15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good, masha Allah. Make sure to grind the walnuts finely. Instead of any water or stock I used pomegranate juice: no syrup. Also I did add cardamon and cinnamon to the onions as noted for a richer flavour.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat March 11, 2009

NC, this recipe is delicious! I used four skinless, boneless chicken breasts. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of ground cardamom and one cinnamon stick when sauteeing the onions. The cardamom and cinnamon really shouldn't be omitted in my opinion. Served over white basmati rice and alongside seasonal roasted vegetables from the farmers' market: romanesco, golden beets, turnips, zucc and broccoli. Another Zaar recipe that I am thrilled to have discovered. My husband thought the sauce was perfect, I would probably add a little bit more honey next time. (I used honey in place of white sugar.) All in all, a fabulous meal and equally fabulous recipe. Thank you. cg ;)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl June 12, 2008

Excellent recipe!! Added the spices suggested and it was perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fisheee November 13, 2011

I'd never had this before, but wanted to try a traditional Iranian dish for a holiday dinner this year. The scent and taste are mysterious and wonderful. This recipe is a keeper! I followed the suggestion to sautee the onions in cinnamon (couldn't afford to spring for cardamon). I also added just a touch, about 1/8 tsp. of nutmeg. Since I couldn't find any pomegranate syrup/molasses, I substituted 2 cups of pomegranate juice (POM) plus about 1 cup of vegetable stock. (NOTE: I was going to make my own pomegranate syrup/molasses, but when I read the recipe for this, I saw that, by simmering the POM for 60 minutes, the end result is similar, so I just let it do its magic during the normal course of following this recipe, as is). My method may not be 100% authentic, but it tasted great. Since I am a vegetarian, I used QUORN naked chik'n cutlets. I imagine that chicken, duck and pheasant add their own tasty elements to the dish, but the QUORN was wonderful, too. This was for a big family holiday dinner. I made this one day ahead, to let the flavors meld, then re-heated it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 to 30 minutes. I garnished it with a sprinking of fresh pomegranate seeds on top and several parsley sprigs, and served lime wedges and rice on the side, which made for a beautiful presentation!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
night.owl.bookstore December 26, 2009

This was AWESOME. I was in the mood for Persian food and was immediately intrigued by the marriage of walnuts and pomegranate. I used POM Tangerine juice with stock and added 3 tbs of brown sugar. The tangerine in the juice really gave it a balance of sweetness and added a nice citrus aroma. I also took your advice and added cardamom and cinnamon. It made the whole house smell wonderful. I made it with two whole chicken legs for my husband and I, and we have sauce-soaked rice for leftovers. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Korkin' September 22, 2009

I love this dish and get it at Persian restaurants any chance I get. I was happy to find this recipe online. I give it a shot and it turned out good but not dark color like the one I was used to. I found another recipe on a wordpress.com site I guess it was called mastering persian cooking. It had detailed step by step with photos. I wish all recipes were written like that so easy to follow. Anyhow thumbs up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VAlbred February 07, 2013

A very nice recipe. I wanted to try something with pomegranate since they are in season now. I didn't grind the walnuts fine enough for my liking, but all and all a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill November 24, 2010

Just made this for lunch. Oh, freak. So good. I didn't pay much attention to portions, and I think I put too much stock in (esp. since I used pomegranate juice) since it turned out pretty thin, but the taste was so good I didn't care what the texture did. Oh, and cinnamon? Devine! Excuse me while I go get seconds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EatVegans March 18, 2010

This is outstanding and just too easy!! I substituted pomegranate juice for the stock, just because I had some, and used honey for sweetening. I ate something very similar to this in Paris last December and it is wonderful to be able to remind myself of that trip! Thank you so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda in Adelaide June 22, 2009
Persian Chicken or Duck in Pomegranate Walnut Sauce (Fesenjan)