didn't have any pitas. I think it would be excellent on cornbread. We'll definitely be eating this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanSgt January 03, 2012

Fast, easy & delicious. Served over white rice. Made for Something Old, Something New over inthe Safari Supper Club forum 3/09. :) Oh my, I have made this before! It was fast, easy & delicious this time, too! Served over basmati. Made for Visiting Persia in the NA/ME Forum 6/12.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo June 16, 2012

I can imagine this would be really good in pita but we are gluten free. For us it was 4 stars over Rice Bil Shareyah (White Rice With Browned Fideo Noodles) eaten with baby arugula. I used canned kidney beans, cayenne powder instead of chili pepper, to taste, sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, plus the rest. Made for Veggie Swap 31 ~ February 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat February 24, 2011

SO good! i made this to accompany a cactus dish that i made, and i fell in love with it. My husband, who such a picky eater and likes nothing with any spices that resemble middle-eastern/persian really really liked them, he had seconds and then leftovers for lunch. So good that i seriously have been eating it ALL WEEK. just wonderful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cdserna86 September 22, 2010

This was a nice change of pace with a little zip to it. I think it was the lime juice that gave it the tang. I used a jalapeno pepper, being that is what I had on hand, but didn't really notice any heat. The combination of the tomato and lime juice gave it a nice acidity that is different for me when eating beans. I served this over Persian Style Steamed Rice. Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! June 18, 2010

These beans were a delicious accompaniment to our artichoke fajitas. I skipped the chili pepper so that our daughter could eat the beans, too. (Fresh chilies were served on the side.) Instead of opening up a can of tomato paste, I subbed 3 T. organic ketchup. I want to make this again soon and use our slow cooker as it would make a great meal served with brown rice and a salad. I think the serving portions may be off though...?? Thanks for posting! Reviewed for Veg Swap #19-2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 19, 2010

Made this for a quick and easy dinner for hubby and I last night. I did add a little cucumber as one reviewer suggested. It added a nice crunch. Also I used some hot chili sauce instead of the chili pepper. It had a nice kick. We ate in flat bread as a wrap. Thanks for posting! Made for Veggie Swap January 2010!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ January 25, 2010

I liked it. I think next time I may add some fresh tomatoes and cucumber to the pita bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aram April 06, 2009
Persian Kidney Beans