Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Turkey in an Electric Roaster Oven Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Turkey in an Electric Roaster Oven

    Average Rating:

    93 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 93

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2011

      I was very nervous about cooking a turkey in an electric roaster. However, the turkey turned out better than expected. I was told best turkey ever! The only thing I would have done differently because my roasting lid was a little warped (lid didn't fit properly )I should have used a little foil to close some of the gaps. I cooked a 20.5 lb butterball turkey. put butter under the skin. Some garlic,onion and an apple in the cavity. I used olive oil, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper on top of the skin. Most people in my family dislike sage, an ingredient in poultry seasoning. in 4 hrs 15min the turkey was done to perfection. I let it rest for 20min. so juicy. Still too hot to cut ( the breat was shredding.so we had to let it cool a little longer.( My mother in law said that when turkey is too hot it will tend to shred instead of slice.) After cooling a bit longer it sliced perfectly. I had tons and tons of gravy! best gravy ever! I even bought back up gravy. never had to touch it. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I had room in my oven for everything else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      This was my first time using a Roaster Oven to cook our turkey. I was worried about it so I went looking for tips on the net. So glad I found your recipe!!! I followed it exactly, stuffed the inside of the turkey with onions, fresh rosemary and sage and rubbed the outside with olive oil and butter, salt and pepper. I resisited the urge to lift the lid and check on it. (That was hard to do!! lol) At 4 hours (had an almost 18 pounder) I checked and the thermometer had popped and it was done! The meat fell off the bones! Everyone loved it. The skin was nice and brown and crisp. I will never cook another turkey in the oven again. Now I just have to find a place to store this huge roaster oven! ;o) Thanks for a GREAT recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      Flawless and effortless compared to the usual oven method! I'm literally eating this turkey as I type. Tender, juicy, perfect. Two tips: If you want vegetables (I do quartered onions, small red potatoes, and carrots) with the turkey, make sure they are on top of the wire rack with the turkey, otherwise, as the turkey juices fill up the bottom of the roaster pan during cooking, the veggies will become completely saturated with bird grease. Second, the whole "tenting with foil" business isn't needed. Just let the turkey cool down in the roaster itself, which is basically a rather solid metal tent; no need to waste foil. Anyway, thanks for the superb recipe/instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      OMG... The Best Turkey I've ever had!.. I never even cared or turkey that much unless it was slathered in gravy but I brined my turkey for two days using a citrus brine; I used this method and stuffed my turkey with lemons, limes, onion and a couples sprigs of fresh rosemary! I could not stop picking on the turkey when it came out of the oven; my hubby agreed. It was even moist in the white meat. My recommendation is to use a brine and then use your roaster oven for a beautiful browned turkey that needs no basting and is juicy and delicious!.. For a 15lb bird I cooked 3 1/2 hours total and let rest for 30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2013

      Oh Em Gee - I will not cook another turkey in the big oven - from now on it's going in the roaster oven! I've cooked many a turkey in my 59 years and I have to say, this one was awesome. The ONLY thing it lacked was more crispy brown skin, but there was enough, on the parts closest to the oven walls, to keep me happy. The meat was so moist and tender and yet pulled right away from the bones.

      I followed the instructions pretty much as given, putting one halved onion and one halved lemon in the cavity. I used olive oil, garlic salt, a little crushed dried thyme, and some coarsely ground black pepper for seasoning. Started it at 450* (as high as my roaster goes) and set a timer for 30 minutes, then turned down to 325* and set the timer for 3 hours and 30 minutes, for my unstuffed 18 pound bird.

      Well I did check it after 3 hours and that sucka was DONE! Checked it in several spots with my instant-read thermometer and it was cooked through, and the meat pulling away from the leg bones. Since it was only 4 pm, I turned off the roaster, sucked out some of the wealth of luscious juice so the turkey wasn't sitting in it (it had risen very slightly above the rack) and let it sit til we were ready to eat about 5:15. I made the best gravy with that juice from the pan too.

      DH who LOVES his turkey asked me to please come in here and give highest praise to Squirrel Gone Wild on this one! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      I've had a lot of trouble with turkeys in the roaster oven in the past, but we followed this recipe exactly and were thrilled with the results. Cooked two turkeys yesterday -- one in a fryer and one in the roaster per this recipe. Both were good, but it was the roast turkey that was completely gone. I had always thought you needed to add liquid and baste, but the "dry" method recommended yielded a moist and delicious tureky. Our 18 lb stuffed turkey did require the longer of the cooking time range recommended. I will never get stressed about making a turkey again -- easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      Every year around June/July I start craving turkey! I had gotten a new roaster and really wanted to try it so I went in search of an amazing recipe, boy did I find it! It was easy, took very little time, and after having to restrain myself of the hourly desire to "peek" in on my bird, easy to make! The meat retained so much of it's juice that it just fell apart! I have sent this recipe to friends so that their Thanksgiving Feasts can turn out perfect! Thank You for sharing this with us!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      Perfect!! I was nervous as well about cooking it on high and not putting any liquid in the pan. I had my parents over for dinner and used this recipe. Everyone was super impressed (including myself). So impressed, my parents want a turkey roaster! The turkey was delicious and moist and cooking it was effortless. I never opened the roaster, not even to peek, and after 4 hours it was done perfectly. I will use this recipe every single time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      I love you for posting this! I've used it the past 3 years since I received a GE roaster oven for Christmas, and I've always had a perfect bird. I can't believe I haven't taken the time to give it the 5 star rating that it deserves! I brine my bird with Turkey Brine (with garlic cloves and fresh rosemary added) the night before, and follow your recipe exactly (with stuffing), and it is great. I have always added about an inch of chicken broth to the bottom of the pan because I was afraid of the bird drying out, and I've never had a problem. I've also never had a problem with the skin browning. love that it frees up my oven so I can make other items. Thank you again for posting! I don't know what I would do without this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      This is a fairly accurate set of instructions. I purchased my oven roaster in January 2012. A Hamilton Beach 18 qt Rival model. I cooked a 17.8 lb turkey following the instructions provided, up to step 11. It's important to note that with with modern roasters they can cook up to 30% faster. Using TWO electronic thermometers, I placed one in the breast and one in the thigh and cooked my turkey Feb. 11 2012. I set both thermometers for 165 and when both went off, I let the turkey sit for an additional 30 mins and then turned off the oven. I let the turkey rest for a solid hour in a separate roaster and it was still hot when we sat to eat.
      The turkey was PERFECT. Amazingly moist and flavorful. Extremely tender, and here's the great part, for DAYS! The leftovers when reheated stayed very moist and tender. I will never use a conventional oven to cook a turkey again. Thank goodness for this recipe--it was a HUGE help for my first time cooking a turkey in an electric roaster. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      So I have had a Turkey Roaster for a couple years now... and never used it. It is the GE one that goes to 450. I followed the instructions pretty much as stated. Our turkey was only a 5.1Kg (about 10.5 lbs) And it was done in two hours. I stuffed it with onions and apples, and seasoned it with Poultry seasoning and Essence (the Bam! stuff) on the inside. Rubbed it down with oil and Essence'd the outside. http://www.food.com/recipe/emerils-essence-5031 Have to say that this was one of the best turkeys I have ever done. Normally I season some butter and put it under the skin, but I simply didn't need to. Bird was -Completely- Thawed when cooking began and I didn't pre-heat the oven. Stuck it in for about 40 minutes on 450, then turned down to 325. I don't trust those pop up things. So I used my normal corded thermometer. And when she hit 165-170, I shut it off. Allthough it only took two hours and we were having supper a bit early, I will know for next time to time it better. (Have a second turkey that is awaiting my attention in a few months. :P) But thanks so much for the guidelines. Recipe will be used again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      I have used my oven roaster for Ham as well as Turkey and both have turned out AWESOME. We went camping for thanksgiving (Canada) and I brought my roaster and cooked the turkey it very very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      I wanted to thank you for an easy day! I had been stressed about making the turkey in a roaster, but then found your recipe. I followed the directions exactly. Didn't peak one time until the cooking time was up. PERFECT! I used more spices in preparing it and put lots more under the skin with chunks of butter. (garlic powder, paprika, sage, poultry seasoning, salt and pepper) I put 2 cut up lemons inside with fresh sage, onions and a bell pepper. It was so moist and browned perfectly! Listen to her people! Don't peak! Leave that lid on! It is doing whats it is supposed to do under there! Thanks again! Will never put one in the oven again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      I used this recipe and it worked great!! Thank you so much! The turkey was golden brown and very juicy. Only took 4.5 hours for a 22 pound turkey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      I've had several unsuccessful attempts at making a moist and delicious turkey until trying this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      I followed this recipe as written, used olive oil and it came out fantastic, thank you for sharing!!!! I will always roast my turkey in my roaster oven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      WARNING--WATCH TIMING. I was excited to find this recipe for my Nesco roaster. With a targeted eating time of noon, I followed the directions to the letter. Put my 18 pound turkey in at 7:30 am at 450 degrees for 30 minutes and then reduced the temp to 350. I was using a remote meat thermometer that goes off when the breast hit 160. My husband and I both had a "deer in the headlights" moment when at 9:00 am the thermometer started beeping. Assuming the thermometer wasn't working properly, I used my instant read thermometer at various locations. Sure enough--the turkey was done at 9am. Gulp. I was concerned that the leg and things weren't done enough so I cut them from the bird and returned to roaster pan for an additional hour at 300 degrees. I wrapped the rest do the bird in foil to keep warm. It actually worked out well. The meat stayed warm and was easy to slice and not dried out. Will definitely will use the Nesco again but will adjust the timing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      I used this recipe (almost) to the exact instructions. The only thing I did was after rubbing olive oil on the turkey, I put about a tablespoon of Kitchen Bouquet in my hands and rubbed the skin of the turkey. I was nervous about not having brown crispy skin. Well, I patiently waited for the 4.5 hours and never peeked. It was without a doubt the best turkey I have ever made (I've been making Thanksgiving dinner for at least 40 years now). The skin was brown and crisp. The stuffing was oozing out perfectly and the meat was tender and juicy. Squirrel Gone Wild...thanks ever so much for posting and taking the time to share you great recipe. BTW, I borrowed the roaster from a friend who swore by it...I almost chicken out (no pun intended) but say what the heck....I bought a ham in case the turkey was a bust. The ham was a bonus...but the turkey was the star (5 Stars!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      Thank you much in sharing your recipe on cooking a turkey in a roaster oven. It was my first time cooking a turkey for my family and with out your recipe I would not have been successful as I was cooking the turkey. The recipe and the directions and how long it took was perfect in every way so thank so much in sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      Thank you sooooo much! I just hosted Thanksgiving for my husband's family, and I was in charge of making the turkey. I've never done it before, so I was nervous. I followed the instructions exactly and it turned out fantastic!! Everyone was very complimentary. The most common thing I heard was that is was so moist and tender. My husband doesn't like turkey at all - he always says it is just too dry. Well, he had multiple servings and said he was very surprised at how juicy it was. Thanks so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Turkey in an Electric Roaster Oven

    Serving Size: 1 (324 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 542.8
     
    Calories from Fat 261
    48%
    Total Fat 29.0 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 218.0 mg
    72%
    Sodium 208.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 65.4 g
    130%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites