Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Vodka Sauce With Prosciutto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Vodka Sauce With Prosciutto

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2011

      This vodka sauce is delicious! I made it for the holidays for my family....including my 5 picky children! They do not like lumps in their sauce, so I used tomato puree as a substitute and light cream instead of heavy. I also love Barilla pasta and since we are trying to eat healthier for the new year, I've been using Barilla Plus multigrain penne.......sooo good!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      In my opinion, this is a 10 star vodka sauce recipe. The best I've tried by a LONG shot!! I used about 3 tablespoons of EVOO and doubled the garlic. I added a few shakes of crushed red peppers and increased the tomatoes a bit. I doubled the prosciutto (for my meat loving husband) and used 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the heavy cream. UNBELIEVABLE!!! This goes into my top 10 italian pasta recipes of all time. Deosn't seem like it should, given the ingredients...but if you follow the directions and cooking time, the melding of flavors is insane. This is definitely company worthy as well. Served this over rotini pasta alongside a romaine salad. There wasn't a drop left. Will make this weekly for sure. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2003

      Bethany, this is a very tasty sauce! I followed your directions to the letter and was rewarded with a very yummy dinner. I tossed it with mini penne and for the first time in a long time, I didn't even add any cheese. The next day, the leftovers were just as good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2003

      5 STARS!!! Wonderful flavor - rich and smooth, not overpowering! I substituted 1 lb of shrimp for the prosciutto, and it came out wonderful! I posted a pic of the final product! Fantastic flavor and consistancy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      Great Vodka Sauce! I used to go to this one Italian place here in NJ every Friday night for yrs. I became good friends w/the owners (who were from Italy) their Vodka Sauce was exactly like this except they used peas in their sauce as well. If you love peas, try adding them to this. They moved away and closed the Restaurant years back but I will never forget that Vodka sauce. This one is pretty close (just add the peas!) my Mom is 100% Italian and our family recipe for the Vodka sauce is a bit different. I like this one better (sorry Mom!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      Better than the restaurants! I followed everyone's advice and halved the oil and I used part cream part milk. Best vodka sauce I've had, no more jar sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      true...a perfect sauce! I have made it several times and every time it was a hit.Once I made it with sliced porto bello mushrooms,once with shrimp and once with prosciutto,my favorite was with the shrimp I must say. I used 4 Tbsp. olive-oil.I like to use the roma tomatoes,peeled and seeded them,it is worth the extra trouble since you will get a wonderfull smooth sauce this way.I will defently make this sauce often,thank you very much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      This was sooooo good! I usually cheat and buy the jar Vodka Sauce but now I see the difference. The only changes I made were only 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 extra garlic clove (because we like garlic), no prosciutto (didn't have any) and I sprinkled some parmesan cheese in at the end. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      This was a really good vodka sauce!! I made it with shrimp and also followed others opinion on cutting the oil to 2 Tbsp. I also added some red pepper flakes. thanks for a great recipe!! I wanted to add one more thing, I made this again using a different vodka and felt it altered the taste. So i made again with the same vodka I originally used. I used Svedka vodka..it def made a difference. We love it with Svedka!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I too used less oil and it was FANTASTIC!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      I love this recipe, as does my family. I add 1-2 packets of Splenda. I'm not a fantastic cook and not a horrible cook, but I get rave reviews on this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Great sauce! I've made it twice now. First time with prosciutto and tonight with shrimp. As plum tomatoes are rock hard and tasteless right now I used canned, diced tomatoes, about 3 tbsp oil and the suggested amount of butter. Tonight the tomatoes were a bit more acidic so I added 1 tsp of sugar. Everything else was as posted including the Barilla :) I love how fresh tasting it is - not at all heavy even with the cream. DH was happily engaged and when asked if it was good said "Oh...it's really, really nice. Enough left for lunch tomorrow. Hurray! Thanks Newspapergal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      I used less oil as well. Otherwise pretty much followed the directions. Turned out great. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      My family thought there was too much basil. We added a bunch of italian cheeses and spinach to the leftovers and that was pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

    • on October 19, 2007

      Great sauce. I cut back on the prosciutto and added chicken, but otherwise stuck to the recipe and it was fantastic. Easy too. Thanks for the share!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      The only thing I changed was I used fat free half and half in place of the heavy cream - still a great sauce - my son had three helpings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      Really great sauce! Very easy to prepare, too. The one critique my family gave was to use just the slightest bit less basil. They said it verged on overpowering. Besides that I have no complaints. Everyone also loved eating it on French bread when their pasta was gone. 5 star quality without a doubt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      Excellent dish, very creamy and smooth. Perhaps something spicy in addition to the base recipe would be good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      outstanding and quite easy to prepare. I will try it with scallops next! A definate keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Vodka Sauce With Prosciutto

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 351.9
     
    Calories from Fat 229
    65%
    Total Fat 25.5 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 15.6 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 89.1 mg
    29%
    Sodium 58.2 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    prosciutto

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes