12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is now my favorite way to do steaks! The beef tenderloin is soooo delicious this way! I've made it three times now for my family. Love love love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 19, 2015

Seriously good steak, the roasted garlic mushrooms are fab!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare February 17, 2013

This recipe is fabulous!! I think the roasted garlic made a big difference, in contrast to an earlier review. I just put it in the oven earlier in the day while I was working, and the flavor was wonderful! This recipe is so rich and so flavorful, I can find no fault. I served with fresh carrots and fresh broccoli to cut the richness of the meat and mushrooms. Will make again and again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debdenney July 05, 2011

We made the recipe exactly as posted and thought it was nice. I'm not sure about the illegal religious experience part--I've tried a few other brandy and mushroom based filet recipes that I like just as well if not better that are less time consuming, but we did think it was good. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny April 14, 2009

The author is seriously not kidding about illegal religious experiences. The only thing I changed when I made this was to replace the brandy with red wine; I had a bottle open for drinking with dinner anyway. Next time I make it, though, I'm going to replace the roasted garlic with the jarred minced sort - not because I thought it was bad or anything, but merely because I felt it didn't make a huge enough difference to warrant the hour it made me wait to snarf this stuff down. NOM NOM NOM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamma February 13, 2008

We made it per the recipe exactly and we loved it. Comfort food!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Popocro May 04, 2007

Excellent!! It would have to be to make me even think about grilling outside in the middle of January in Canada! Used dry sherry for the mushrooms as I didn't have brandy, and it was a good sub. Finished off the steaks for about 10 minutes in the oven as they were closer to 2 inches thick(cut my own from a whole beef tenderloin I keep tucked away in the freezer). Thanks so much..Janet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan in Lanark January 08, 2006

EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT. I, too, omitted the salt ingredient; other ingredients in the recipe contain sodium which is sufficient for my purposes. I do like cracked black pepper, however. Whenever I roast a whole head of garlic, the aroma is condusive to opening up one's appetite. Poured the garlic oil over the meat; grilled the steak on high heat for no more than 5 minutes, each side, let it sit for 5 minutes, then served it "rare" with the mushrooms; many, many, mushrooms (a mix of cremini and sliced portobello). Pellerin, you will be happy to learn that I do not purchase steaks from a super market. I cooked a "cowboy steak", which is an organic, trimmed, prime rib, 2 inches thick and ever so tender. Followed the recipe exactly and served up a fine succulent, restaurant quality dinner. Thank you once again, Pellerin; dessert was your 4th of July Fruit Parfait #128152. You have been a good adoptee in the PAC game/ 2005. I think we shall keep you, and your steak recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TOOLBELT DIVA October 15, 2005

WOW. Great mushrooms. I followed all the directions except I grilled my filet mignon and then let it rest for 5 minutes with the mushrooms on top. What a great flavor. I also doubled the roasted garlic. Wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ August 27, 2005

Pellerin.... Bullseye! Truly outstanding. The mushrooms were fantastic. I did triple the the amount of roasted garlic. Utterly sublime and as good as it gets. Steakhouses would do well to copy your work!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Whistle July 19, 2005
Perfect Tenderloin Steak / Filets With Mushrooms