369 Reviews

What a great recipe, I was a little scared of just leaving it in the oven but it came out perfect. I had a 1.63lb. pork tenderloing that I rubbed with olive oil and seasoned with garlic powder, onion powder, thyme, black pepper, small amount of cayenne pepper and salt. I cooked it at 550 for ten minutes and when I took it out an hour later it was perfect. I made a quick gravy with some chicken broth and served with mashed potatoes and broccoli. Thanks for the great recipe, this is my new favorite for pork tenderloin.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria January 08, 2008

This was perfect! I've been buying Pork Loin at Costco for years and trying to find a way to cook it that doesn't dry it out...BINGO. Thank You So Much...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAKlosterman September 25, 2007

"Perfect" describes exactly the way the pork tenderloin turned out. My family loved this. I used MizzNezz's "Herbed Pork Tenderloin" rub (Herbed Pork Tenderloin) for seasoning. Thanks, BeachGirl!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzzsin August 12, 2007

Fantastic!!! DH kept reading the recipe, as I was roasting this, shaking his head and giving me that look...you know the one that says "I'm not going to say anything, BUT this will never work". We couldn't believe how tender and moist this turned out. I sliced the leftover roast and warmed it in a package of brown gravy mix along with a few sauted onions which DH took to work the following day along with the recipe. I can't thank you enough for posting this wonderful roasting technique.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely February 16, 2007

Best Pork Loin ever. Works with other meat, to. I just made a "My version of Turducken", Turkey Brest, Chicken Brest, Anduille Sausage rolled up and closed up w. twine.Dry seasoned over night, topped w. a stick of butter and followed the cooking recipe. Superb! I have also used it for rolls

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
terharn.susanne November 22, 2006

Tried this and could not believe how great it is. As others have said - the ONLY way to cook from here on in. What a crowd pleaser ! Thank you Thank you !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunty Em September 22, 2006

Tender and very evenly cooked, but I'm not sure I'll do again, as the meat thermometer didn't get anywhere near 140F after the full hour. DH is very nervous about pork and trichinosis, and it was past my kids' usual dinner time, so frustrating to have to turn the oven back on. Could it be my oven? It is old, but has always worked fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suba January 17, 2006

Great method! I followed this recipe exactly and it was so good. I made a marinade of: fresh minced rosemary, fresh minced garlic, olive oil, kosher salt, fresh ground pepper, and thyme and pureed it. Coat meat, reserve some. Marinated it 4 hours. Brought meat to room temp before cooking. The outside of the meat didn't look especially appetizing because of this method, but I had reserved some of the unused heated marinade and made it look better & flavored it too. One problem with the high heat and olive oil is the smoke point-- sets the alarms off in our house! So if this happens to you, open up your windows first! This recipe is even worth setting off alarms.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpr September 14, 2005

I thought I timed everything perfectly but my roast came out at over 150 degrees. I had a 2.58 pound piece of meat. When I opened the package it was actually 2 roasts. One was bigger then the other. I cooked the biggest one estimating it to be 1.5 pounds and the other 1 pound. My oven only goes to 500 so I cooked at 5oo for exactly 8 minutes. Turned the oven off and set timer for 1 hour. Opened at that time and put my instant read thermometer in and it was already at 150. It was still good and it was tender but it was defintely cooked more then I had hoped. I will try again with the smaller piece. I'm not sure whether to cook it shorter at the beginning or take it out before an hour. I'll try again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol N December 26, 2004

Although I haven't tried it as yet, I know it will be wonderful because this is the exact way I cook my Foolproof Roast Beef (Foolproof Roast Beef and Vegetable). I'm sure it rates the 5-stars I've given it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dojemi June 12, 2004
Perfect Pork Tenderloin