Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pernil (Puerto Rican Pork Shoulder) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pernil (Puerto Rican Pork Shoulder)

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2010

      Call it what you want (I know...technically it's Pernil. My boyfriend is Puerto Rican too!) - but I call it the "5 hours of torture roast". It fills the house with such a tantalizing aroma that you swear you will lose your mind obsessing over the timer! Thanks for posting this. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      This was incredibly delicious. I used a small, <3 lb. roast, and marinated it only 3 hours. I used 6 cloves of garlic instead of 12, but the rest of the ingredients were as written. I cooked it at 300 for 3 hours, covered and then at 350 for 45 min. uncovered. Very moist and tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      This is just the best pork recipe I have ever tasted. I followed the directions exactly as stated. I am just not sure what cut of meat I had but it said picnic on it. Even a terrible cook like me could not ruin this roast. Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Oh, INCREDIBLE pork roast. I saw this recipe over on Tasty Kitchen and just made it today, and it is the most perfect pork I have ever eaten. I used half the salt and cooked it in the crockpot on low while we were at work, and it was just swimming in juice and falling apart when we got home. My husband went nuts. He had some on noodles and I had some on a sourdough bun, and we both had to stop ourselves from taking more than we needed. An absolute keeper, and highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Yummers. I made this for a family get together. I made it exactly as posted with no deviation. Once the meat was done, and I had let it cool down, I shredded it with 2 forks, and used it to make Cuban sandwiches. Everyone raved about it. I also had a fat bowl of it once everyone left, hehehe. Oh yeah, and the chicharrone is irresistible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      This was the best pork roast that I ever made! My roast was 4lbs and I cooked for about 3.5 hrs. I followed the recipe except used apple cider vinegar because that's all I had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Wonderful!! Just the way my Puerto Rican Mom cooked this. The only thing I changed was the oregano (I was out ) so I used Italian seasoning instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      This is the BEST pork I have EVER had. My husband said he could just stand there and eat the whole thing. We used the meat to make cuban sandwiches. My husband grew up in Florida and loves cuban sandwiches. I will NEVER use another recipe for pork should again. I marinated this for 2 days (partly because I forgot to put it in the oven before we left for the day...Im so glad that I did!!) THIS IS THE ONE FOR ME!!!!!!!!!! Thank you!! Update: Nov. 8th, 2008 I have continued to make this pork as often as I can. I have made it for my extended family too, sister and her husband and my mom and dad and it has now become (especially my mom) their favorite pork recipe!! Im telling you this has become my sunday pot roast!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

      this is almost exactly how My Grandma (who is born in PR) and I make it, but we add 2 things extra achiote oil and sofrito. To make achiote oil heat olive oil the add annato seeds ( it must turn the color of a sunset)immediately remove seeds. Then sofrito is a more complicated process to those holes. Mmmm...Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      By FAR the best roast pork I have ever had, and I am a roast pork fanatic. Incredibly juicy and flavorful. Make sure to take the foil off to get the skin crisp, it makes all the difference. I make this for everyone now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      I made two pernils following this recipe last thursday, and it was great! I gave one to my parents and the other had it for my family. I followed the directions with just adding a little more garlic, and marinated it for two days. I cooked them at 350 degrees each for 2 and a half ( my pernils were 4.5 pounds) and then i put the temp higher to 450 degrees for another hour to crisp the skin. It came out great! Next time, i will add a packet of sazon for each pernil. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This Pernil was outstanding, was used to make cuban sandwiches the second time I had it and let me tell ya...i was dreaming about cuban sandwiches for days...this was just plain ole' great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This recipe was excellent! The pork was so tender and flavorful. Will definitley make again! and again. The ony thing I did diferently was the amount of time it was cooked, I cooked it at 325 for 3.5 hours ( it was 8 lbs) covered and then broiled it for about 15 minutes wathcing it closely-soooooooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      I am puerto rican and this is the real deal, love the crispi skin ( chicharron) the trick , is never turn the pork. Leave it alone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Great! A 4 1/2 lb. boneless shoulder roast that only got about an hour of marinating time (with lime juice substituted for the vinegar) turned out VERY nicely! Thank you! Oh, and it was done in about 2 1/2-3 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      THIS IS EXCELLENT!!!! The first time I used a 4-pound pork shoulder, cut the ingredients in half and used one tsp of salt per pound. The bottom of the shoulder it was a little salty. The second shoulder was 9 pounds and came out beautifully! Everyone loved this, even my daughter who does not like pork had to try this after hearing all the raves & she could not believe how delicious it was. Absolutely will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      This is delicious! Wow! I love the garlic and didn't even make any changes. I'm usually adding more garlic to everything, but this was just right. I left it sit for 2 days in the coldest part of the fridge. My butter kinda reeks now, but man this was good. It was great to have the oven warming the house all day too. Served on wheat rolls with mustard and pickle. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Excellent! I love the cripy outside and how tender it is on the inside. Can't wait to make sandwiches for tomorrow lunch. Thank you for a great recipe. Made for PAC 08

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Great recipe! I modified it just a touch, using thyme instead of oregano. I marinated it for about 12-14 hours, then cooked it on low in my crockpot for 6 hours. For moisture, I added 1/4 of a hard cider beer. When done, I shredded it with a fork and put it back in its juices and kept it on warm until I was ready to serve. Served with mango salsa and flax seed chips. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      This is a great new way of using pork..I marinated it for 2 days in the refrigerator..I used recipe as is,no changes. The entire house smelled wonderful while this was cooking. The meat was so tender and juicy it just fell off the bone....We like sauces on our pork pulled sandwiches and I decide to try #31020 Pig pickin pork sauce. I just spooned 1 tblsp over a high pile of sandwich meat,it was just enough without being too vinegary,added to this meat,didnt distract from the meat flavor.I also made #113542 Southern style baked beans,these were definitely the best, Ive had,my husband couldnt get enough of them.I will definitely be making these baked beans alot...Also made #94423 Roasted nugget potatoes.I used red potatoes. Nice spicy flavor.And for dessert #37143 Easy Dutch Apple Pie. A wonderful end to a great meal..I would add a dash of cinnamon next time..Great with vanilla ice cream...All these recipes have been laminated..Thank U.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pernil (Puerto Rican Pork Shoulder)

    Serving Size: 1 (3801 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 8991.8
     
    Calories from Fat 6242
    69%
    Total Fat 693.6 g
    1067%
    Saturated Fat 232.1 g
    1160%
    Cholesterol 2576.4 mg
    858%
    Sodium 20972.3 mg
    873%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 625.9 g
    1251%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites