Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Soft Boiled Eggs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Soft Boiled Eggs

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2010

      I have just had two of the most PERFECT soft boiled eggs. It's been a very long time. I didn't have an egg pricker, but a safety pin worked just as well. Now I'll be able to enjoy my favourite eggs more often. You're a life saver Bergy. :) Honoured to make this as a "Thank You" for voting for Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia in the 2010 Kraft Hockeyville Competition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      At 2200ft I need just under 6 minutes to get that perfect yolk. Thanks so much for the tip on elevation changing the timing. I always wondered why 3min worked perfectly for my Granny (at sea level) and I could just NOT get it right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      I wanted a perfect soft boiled egg as my first real meal after a stomach bug. I used a safety pin to pierce the egg and cooked for 5 1/2 minutes. Perfect! Thank you!! I found this recipe using Google's new recipe search.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      Simple easy recipe. We cooked 5.5 minutes but my husband would prefer 6 next time for a slightly more done egg. This peeled super easy! I used an egg piercer for this too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2006

      I love soft boil eggs and have been eating them for years. This is a perfect way of making them and it has been working for me always. I know this recipe is not going to be for everyone but I love to have it sometimes along with toasted english muffin and slices of tomato, salt and pepper. Perfect breakfast or light dinner. Thank you Bergy for reminding me how much I enjoy eggs this way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      This was the highlight of my morning... a perfect soft boiled egg. I thought I'd have a problem poking a pin through the egg.. but Nope!! I did it! My egg was perfect in 5 minutes. Oh happy day... no more slopping around poaching eggs and washing pans. Plus I got to use my antique egg cup that's been sitting in my cupboard for 15 years. I felt special when I sat down to this lovely breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      Great soft boiled eggs! Thank you! We are at sea level but the 5 minutes seemed to work just fine. Used a needle to prick the egg shell. I was sure that putting the eggs in when the water was boiling was the correct technique; just wasn't sure about the time required. Also make sure you take into account whether the egg has come straight from the fridge or not. Best if you can have them out for a bit, to bring them closer to room temp before putting them in the boiing water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      I love soft boiled eggs but rarely have made them b/c I never could get the timing right. I'm at an elevation of about 500ft, and just over 5 minutes was perfect! I don't have an egg pricker and the recipe still worked just right. And now that dd has discovered the fun of eating soft boiled eggs, I'm sure I'll be making these all the time. Thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Perfect! Thank you. I used to know how but had lost the touch. I am at sea level, used the 5 minutes still, and it was perfect for me yolk soft, white firm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      Wow it worked. Best soft boiled eggs ever!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      BAM! Perfect first attempt. I'm at 100' over sea level. 5 minutes on the button. Thank you to the reviewer with the safety pin trick, that worked like a charm. I tossed the little guys in to a bowl, and broke up pieces of wet toast over the top, then broke the eggs into pieces witha spoon...just like Grandma used to do for me. MMMMM. Now I have a new breakfast alternate to my perfectly poached eggs (PPE's as we like to call them around here).
      Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      pricked egg at 25 feet above sea level. Cooked for five minutes.....real good, but going to go 4:45 next time for a little sloppier yolk. Will post results.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      Thank you Bergy for showing me how easy it is to make soft boiled eggs. I have eaten them in restaurants and always thought they were heavenly. But now, I know how to do it myself! They were the perfect surprise for our brunch today. Thanks again for a perfectly boiled egg.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      Perfect Soft Boiled Eggs Bergy, followed the recipe except the egg pricker part. I get these jumbo eggs that have quite fragile shells and I was a bit nervous about using anything else but an egg pricker as I don't own one yet so I passed on that part but followed everything else to the letter. Perfect eggs what a joy to know that every time I make soft boiled eggs they will be perfect DH's favourite serve with toast points! Thanks for posting Bergy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      I recently had soft boiled eggs for the first time, and now I will be making them often for myself. I will cook them just a tad longer next time to be sure whites are cooked through (large eggs at 400 ft elevation unpricked). Thank you for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Boiled mine at 100ft elevation for 4:30 minutes and they were almost perfect. Used two eggs and 1 1/2 pieces of toast, salt and pepper-yum,yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      4:45 for an elevation of approx 450ft for me works perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Excellent! I have been looking for a good soft-boiled egg recipe for years. I tried this one, and I forgot that I had bacon on the plate. I didn't even salt and pepper the egg! And it was absolutely perfect. Regarding the egg pricking thing, I learned online that you can simply use an ordinary household tack, which I did, and it worked great. It seems more sanitary -and certainly less expensive - than the commercial egg prickers because this one can be sanitized and stabbed into a wine cork for storage. It definitely takes up less room in my bulging gadget drawer, too. Thanks again for a terrific staple recipe for my collection.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Perfect soft boiled eggs at 4 minutes. This brought back fond memories of my dad making this for me whenever I was sick. It always did the trick. The shells came off of the egg very easily. thanks for sharing your recipe:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      WOW!! Perfect, I haven't had these for years and years. I only wish I could have given my mother the secret to getting the shells off without burning her fingers. What a joy and perfectly made to my taste. I am making them again (twice in one week) Bon Appetit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Soft Boiled Eggs

    Serving Size: 1 (814 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 143.0
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    59%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 372.0 mg
    124%
    Sodium 1326.0 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 12.5 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites