Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Persian Chicken or Duck in Pomegranate Walnut Sauce (Fesenjan) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Persian Chicken or Duck in Pomegranate Walnut Sauce (Fesenjan)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2009

      This was good, masha Allah. Make sure to grind the walnuts finely. Instead of any water or stock I used pomegranate juice: no syrup. Also I did add cardamon and cinnamon to the onions as noted for a richer flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      NC, this recipe is delicious! I used four skinless, boneless chicken breasts. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of ground cardamom and one cinnamon stick when sauteeing the onions. The cardamom and cinnamon really shouldn't be omitted in my opinion. Served over white basmati rice and alongside seasonal roasted vegetables from the farmers' market: romanesco, golden beets, turnips, zucc and broccoli. Another Zaar recipe that I am thrilled to have discovered. My husband thought the sauce was perfect, I would probably add a little bit more honey next time. (I used honey in place of white sugar.) All in all, a fabulous meal and equally fabulous recipe. Thank you. cg ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      Excellent recipe!! Added the spices suggested and it was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      I'd never had this before, but wanted to try a traditional Iranian dish for a holiday dinner this year. The scent and taste are mysterious and wonderful. This recipe is a keeper! I followed the suggestion to sautee the onions in cinnamon (couldn't afford to spring for cardamon). I also added just a touch, about 1/8 tsp. of nutmeg. Since I couldn't find any pomegranate syrup/molasses, I substituted 2 cups of pomegranate juice (POM) plus about 1 cup of vegetable stock. (NOTE: I was going to make my own pomegranate syrup/molasses, but when I read the recipe for this, I saw that, by simmering the POM for 60 minutes, the end result is similar, so I just let it do its magic during the normal course of following this recipe, as is). My method may not be 100% authentic, but it tasted great. Since I am a vegetarian, I used QUORN naked chik'n cutlets. I imagine that chicken, duck and pheasant add their own tasty elements to the dish, but the QUORN was wonderful, too. This was for a big family holiday dinner. I made this one day ahead, to let the flavors meld, then re-heated it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 to 30 minutes. I garnished it with a sprinking of fresh pomegranate seeds on top and several parsley sprigs, and served lime wedges and rice on the side, which made for a beautiful presentation!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      This was AWESOME. I was in the mood for Persian food and was immediately intrigued by the marriage of walnuts and pomegranate. I used POM Tangerine juice with stock and added 3 tbs of brown sugar. The tangerine in the juice really gave it a balance of sweetness and added a nice citrus aroma. I also took your advice and added cardamom and cinnamon. It made the whole house smell wonderful. I made it with two whole chicken legs for my husband and I, and we have sauce-soaked rice for leftovers. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      I love this dish and get it at Persian restaurants any chance I get. I was happy to find this recipe online. I give it a shot and it turned out good but not dark color like the one I was used to. I found another recipe on a wordpress.com site I guess it was called mastering persian cooking. It had detailed step by step with photos. I wish all recipes were written like that so easy to follow. Anyhow thumbs up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

    • on November 24, 2010

      A very nice recipe. I wanted to try something with pomegranate since they are in season now. I didn't grind the walnuts fine enough for my liking, but all and all a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Just made this for lunch. Oh, freak. So good. I didn't pay much attention to portions, and I think I put too much stock in (esp. since I used pomegranate juice) since it turned out pretty thin, but the taste was so good I didn't care what the texture did. Oh, and cinnamon? Devine! Excuse me while I go get seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      This is outstanding and just too easy!! I substituted pomegranate juice for the stock, just because I had some, and used honey for sweetening. I ate something very similar to this in Paris last December and it is wonderful to be able to remind myself of that trip! Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      I love pomegranates, and love walnuts too, so I was very excited when I came across this recipe and was eager to try it. That said, I'm not leaving stars, simply because I think I may have done something wrong in preparing it... or maybe it just wasn't to our tastes. We used duck, and made this as directed, but our pomegranate molasses was clearly too sour (even though it didn't say "sour" on the bottle), because even after adding extra sugar it was still way too tart for our liking. We're going to try this again with cubed boneless chicken breasts and a different brand of pomegranate molasses, and see what that does for the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      I have grown up eating fesenjoon, and I have to say this Fesenjoon was tops! I made it today for my Persian uncle & he loved it, it tasted just like his (only mine was better...hahaha)! Great recipe, definitely added to my collection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      This was a very nice dish- I used duck with it, and both the texture and flavor came out well. Plus, the ingredients were ones that I normally have on hand (well, except the duck) so no shopping required!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      This was an interesting dish with a wonderful flavor. I used 2 large chicken breasts cut into 1 inch cubes, marinaded in the juice of a fresh lime. I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg & 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the sauce as it simmered. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      loved this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Persian Chicken or Duck in Pomegranate Walnut Sauce (Fesenjan)

    Serving Size: 1 (348 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1176.3
     
    Calories from Fat 841
    71%
    Total Fat 93.5 g
    143%
    Saturated Fat 23.4 g
    117%
    Cholesterol 245.8 mg
    81%
    Sodium 432.1 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 64.7 g
    129%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pomegranate syrup

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes