Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Pot Stickers (Alton Brown) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Pot Stickers (Alton Brown)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2007

      We made these as an appetizer for a Christmas party we attended recently. Everyone loved them! After assembling the potstickers, we boiled them & then fried for a few minutes to crisp them up. Served with a nice ginger-hoisin sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      While the recipe is good, I thought the cooking method needed a little fine tuning. That might just be variances from range top to range top. I did feel that the filling did not taste "Chinese" enough. It seemed to be missing something that would give it that "Chinese" food taste. I will play around with it and report my findings

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      I have been making these for years after I saw Alton's show and they are incredible! Easy to make and taste wonderful! I have also prepared the filling and stuffed the wontons, then flash froze them on cookie sheet, and bag them when frozen. Just take them out 30 minutes before planning to cook them, and they are great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      These are ABSOLUTELY fabulous! I have made them MANY, MANY times. They are really good and simple to make. It takes a little while to assemble them, but it is worth the little effort. I was just heading over to Foodnetwork to print this recipe, I should know it off by heart by now and thought I'd look and seee -- so glad you posted it! Definately give these a try. BTW, you can make the filling up and freeze it, then you just need to thaw it out and fill the wontons, I usually keep some in the freezer for a quick potsticker fix!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      These were very good. A bit time consuming, but worth it. I used half turkey and half pork, and added 2 tsps. of low sodium soy sauce. Didn't add the brown sugar. Served with a dipping sauce of soy sauce with a bit of toasted sesame oil and chopped scallion greens. Cooked up one batch and froze the rest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      I have a secret ingredient that I add that makes this super moist and absolutely amazing...silken tofu. Yes, you read that right. It doesn't compromise the flavor but adds so much to the texture. I have made it this way everyone after I saw an episode of Throwndown with Bobby Flay and the entire family loves them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      Delicious! I made these yesterday and my kids and I loved them. I really like the flavor in these, I have made others (that we liked) but these have a more unique flavor that we really liked. Thank you for sharing. BTW, I cooked half just like the instructions and the other half I fried....we liked both. Too good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      Potstickers are so much easier to make than I thought they would be. They do take a while to fill/fold (took me about an hour, and I did the pleaty thing like AB did on his show - you can see it if you search for "Perfect Potstickers" on YouTube), but once that part is over, you can cook them in no time at all! I made this recipe, but the one on foodnetwork.com might've changed, because the amounts were a bit different: 2 T red bell pepper, 2 tsp. Worchestershire sauce (I used soy sauce instead), 2 tsp. ketchup, and 35-40 wonton wrappers. I only used 1/2 tsp salt (no salt would've been ok, probably), I used a 14 oz. pkg of wonton wrappers (which had about 42 in it), and still had a tiny bit of filling leftover. I also used ground turkey and added 1 1/2 tsp of minced garlic from the jar. Since it is just my husband and me, I only made part of this recipe and I froze the rest, as Sandi (From CA) suggests, which is SUPER convenient! I served these with shrimp fried rice (Chinese Fried Rice), and I made some Chinese hot mustard to go with them (Chinese Hot Mustard). Thanks for posting this, Sandi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      Made exactly as written, absolutely a hit. I like a crispier pot sticker, so next time will just fry them in a bit of peanut oil, and skip the simmering in chicken broth step. Don't be intimidated by the ingredients or the time it may take. Do it on a day that you have a bit of time free. Uncooked potstickers freeze wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      I Will make these again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      YUM!! Brought back memories of a little hole in the wall in Hawaii when I was stationed there in the US Air Force. I am glad they were good as I had to spring for a new 12" stainless pan as I only had non-stick. Definately a keeper recipe....I like to tweak things so I added some garlic and ginger. Made double and froze half of the meat mixture for next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      these are right on the money in my book. Couldn't be any easier & they are delicious. I too, froze them on the cookie sheet & bagged once frozen, makes the effort well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      My husband and I made these after a Good Eats episode. We were hoping to freeze some but ended up eating every last one we made!! They are soooo yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      Delicious. Next time I'll use less salt, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Pot Stickers (Alton Brown)

    Serving Size: 1 (1003 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 57.6
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    45%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 10.9 mg
    3%
    Sodium 147.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites