Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Rice Everytime Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Rice Everytime

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2003

      WOW! Very easy and wonderful. I used beef broth as family doesn't like chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2004

      Great rice recipe! I only made two small changes to the recipe. First, I used about a tablespoon of dried onion flakes instead of the minced onion (because of the picky kids and I thought they would be harder to see). Second, I used beef broth instead of the chicken because I was serving the rice with beef. The rice turned out perfect, just as Mean had said. I didn't have an oven-safe saucepan with lid, so I pre-heated the oven with a corningware dish, and made the rice on the stove with the saucepan. Then, I transfered the rice to the corningware dish when going into the oven. It worked fine, but I'm now in search of new oven-safe cookware! Thanks for a great recipe Mean Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      OMG! its the best rice ever, esp with indian food. I always add a couple of more tablespoons of butter! ;0)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Feel bad I haven't reviewed since I've used this recipe about 10 times. It really is perfect every time and also very forgiving - last time I didn't have any shallots or green onions, so I just sauteed the rice in the butter and went on from there - it turned out perfect. I have doubled and even tripled the recipe too

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2004

      Thanks Mean Chef. I liked that I was able to cook the rice and my meat in the oven at the same time. Your recipe made well cooked, tasty rice. I will use this as my 'standard' rice recipe from now on. The recipe made enough for 4 portions - next time I'll double it and freeze the extra quantities. I chopped an onion finely in the food processor, cooked it in 25g butter and used 2 cups of stock. I omitted the salt(the stock was salty enough) and added only 1/4 tsp of pepper and would reduce the pepper further next time. Because my frypan has a vent in the lid, I covered the pan with foil, then added the lid, before putting it in the oven at 200C. Thanks for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2003

      This is the only rice I have ever made that wasnt starch, mushy or hard, even instant never worked. It was perfect! It dried perfectly with no buring, perfect texture and great flavour. Had it with stir fry. Thank you so much for finally helping me make rice that I didnt have to boil in a bag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      I'm embarrassed to admit that this recipe introduced me to rice. I thought all rice was like the mushy, tomato-y rice we had for school lunches, but this dish opened a whole new world for me! I found it to be very good & easy. I wonder if some would find it too peppery, but not me! I've been craving it ever since I first made it! I used basmati rice and followed the recipe just as directed. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      I used a large onion and followed the recipe as described. The rice was perfect. So good. Thanks riffraff :) Made for All you can cook buffet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      This is a great rice recipe! I used white onion, long grain rice, 2 chicken bouillon cubes mixed in 15 oz. of water, and white pepper. The baking time was perfect and the rice had a great flavor. I'll definitely be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      The title speaks for itself! I made this with fried rice(Fried Rice). Good job, Riffraff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      This is a great recipe! I have used it many times. Love the chicken broth to add flavor. I try to keep some in the refrigerator for fried rice or to serve with other recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

    • on January 15, 2008

      Mine always turns out a different color than the picture - more brown. But it is truly delicious with either shallots or onions, and even in a pinch I just used garlic & it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      What an easy way at rice..very good and no stove-top stirring. You gotta love that!! I think I'll experiment..I like cinnamon & brown sugar rice in the morning...many possibilities!! Thanks riffraff!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      This is the only way I will make rice from now on. Perfect every time is the truth. Wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      I have made this twice in one week. We love the taste of this rice. Usually we don't finish all the rice with dinner but we were fighting over the last grain of rice with this dish :). Thanks so much riffraff for sharing such an easy and delicious dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      Served this as a side dish to Slowcook Down Home Pork Chops and Gravy (http://www.recipezaar.com/45940). The kids and DH raved about how wonderful the rice tasted. Homemade chicken broth was subbed for the canned variety and I only added 1/4 tsp of pepper (to suit kids). Also, I used Kim D's suggestion of pre-heating corningware dish with great results. Cooked it in the toaster oven. Many thanks for the recipe and tips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      the best ..comes out wounderful every time...becareful not to use a glass pan ...I forgot and did when I added broth to pan it broke..now use metal pan that you can put in oven...thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      This rice turned out great! It was a just a little too salty. I did make my chicken stock using a stock base so that may have contributed to it however; I didn't add the salt called for in the recipe. It was quite peppery but I used a coarse grind. DH loves pepper so no complaints from him, sometimes you can't tell what's under the pepper on his plate. I served this with Balsamic Chicken Thighs #71557. I know I'll making this again. I think the recipe could be made to compliment your main coarse by changing up the stock and spices. Thanks, riffraff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      For me, 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper was too much. It overpowered all the other flavors and was very notable. If you do make this, I would suggest using less pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Rice Everytime

    Serving Size: 1 (191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 519.6
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    23%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 1388.6 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.3 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites