28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I will never buy taco seasoning again. I do add at least a tsp of cummin as well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yarnwrangler September 04, 2009

Tastes great! Added 1 tsp cumin plus a small can of tomato sauce along with a 1/4 cup water and let simmer...mmmm!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michellew March 20, 2013

We really liked this. It was a nice homey kind of Taco meat. With all your fixings, this is a new fave! I added 1 tsp cumin, went with 2 tsp chili and added a titch more oregano. Definite keeper for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo October 21, 2011

this recipe was exactly what I was looking for. I added the cumin and also added a small can of El Patio brand Jalapeno sauce. It's delicious. Made this in less than 30 minutes for my boyfriend on his lunch break and we smashed out over 1/2 the meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
inkmeinpink September 01, 2011

I wanted so much for this to be what I was looking for but it was not. I found it suprisingly unflavorful. I added another teaspoon of chili powder and a half teaspoon of cumin, still bland. To me a taco meat is the base that has to hold the flavor of whatever your making with it. I actually went to the pantry and got out a pack of taco seasoning and added a bit to try to help this, but sadly no. Maybe it's because I live in Texas and I am looking for the perfect Tex Mex taco meat, I'm not sure. Regardless, I won't be making this again. I normally won't leave a review that is uncomplimentary, but because this recipe has so many stars I know that it won't hurt the rating of this dish. I just want my opinion shown for others who are searching for whatever they are searching for.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katchick July 23, 2010

Made a few changes...I added extra spices, a cup of salsa and threw it in the crockpot for the day. It turned out really well. It was a hit with the family. It's nice to be able to use spices from home instead of a package. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dizzy lizzie February 09, 2010

Perfect. Didn't change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ervigile January 30, 2010

My family and I really enjoyed this recipe also. I made it for the first time tonight (made as directed except added 1/2 tsp cumin) and it turned out delicious. My 7-yr old, who is typically a picky eater, declared it "fabulous"! Will definitely keep this one in my cookbook. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
musubi mama January 18, 2010

This was a really good recipe. Nice change from same old taco seasoning packet. I added in some cumin, canned chilis, and salsa 'cause I was making chimichangas. Will definitely make this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crystal W September 21, 2009

I make this all the time - with chicken, with turkey, with anything! Always add a little extra cumin to my taste (as well as fresh garlic). This is a dish that everyone should make when having tacos!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sparkawk July 01, 2009
Perfectly Seasoned Taco Meat