Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Tenderloin Steak / Filets With Mushrooms Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Tenderloin Steak / Filets With Mushrooms

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2013

      Seriously good steak, the roasted garlic mushrooms are fab!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      This recipe is fabulous!! I think the roasted garlic made a big difference, in contrast to an earlier review. I just put it in the oven earlier in the day while I was working, and the flavor was wonderful! This recipe is so rich and so flavorful, I can find no fault. I served with fresh carrots and fresh broccoli to cut the richness of the meat and mushrooms. Will make again and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      We made the recipe exactly as posted and thought it was nice. I'm not sure about the illegal religious experience part--I've tried a few other brandy and mushroom based filet recipes that I like just as well if not better that are less time consuming, but we did think it was good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      The author is seriously not kidding about illegal religious experiences. The only thing I changed when I made this was to replace the brandy with red wine; I had a bottle open for drinking with dinner anyway. Next time I make it, though, I'm going to replace the roasted garlic with the jarred minced sort - not because I thought it was bad or anything, but merely because I felt it didn't make a huge enough difference to warrant the hour it made me wait to snarf this stuff down. NOM NOM NOM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      We made it per the recipe exactly and we loved it. Comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      Excellent!! It would have to be to make me even think about grilling outside in the middle of January in Canada! Used dry sherry for the mushrooms as I didn't have brandy, and it was a good sub. Finished off the steaks for about 10 minutes in the oven as they were closer to 2 inches thick(cut my own from a whole beef tenderloin I keep tucked away in the freezer). Thanks so much..Janet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT. I, too, omitted the salt ingredient; other ingredients in the recipe contain sodium which is sufficient for my purposes. I do like cracked black pepper, however. Whenever I roast a whole head of garlic, the aroma is condusive to opening up one's appetite. Poured the garlic oil over the meat; grilled the steak on high heat for no more than 5 minutes, each side, let it sit for 5 minutes, then served it "rare" with the mushrooms; many, many, mushrooms (a mix of cremini and sliced portobello). Pellerin, you will be happy to learn that I do not purchase steaks from a super market. I cooked a "cowboy steak", which is an organic, trimmed, prime rib, 2 inches thick and ever so tender. Followed the recipe exactly and served up a fine succulent, restaurant quality dinner. Thank you once again, Pellerin; dessert was your 4th of July Fruit Parfait #128152. You have been a good adoptee in the PAC game/ 2005. I think we shall keep you, and your steak recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2005

      WOW. Great mushrooms. I followed all the directions except I grilled my filet mignon and then let it rest for 5 minutes with the mushrooms on top. What a great flavor. I also doubled the roasted garlic. Wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2005

      Pellerin.... Bullseye! Truly outstanding. The mushrooms were fantastic. I did triple the the amount of roasted garlic. Utterly sublime and as good as it gets. Steakhouses would do well to copy your work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2005

      What an awesome recipe!!We followed the recipe except for using ribeyes instead of filets because that is what we had . . Also we used cooking sherry instead of the brandy. These were soooo tender and the best steaks we've ever had. Definitely for the mushroom lover. Thanks Pellerin for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2005

      The only thing I did different Was to omit the salt for health reasons. This was the best steak I've had in forever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Tenderloin Steak / Filets With Mushrooms

    Serving Size: 1 (616 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 902.8
     
    Calories from Fat 627
    69%
    Total Fat 69.7 g
    107%
    Saturated Fat 26.5 g
    132%
    Cholesterol 190.6 mg
    63%
    Sodium 3599.2 mg
    149%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 44.0 g
    88%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites