Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Rump Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Rump Roast

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2014

      This is super easy and my go to recipe for rump roast. I season as desired. After the initial searing, I use 25 minutes per pound for medium to medium-rare results. The original recipe for the four pound rump roast isn't four servings! I know this was done for simplicity of entering such a great recipe, but in case you want to know, it works out to be about 229 calories per four ounce serving--if you can limit yourself to that! Great method. Thanks for letting me make the perfect rump roast that our neighbor Lois used to share with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      wonderful recipe for rump roast, mine turned out beautifully, pink and juicy! I also used beef stock instead of water and had delicious au jus to pour over the sliced beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2014

      I had a 500g roast given to me and followed your recipe as it sounded and looked delicious. Well I seared on 300 (as oven didn't go up to 500) for 30min then cooked for a further 20 mins with 1/2 cup water on 275 and it was absolutely perfect. Compliments from all the guests who demolished it :-D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      I have never made a rump roast before and my son rolled his eyes when I told him we were trying something new for dinner tonight. After eating it, he declared that it tasted like the meat we eat on Christmas Eve (prime rib). I cooked to 140 degrees, which is a perfect medium rare. Yum! It was very tasty and easy and I will definitely be making it again. I didn't make any major changes to the recipe. Used condensed french onion soup mixed with and equal part water in place of the water. And substituted jarred minced garlic since I was out of fresh. I packed the garlic into the slits and thought those bites were the best. Thanks so much for the recipe. My kids are picky, so it is great to find another meal they will eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      Made this recipe. Meat was tender and full of flavor. Added lemon pepper since my man likes it so much. It was wonderful. Rump roast is usually a bit tough but not with this recipe. I think the searing first does the trick. Holds in the juices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      This was simple and perfect. I changed nothing. Mine was medium rare when I cooked it as directed and it was absolutely delicious - flavorful and savory and so, so easy to make. Thank you! This is a recipe that I will use often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2013

      I bought a half cow this year, but never used rump before. This 'perfect' recipe? Step 1- you might use more salt

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

      This was just OK for me. I think you have to like medium rare to medium meat to enjoy this recipe. I just don't think rump roasts were meant to be cooked medium well...too tough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      I have used this technique for most of my cooking years .....it delivers a wonderful roast ....<br/>BUT just Gulfwild experienced below, DO NOT USE pyrex type pans ...... I personally use a CorningWare Roasting pan and boiling water slowly poured in to deglaze the pan after searing in the 500 degree oven ........ I made the mistake of using a pyrex baker at my daughters home one time, and the glass baker EXPLODED, the grease from the drippings hit the hot burner and caught fire ........ the whole house filled with smoke .....NOT good especially with a young child and newborn in the room .....(I am now known as "Grammy Boom Fire" by the grandchildren) ... No one was hurt, but potentially we could have been and the house could have burnt to the ground .... Personally I suggest a metal roaster for this process .....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      This recipe is so easy and the results are awesome. The water and meat juices make an awesome gravy and add in the bits of onion, magnificent. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      I am shocked to see so many people who used a glass pan to make a roast in. Seriously, have any of you ever seen a glass roasting pan before? No, and with good reason. Just the name "roast" should have been clue enough. <br/><br/>I did love this recipe. Followed others advise and tweaked it a bit. Lots of flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      Made this last night and it is totally awesome! Will use this again! Excited to make french dips with left overs. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      Followed directions totally but the end result was as tough as old boots!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      This is delicious!!!!! No fail.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      First of all, Gone Fishin states not to use glass with this dish. I always read the comments on all posting and read the reviews. <br/>Now to the Rump Roast, this recipe makes a normally tough grade of beef, tender like a filet mignon!<br/>Wal Mart had several rump roasts on sale and I purchased a small one to try this recipe out.I season with lots of sea salt and pepper. I love garlic and added whole cloves.<br/>Since I like my meat medium well, I added extra time . I also added a large potato and made a gravy with the juices.<br/>It was so good and cut like butter.<br/>I will now purchase this cut more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      Oh yum. I made this and it turned out perfect. It was cooked just the way I love it. By adding the s&p and garlic cloves it flavored the meat so good. Thank you for sharing with us your recipe. We loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      While rump roast is generally a pretty dry and unappealing thing, I bought one because it was on sale. I gave this cooking method a try and was pleasantly surprised. The low cooking temp made the majority of the interior stay nicely pink - medium rare - while the exterior was nicely crusty. That's the way we like it. I only let my roast sit out about 1 hour, so it was not quite room temperature, but I don't think that affected the outcome too much. I seasoned my roast with a spice mixture called Essence (by Emeril). I skipped putting anything except the garlic in the slits, being unsure about how to get the seasoning into the slits. I think just salt and pepper would have been fine, but you could really use any seasoning you like. I did use low sodium beef broth and added the leftover broth plus onions into a jar of canned gravy, and it really made that a tasty addition to the meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      A wonderful and easy recipe. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      I'm not planning to purchase a metal roasting pan... my stove came with a rack roaster. My plan is to sear with the rack, use the water to rinse/capture the drippings and transfer the works to my Pyrex roaster. By then I hope everything will be happy with temps and the roast can go back in to finish its job at the lower temp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      Made rump roast taste like prime rib! Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Rump Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (365 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 916.8
     
    Calories from Fat 496
    54%
    Total Fat 55.2 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 21.7 g
    108%
    Cholesterol 340.2 mg
    113%
    Sodium 1988.1 mg
    82%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 94.5 g
    189%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes