23 Reviews

I refuse to give stars because I have not tried it your way, but I'm sure it's 5-star!! I ADORE roast potatoes. These are just my observations, not criticisms: a lot depends on the TYPE of potato. I like to cook the right kind (usually yellow) until they're tender and flake slightly on the outside. Then I transfer to an oven dish and drizzle over the oil. I do not add salt at this stage, as with some kinds of potato salt prevents them from crisping. I COULD MAKE A MEAL OF A BOWL OF ROAST POTATOES!! Thanks!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie September 14, 2005

Not much of a "recipe"! The biggest challenge is the correct ingredients.... The recipe does not suggest which type of potato, russet/ Idaho/ yukons etc. Does not provide oil recommendations, in fact hardly a "recipe" at all. Shame on you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ace A. December 07, 2015

Great love it all, but back in the early 50s my mum would grease a pan with lard,heat it up and just place the spuds in it (not par-boil them) and cook for 1hr-40mins (350), checking and spooning the oil over them. I still do it to this day and my wife loves them and she is American.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David A. December 10, 2014

These roasted potatoes are the bomb. They were perfection. Quick and easy to make with excellent results. Crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. They were beautifully golden with a little crust, love that. Simple ingredients, quick and easy to make with excellent results. These are just like my Welsh grandma use to make. Thank you for sharing a recipe that we will enjoy again and again. Made for Whats on the Menu tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato October 01, 2014

This recipe is exquisite. The potatoes are soft on the inside and crispy on the outside. Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
natasha8642 December 25, 2011

Outstanding potatoes. My boyfriend thought they were out of this world too, and is trying to figure out a way to get me to make these all the time. These are absolutely on par with the roast potatoes my English mother and grandmother make, and are straightforward enough that I could get them right every time. Thanks so much for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Torricus October 15, 2011

Simple, easy, delicious traditional potatoes. Came out crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. Nice tip about roughing them up abit as it seems to have made all the difference (my previous attempts at traditional roast potatoes havent been so great). You'd have to make a serious silly mistake for this method to go wrong. Also, can easily be adapted by just adding herb of choice. Likey very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bhu January 21, 2011

I am not going to give this any stars until I make them again. I parboiled them too long, didn't let them dry enough, and had them on low of a temperature setting. In spite of all that when I served them people asked for the recipe. No one else knew what they should have been like and the taste was great, but I don't think I should rate the recipe until I have corrected my mistakes and done them according to the recipe. I have made these several times since I first rated them but I forgot to come back and give them the stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Maria #2 May 05, 2010

In my haste to make this, I forgot to parboil my potatoes. Baked them for 60 mins, turning once every 20 mins, and the potatoes were really crispy, a tad too crispy I would say. My daughter loves this, so I would make it again, and I would make sure to parboil them to see if they are even better then. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids April 21, 2010
Perfect Traditionally English Roast Potatoes