Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Rump Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Rump Roast

    Average Rating:

    79 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 79

    Sort by:

    • on October 25, 2009

      Fantastic as written. I didn't change a thing. VERY moist and juicy. Thankyou.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      Delicious! I followed the directions exactly. We loved it. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Excellent! I used a 2.2 lb roast and it was perfect-not dry like most smaller roasts, thanks to the searing method and moist heat for remainder of the cooking. In the last hour of cooking, I added wedges of potatoes and they were also perfect thanks to the meat juices, onions and garlic. DH loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      I was very impressed with the cooking method of this roast. I will use the method again. I used a half of a pack of lipton onion soup mixed in my water. Very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      This was very good. I recently got a quarter of a steer and was not quite sure what to do with rump roasts. Sliced thinly, the meat was very tender. It took a little longer to cook than 20 min per pound. I served it with dippin sauce, http://www.recipezaar.com/Simple-Horseradish-Sauce-201984.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Even the kids like this roast. They usually complain that they have to chew too much when I make a roast. This one turned out very tender and flavorful. I made a mushroom gravy out of the drippings and the onions left in the bottom of the pan and my daughter and husband raved about it. I think it was because of the onions that roasted along with the meat. Thank You for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      Very good, actually my first roast without the crock pot and I will be making this agian. I can see that it would be a great winter meal.....YUM....warming up the house and feeling like when I was a kid. My mom always made a roast on Sundays. Unfortunatly, I usually don't have the hands on time and usually use the crockpot. I forgot to get it going at lunch time so I decided to try your recipe. I will probably cook it a little longer next time, it was a little to red for everyone else, though I thought it was perfect. Thank you so much "Gone Fishing" for giving me a keeper and teaching me something new.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      Wow, is this ever simple and delicious. I'll never use another recipe for rump roast again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      Came out perfectly done. Juicy and a little pink. Thanks for the technique. I never knew to sear it first and now I will never have a dry roast again. I put some beef broth in with the water to make one cup of liquid and we used the chopped onions to top our baked potatoes. Yum-O

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      Rump roast is my very favorite cut of beef and I have always cooked my rump roast like you do. Searing it at a high heat holds in all of the juices and makes for a succulent roast. The smells in the kitchen as this is cooking makes your mouth water. You will get the most delicious gravy ever from this roast. Enjoy everyone, this is a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      I didnt follow the "ingredients" exactly - however, I did follow the "baking instructions" and too many rump roasts have come into this home and ruined before now. I used 1 cup red wine, 1/2 cup water, garlic, onion powder, and red pepper and baked at 350 for 20 min per pound. the family LOVED it! Thanks for sharing technique.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      This is one of th the few recipies that turned out just the way I pictured it should. It was made to make Philly Cheese Steak. It was perfect. I lost my stove yesterday so I had to do this in a toaster oven. There is nothing I can say to suggest improvements.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

      Should put the instructions about not using a glass pan at top of recipe. I used a glass pan and it blew up everywhere as soon as I added the cup of water. I could have been killed. I look up recipes because I can't cook and those instructions should have been clear. Most recipes begin with telling you what pan to use, not at the bottom after a bunch of ads.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2014

      DELICIOU. So tender. I did use a glass pan but only baked at 475 for 20 min then down to 275 for 1 1/2 hours. Added Lipton onion dry soup mix and 1 cup water right before turning down oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2014

      I joined just to review this. For years, I've tried every now and then to duplicate my mother's rump roast. This is it! My square-cut rump roast was 2.8 pounds. I didn't cut slits, just cut a big onion in eighths and dropped it in the pan. No salt, no pepper. It was exactly right. <br/><br/>You have to let it rest and slice pretty thin, because rump roast is a bit tough. With the drippings and a little cornstarch and water, you can make a dark, tasty gravy. (Yeah, you need salt and pepper for that, but you really don't for the meat.)<br/><br/>Brought back happy memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2014

      I'm hard to impress but this recipe has done it so I am in the Gone Fishin' Fan Club too. I read the other reviews so avoided the glass and used a Corningware roasting pan, which worked ok. I followed the seasoning and cooking directions. I used a meat thermometer to make sure mine would be well done, but just barely so; there was the faintest suggestion of pink if you used your imagination. Please note that neither moistness not tenderness was sacrificed in order to cook it to well done. I let it sit a half an hour before carving with an electric knife into thin, succulent slices. This is how I will cook rump roasts from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2014

      Questions!! ......although I am writing this a few years out from the last review! <br/>1 - I am assuming this is cooked uncovered?<br/>2 - if a rack comes with the roaster is it okay to place roast on this or no?<br/>3 - is it a no no to open the oven door while it is cooking?<br/>I am not very good with cooking meat and everything save meatloaf is usually so so.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2014

      I had such great expectations for this recipe. It wa my husband's Happy Father's Day dinner. I followed the directions to a "T". Unfortunately, the meat was tough and overdone. Sorry...it's back to slow cooker recipes for rump roasts from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2014

      Not sure what I did wrong. The roast was a beautiful medium rare but it was so tough we couldn't eat it. I followed the recipe exactly with a 3.4 pound roast. The outside was downright chewy but the very center of the red was kind of tender but still took a while to chew. Guess I'm just not a roast cook :-( Hate to waste a $15 piece of meat so into the crock pot it's going for a few hours to make bbq beef. The seasoning was perfect for flavoring the meat so the bbq should be tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      This is super easy and my go to recipe for rump roast. I season as desired. After the initial searing, I use 25 minutes per pound for medium to medium-rare results. The original recipe for the four pound rump roast isn't four servings! I know this was done for simplicity of entering such a great recipe, but in case you want to know, it works out to be about 229 calories per four ounce serving--if you can limit yourself to that! Great method. Thanks for letting me make the perfect rump roast that our neighbor Lois used to share with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Rump Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (365 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 916.8
     
    Calories from Fat 496
    54%
    Total Fat 55.2 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 21.7 g
    108%
    Cholesterol 340.2 mg
    113%
    Sodium 1988.1 mg
    82%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 94.5 g
    189%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites