Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Roast Turkey

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2010

      This was a fantastic turkey! Really moist and flavorful. I roasted a 20 pounder so I shoved as much garlic, thyme, onion and lemon as I could get into the cavity. We use the drippings and some Wondra flour to make a really flavorful gravy as well. I did baste it a couple of times during the 3 hours I cooked it but it may not have even needed it. Rave reviews all around! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I used this recipe for Thanksgiving this year. It was excellent...the turkey was very moist. Actually the moistest one I have ever made. Everyone raved about it. I believe this is a Barefoot Contessa recipe too. Roasted at 350. I used a 26 pound turkey :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Every year my friends get together before Thanksgiving and have a pre-Thanksgiving dinner party. This year I was assigned the Turkey. Having never cooked a turkey I was rather nervous but this recipe exceeded all my expectations. My turkey turned out so moist and flavorful and it was so easy. Everyone claimed it was the best turkey they have ever had. The recipe doesnt specify cooking times or temps. I cooked a 24 lb. turkey for 30 minutes at 425 and then turned the oven down to 350 and cooked it for 6 hours or 15 minutes per pound. I also loosely tented it with aluminum foil after the initial 30 minutes and as the name suggests it turned out perfect. I will definately use this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      This was a perfect turkey! I had an 11 lb fresh turkey and followed everything except I peeled the garlic instead of just cutting the top as one of the other cooks recommended. I used a roasting pan and covered it until the last 30 minutes; only basting one time. It was so moist and juicy! I can't believe how incredible it was! Usually you have to drench the turkey in gravy but this had so much flavor and moistness that you could eat it plain. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      I added rosemary and thyme to the lemon halves from juicing & zesting, then topped off with white wine to replace the juice of the lemons and propped them up on the inside so the wine didn't run out. also added crushed rosemary to the butter mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      I've made this recipe 2 years in a row & it definitely is perfect! I ensure that I use all fresh ingredients (the herbs really make a difference if fresh) and a decent size turkey to stuff all of it in. I followed advice to cook at 350 degrees, basting every 30 minutes. I actually triple the recipe for the butter, lemon & herbs & make lots for basting. Make sure you get some liquid under the skin of the turkey. Not only is this recipe delicious, but it makes for a picture-perfect turkey as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I made this Turkey this year for Thanksgiving. My very first Turkey and it was the best one any of us had ever tasted! I also cooked the Turkey at 350 and it turned out perfect (just as the title describes). Very juicy and tender. I will be making this every year from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      By: Healing Springs, AR Girl This recipe made such a huge difference in the flavor and moistness of the turkey. I will continue stuffing the bird with the herbs and vegetables suggested here instead of stuffing from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      My boyfriend loves to cook and this Thanksgiving was his first time meeting my family and he wanted to make a good impression. We cooked this turkey together and it was completely amazing, moist and flavorful. My only recommendation would be peel the garlic cloves and place them whole inside the bird. A little more work than putting the halved head inside, but we thought it would add a bit more garlic flavor if they were peeled. We also basted the turkey with the sauce every 30 minutes to an hour. Do keep in mind that every time you open the oven door, you increase the cooking time. Otherwise, sheer perfection.

      By the way, my parents loved him. ;)

      UPDATE: It's been three years and we've made this turkey every year since then. No matter who I make it for, everyone says it's the best they've ever had. I've learned a few things over the years of making this bird. I recommend tying all the ingredients in a bag of cheesecloth and stuffing the bag inside the bird. That way you can just grab the knot and pull all the stuff out and toss it. Works much better than trying to fish out all the mushy bits. Also recommend laying a few layers of cheesecloth over the bird and basting on the top of the cheesecloth. This keeps the breast very moist and if you peel the cheesecloth off in the last 30 minutes, you'll still get that golden crust on top.

      Oh yeah, one more thing...after that Thanksgiving in 2009, my boyfriend asked me to marry him. We've been happily married for 2 years now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Its the day after Thanksgiving and a day after my first bird. I chose this as my blueprint. I made an educated guess at a temperature of 450 degrees (only slightly odd that it was left out), added fresh Rosemary along with the Thyme, and stuffed it as they do with garlic, lemons and fresh herbs as well a simple, moist cornbread/sage dressing as my mother and her sisters did. Otherwise, I was true to this recipe. "Perfect" emerged, by consensus, the operative word in describing the Turkey I roasted. Everyone, myself included, was amazed. '

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      WOW! Made this for Thanksgiving last year and it came out amazing!!!! My dad and husband said it was the best turkey they had ever had! Trying to convince the large family for me to do the bird this year and this is def. the recipe I'll use!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      I covered my turkey with foil and eliminated the garlic (some members of my family don't like garlic). This recipe is perfect! My mother has officially passed the Christmas Dinner baton to me! My brother-in-law isn't a huge turkey fan but he loved it! Will definitely be using this one for years to come!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      My whole family LOVED this turkey. We also peeled the garlic cloves. My dad said this was the best turkey he has ever had! We will definitely be making this every year!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      This was my first time ever making a turkey for the family and it was voted the best ever! Even better than the turkey my parents have cooked for years. Definitely a keper and a new tradition in our family! The meat was so moist and juicy, and the flavor was incredible. I did cook it breast down to allow more juices to run into the white meat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      This is the recipe I chose for this year's Christmas turkey. I don't think I've ever had a more moist and flavorful turkey. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This is one of those recipes that deserves more than 5 stars. I used a frozen/thawed turkey 25 lbs-I couldn't imagine using a smaller size turkey since 'he' (Tom Turkey) was quite stuffed with all the ingredients. A couple of years ago I made a brined turkey that was fantastic-super juicy, though the leftovers were too sweet-off tasting. This was Very Moist and enhanced the natural taste of turkey. Thank You Fauve so very much, this is an absolute winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Great turkey. I changed it too much, so it wasn't perfect the way I made it, but I was using what I had. I used an orange instead of a lemon - gave it a nice citrus flavor, but lemon would have been better. I didn't have fresh thyme, so I had to use dried - fresh inside the turkey might have given it more flavor. I also used minced garlic - fresh would be better. But everyone at our table loved it - I was the only one that wished I followed the recipe more! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Delicious. Turkey was moist and tasty. It looked absolutely beautiful and smelled incredible.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      This turkey was PHENOMENAL!! It came out very moist, juicy, and flavorful. However, there isn't a note on what temperature to cook it at, but I just set the oven to 350, and it was perfect. I didn't have a bunch of fresh thyme however, so instead I used the dried stuff, and I added lots of regular butter under the skin of the turkey, plus the flavored butter drizzled all over the top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      Great recipe. I modified the butter recipe: used 1/4 c. bottled lemon juice, 1 TBS chopped fresh thyme, 1 TBS chopped fresh sage, 2 TSP chopped fresh rosemary for the butter sauce, and 2 small regular yellow onions (what I had on hand). We also poured some of the butter mixture underneath the skin. Had a 16 lb turkey, roasted at 500 for 1 hr, then 325 for 2.3 hours. In the first 30 min, it filled my apt. with smoke and I panicked and added a cup of water, but I shouldn't have added the water - It came out great. Will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Roast Turkey

    Serving Size: 1 (410 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 686.6
     
    Calories from Fat 342
    49%
    Total Fat 38.0 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 13.4 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 277.6 mg
    92%
    Sodium 248.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 77.8 g
    155%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes