29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This vodka sauce is delicious! I made it for the holidays for my family....including my 5 picky children! They do not like lumps in their sauce, so I used tomato puree as a substitute and light cream instead of heavy. I also love Barilla pasta and since we are trying to eat healthier for the new year, I've been using Barilla Plus multigrain penne.......sooo good!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angelie122 January 01, 2011

In my opinion, this is a 10 star vodka sauce recipe. The best I've tried by a LONG shot!! I used about 3 tablespoons of EVOO and doubled the garlic. I added a few shakes of crushed red peppers and increased the tomatoes a bit. I doubled the prosciutto (for my meat loving husband) and used 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the heavy cream. UNBELIEVABLE!!! This goes into my top 10 italian pasta recipes of all time. Deosn't seem like it should, given the ingredients...but if you follow the directions and cooking time, the melding of flavors is insane. This is definitely company worthy as well. Served this over rotini pasta alongside a romaine salad. There wasn't a drop left. Will make this weekly for sure. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl October 26, 2010

Bethany, this is a very tasty sauce! I followed your directions to the letter and was rewarded with a very yummy dinner. I tossed it with mini penne and for the first time in a long time, I didn't even add any cheese. The next day, the leftovers were just as good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malriah August 16, 2003

5 STARS!!! Wonderful flavor - rich and smooth, not overpowering! I substituted 1 lb of shrimp for the prosciutto, and it came out wonderful! I posted a pic of the final product! Fantastic flavor and consistancy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
][shmael July 26, 2003

Great Vodka Sauce! I used to go to this one Italian place here in NJ every Friday night for yrs. I became good friends w/the owners (who were from Italy) their Vodka Sauce was exactly like this except they used peas in their sauce as well. If you love peas, try adding them to this. They moved away and closed the Restaurant years back but I will never forget that Vodka sauce. This one is pretty close (just add the peas!) my Mom is 100% Italian and our family recipe for the Vodka sauce is a bit different. I like this one better (sorry Mom!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D. Rose January 08, 2011

Better than the restaurants! I followed everyone's advice and halved the oil and I used part cream part milk. Best vodka sauce I've had, no more jar sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjayling1 November 08, 2010

true...a perfect sauce! I have made it several times and every time it was a hit.Once I made it with sliced porto bello mushrooms,once with shrimp and once with prosciutto,my favorite was with the shrimp I must say. I used 4 Tbsp. olive-oil.I like to use the roma tomatoes,peeled and seeded them,it is worth the extra trouble since you will get a wonderfull smooth sauce this way.I will defently make this sauce often,thank you very much for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Els April 25, 2010

This was sooooo good! I usually cheat and buy the jar Vodka Sauce but now I see the difference. The only changes I made were only 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 extra garlic clove (because we like garlic), no prosciutto (didn't have any) and I sprinkled some parmesan cheese in at the end. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFitz April 14, 2010

This was a really good vodka sauce!! I made it with shrimp and also followed others opinion on cutting the oil to 2 Tbsp. I also added some red pepper flakes. thanks for a great recipe!! I wanted to add one more thing, I made this again using a different vodka and felt it altered the taste. So i made again with the same vodka I originally used. I used Svedka vodka..it def made a difference. We love it with Svedka!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hope2day January 29, 2010

I too used less oil and it was FANTASTIC!! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twomoonjct November 29, 2009
Perfect Vodka Sauce With Prosciutto