40 Reviews

Great recipe! I tend to like a very rich chocolate flavor and not so sweet so I cut sugar in half and one of the three teaspoons of cocoa I used the Special Dark Cocoa. Next time I may even cut the sugar a bit more as it was still quite sweet for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiggergab January 16, 2012

This makes a great cup of hot cocoa. I used about 2 & 1/2 t. of the cocoa and 2 T. splenda. It turned out delicious and richly chocolate. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood May 05, 2011

Just the ticket to satisfy a hot chocolate craving quickly! Made as written, only on the stovetop and using soy milk. Will try with stevia next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner March 06, 2011

What a great mug of cocoa Manami. We really enjoyed this dark, rich and creamy, decadent treat. I used the 3 tsp option and made exactly as written for my dh, I added freshly ground spices to my mug of cocoa... Mixed Spice - Traditional Old Fashioned English Pudding Spice. Both mugs were garnished with whipped cream and a sprinkle of spices. Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 19, 2011

Add 5 more stars from me. It's May 1st and it's snowing here! What could be better than a great cocoa. Made using 50% each skim and far free evaporated milks, Splenda and double Dutch dark cocoa (and a splash of Baileys). Outstanding!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia May 01, 2010

I made this for my DH after coming in from snowblowing the snow. He said it was a lot better then the packets of cocoa and I liked that it made one serving at a time. Made my cup later with a splash of almond extract and enjoyed that too. Made and reviewed for Comfort Cafe Event - January 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 February 04, 2010

Mmm Mmm Good. Great bedtime drink. Made using the 3 teaspoons of cocoa. Thanks so much for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl January 09, 2010

Excellent! I used 3 tsp cocoa, added a tsp of powdered milk and reduced the Splenda to 1 tbsp. Thank you for sharing. Made for Comfort Cafe- Snow Queen Round 01/10.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario January 01, 2010

Drinking this right now, it is very good. I did the rich variation with the extra cocoa. A good rule of thumb with any milk based drink is to make it with whatever you are used to drinking/using for the best taste to you. I used 2%. I did end up heating it a little longer after it was all mixed up, just because I like my hot chocolate REALLY hot, just about 30 extra seconds. If you are serving to company add some whipped cream on top, and sprinkle with a little extra cocoa for that extra little bit of presentation. Good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starflower December 22, 2009

Awesome! I used rice milk and Stevia since I can't have dairy or sugar and it was awesome, rich and chocolately!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klkscanner December 19, 2009
Perfectly Chocolate Hershey's Hot Cocoa