Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Traditionally English Roast Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Traditionally English Roast Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on September 14, 2005

      I refuse to give stars because I have not tried it your way, but I'm sure it's 5-star!! I ADORE roast potatoes. These are just my observations, not criticisms: a lot depends on the TYPE of potato. I like to cook the right kind (usually yellow) until they're tender and flake slightly on the outside. Then I transfer to an oven dish and drizzle over the oil. I do not add salt at this stage, as with some kinds of potato salt prevents them from crisping. I COULD MAKE A MEAL OF A BOWL OF ROAST POTATOES!! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2014

      Great love it all, but back in the early 50s my mum would grease a pan with lard,heat it up and just place the spuds in it (not par-boil them) and cook for 1hr-40mins (350), checking and spooning the oil over them. I still do it to this day and my wife loves them and she is American.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2014

      These roasted potatoes are the bomb. They were perfection. Quick and easy to make with excellent results. Crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. They were beautifully golden with a little crust, love that. Simple ingredients, quick and easy to make with excellent results. These are just like my Welsh grandma use to make. Thank you for sharing a recipe that we will enjoy again and again. Made for Whats on the Menu tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      This recipe is exquisite. The potatoes are soft on the inside and crispy on the outside. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      Outstanding potatoes. My boyfriend thought they were out of this world too, and is trying to figure out a way to get me to make these all the time. These are absolutely on par with the roast potatoes my English mother and grandmother make, and are straightforward enough that I could get them right every time. Thanks so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      Simple, easy, delicious traditional potatoes. Came out crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. Nice tip about roughing them up abit as it seems to have made all the difference (my previous attempts at traditional roast potatoes havent been so great). You'd have to make a serious silly mistake for this method to go wrong. Also, can easily be adapted by just adding herb of choice. Likey very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

    • on May 05, 2010

      I am not going to give this any stars until I make them again. I parboiled them too long, didn't let them dry enough, and had them on low of a temperature setting. In spite of all that when I served them people asked for the recipe. No one else knew what they should have been like and the taste was great, but I don't think I should rate the recipe until I have corrected my mistakes and done them according to the recipe. I have made these several times since I first rated them but I forgot to come back and give them the stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      In my haste to make this, I forgot to parboil my potatoes. Baked them for 60 mins, turning once every 20 mins, and the potatoes were really crispy, a tad too crispy I would say. My daughter loves this, so I would make it again, and I would make sure to parboil them to see if they are even better then. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Fabulous! So tasty & crispy!! They take some extra time but are so worth it. I put the leftovers in the oven to warm up the next night and they tasted just as great the second time around. I did, however, reduce the amount of salt & pepper by about 1/4 & still found it to be plenty of seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      Just like my granny's "roasties"! We absolutely adored these! Served them with roast beef and gravy. Thank you Kellogs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      These potatoes are absolutely delicious!! My family asks for them as...."THOSE potatoes"!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      My Dad made these most Sundays with our roast. Absolutely lovely! Try them with a Guinness stew. Sublime....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      These are realy good. I did have to cook a little longer than required. My oven perhaps. Its always been a litle screwy. Will definately make again, maybe even tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      Basically, these are awesome. They take a little more work than I am used to for simple potatoes but the outcome is well worth it. Try them. You are gonna like them. You might even want to get a little creative and add some cayanne pepper or rosemary or something to add another layer to the flavor. In the words of my boyfriend "you can make these potatoes with every meal."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      Tonight is the third time I'm making these -- in just 5 days! My family is crazy about the perfect crispiness, and you're right about shaking them to achieve that. I've added in chopped chives and minced garlic, then sprinkled them with freshly grated Parmesan cheese tonight to shake things up. They're delish! Thank you, Kellogs (from another homeschooler)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      Yes, shaking the tators in the colander was the key! These were easy and tasted great and what a different potatoe dish. Thanks for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      YUM YUM YUMMY!!!! Absolutely pwerfect as described. Instructions so easy and wow I finallly got perfectly crispy and cooked potatoes. My Dh who is quite a perfectionist when it comes to food reved about them. Definitely a winner and keeper. THANKS SOOOOO mUCH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      Perfect roasties, golden and crispy, just as you promised! These are just like the ones my mum made every Sunday when I was a child! Kellogs, as you mentioned, the trick is to rough up the potatoes after par-boiling. They vanished in no time, as everyone came back into the kitchen with their plates, asking for "More roast potatoes!" DELICIOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Traditionally English Roast Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (777 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 817.8
     
    Calories from Fat 252
    30%
    Total Fat 28.0 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3533.1 mg
    147%
    Total Carbohydrate 131.1 g
    43%
    Dietary Fiber 17.1 g
    68%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    23%
    Protein 15.2 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes