Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Rump Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Rump Roast

    Average Rating:

    78 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 78

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2010

      Perfection! I took my 5 pound roast out of the fridge a good 2 hours prior to cooking and used about 7 or 8 cloves of garlic. After searing I added a splash of worcestershire, garlic salt and onion powder to 2 cups of water (my roasting pan is quite large). After the first hour I added some quartered yukon gold potatoes (plus a cup more water mixture) and continued to cook (and baste every 30 min) for a total of roughly 3 hours. Unreal flavor, it tasted like Prime Rib; no kidding! Thank you Gone Fishin' for sharing your mom's truly perfect "Perfect Rump Roast" recipe with the world!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      This is a wonderful recipe. I made a medium rare, succulent, delicious rump roast for Christmas Dinner yesterday. Rump roasts have always been a challenge for me - they won't ever be again. It took ~25 minutes per pound at 275 for medium rare. I used 1/2 red wine and 1/2 veggie bouillon instead of water. The drippings were the base for a delicious gravy. My family raved - THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      The roast prepared this way is great. The only real change I made was that I substituted a can of beef broth for the water. The wife, aka the boss, loved it and when the wife is happy all is well with world. Thirty-seven years of marriage and five years of living in sin teaches a person these things. Have used quite a few recipies on this site and this is the first time I've commented on one. Gone Fishin, your mother must have been a great cook. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      I am shaking as I write this because I just exploded my rump roast. Unfortunately, I used a glass/Pyrex roasting dish and when I slowly added the HOT HOT water to the pan after the 20 minutes of searing, the glass exploded. Now I have a royal mess in my oven and over the floor, no dinner, and a waste of good meat and money. Fortunately, I did not get hurt. Wow, what a lesson. My bad I guess. But I would suggest (for us novices) that you specify non-glass cookware. Don't know if I will have the nerve to try this again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      @gulfwild: You cannot use a Pyrex pan to sear meat at 500 degrees. I found this out the hard way myself. It will shatter, even if you don't open the oven door or add liquid. However, you can't add liquid to hot Pyrex either. In fact, consumers are supposed to add liquid to the bottom of a Pyrex pan BEFORE cooking any meat or vegetables that might leak juice or moisture as it cooks.

      Furthermore, on the Pyrex website, it says to never add liquid to hot Pyrex cookware (regardless of how hothothot the water was).

      Your warning on this recipe is a good one for those who don't know how to safely use their Pyrex bakeware. Glad you weren't hurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      I made this once before tonite, and it turned out delicious; but I was afraid it was just a good roast. Tonite's roast came out exactly like the first, just amazing. My only problem was that using these directions, and oven temp, a 3 pound roast took 2 hours for medium. Knowing this, I will still make it every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      WOW! I will NEVER make another roast the way I used to! This is incredible! So juicy and flavorful. When I stuck my fork into it, I was a little skeptical, but when I cut into it (against the grain) and the juice poured out and I tasted it I was hooked! Thanks for a great recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. I did add potatoes and carrots to the juice while it cooked

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      We had this for supper tonight-last minute and it was excellent!!! We don't eat beef very often and it was a real treat,well done on the outside, rare in the middle-Awesome. Next time tho' I will try black pepper instead of white pepper to tame it down a little bit. Like others I used half red wine and half water for the 1 cup. Served with Yorkshire Pudding. My hubby thought he'd died and gone to heaven.Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      I thought this recipe sounded awesome but I had a slight disaster. When I added the water, my baking dish shattered, leaving me with a HUGE mess and a screaming 5 year old. Should definitely NOT use a glass pan. I suppose I should have thought about that but I was rushing to get it in the oven. I will more than likely try it again. It sounds great but I was extremely disappointed that I wasted that much time and money to end up throwing it in the trash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      Excellent! I had a 2 1/2 lb. rump roast....I didn't add the garlic (husband doesn't like it) and used Montreal seasoning in place of the salt, pepper, garlic. After reading some of the reviews, I used beef broth in place of the water and sliced my onion into quarters....the onions got all browned and delicious! I roasted the beef until it reached 150 degrees, removed it from the pan and kept it warm, then poured out the juices and added some veg oil to the pan and browned a couple of tablespoons of flour right in the pan over low heat. I added enough water to the juices to make about 1 1/2 to 2 cups of liquid and poured that back into the pan and whisked with the browned flour. What a delicious gravy that was!! This is really a great, simple recipe and I'll definitely use it again the next time rump roast goes on sale as it did today! Thanks so much for posting this recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Great Recipe and so simple. My roast turned out perfect. The garlic add just the flavor to the roast. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2013

      Amazing--I prefer my meat a little more towards medium/medium well--it still turned out tender and juicy. I used more garlic (love it) and roasted it with chopped onions and carrots. Never made a successful beef roast before--thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      Do not use Pampered chef stone ware either, It will crack! Learned the hard way 2 times..:(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      Roast was tough! Cooking time was too short to get it tender. Had to put back in oven at 350 for an hour. 3.1 LB roast

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      This is a brilliant recipe...SUPER DELICIOUS!!! I never cooked a rump roast before & luckily I stumbled onto the PERFECT recipe! Thanks so much Gone Fishin' :) Of course I doctored mine a little...I almost never follow a recipe to the letter...so this is how I cooked mine: while my roast was coming up to room temp I stuffed the slits with a half head of garlic, each clove cut in half. I used sea salt, pepper & onion powder all over the roast & in slits too. Poured some worchestershire & rice vinegar over the top letting it marinate & occasionally turning it while coming up to temp. After searing I put 2 yellow onion sliced into 1/2 inch rings in the bottom of pan with marinade, a little additional worchestershire & rice vinegar along with 2 cups water (I have a big pan) & draped about 8-10 sprigs of fresh thyme onto the fat cap. I cooked the 4lbs roast for 25 mins per lbs & it came out with a nice juicy medium pink blush, a true medium rare! I served it with a mushroom gravy that I made from the drippings...I reused the onions from the roasting pan because they still had life in them, saut?ed them with a mess of butter & white button mushrooms, salt & pepper. When the mushrooms were done to my liking I threw in a heaping TBS of flour for a nice roux. I added the drippings & it was really tight so I thinned with only water till it coated the spoon nicely. The result was off the hook crazy good!! I understand why other posters make this recipe for Christmas dinner! I had my neighbors over for dinner & they raved saying it was the best meal they'd ever eaten. Make this recipe y'all...you will be very happy with it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      So good! Added a little extra garlic, seemed to be good amounts salt and pepper, makes great drippings for gravy, although I ran out of time and just strained out onions and used it to dip meat into. Meat was super juicy and tender. 20 mins/lb made it about med rare.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      I jazzed this up a bit with some crushed gingersnaps when I put the onion and water into the pot. Sort of a sauerbraten thing. Added fresh spaetzle about 6 minutes before I pulled the dish out of the oven. Very good! My Le Creuset was the perfect cooking vessel for a recipe like this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      A REALLY fine recipe........well enjoyed.........have found many recipes on this site, and finally commenting on a truely easy (our fav) and flavourfull hunk of beef! Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Followed recipe exactly & it turned out perfect!! The most flavorful & moist roast ever! Thank you :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      I wanted to add my comments but not a rating. I had a 2.5lb rump roast but did not want it rare inside, we don't like to see pink! I cooked it just until the timer popped up that it came with. When I added the water, I also added half a packet of onion soup mix. I LOVED the garlic pieces in there (I added a few more than called for and whole) and loved all the onions. I added a few potato wedges on the side. So the flavoring and taste was great but our roast was not very tender, still kind of tough to chew but maybe I cooked it too long. I loved the searing though and the flavor was amazing, definitely try the onion soup packet, it made a great gravy at the end.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Rump Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (365 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 916.8
     
    Calories from Fat 496
    54%
    Total Fat 55.2 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 21.7 g
    108%
    Cholesterol 340.2 mg
    113%
    Sodium 1988.1 mg
    82%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 94.5 g
    189%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites