306 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just cooked this and it turned out awesome. Moist and tender. I purchased an already sliced tenderloin that was 5 lbs in weight and coated each piece in fresh rosemary and Old Bay lemon pepper seasoning and garlic salt. I skewed ( shish kabob sticks) all the pieces together and poured a little olive oil over each piece.(This way I still had a whole loin and sealed in seasonings in between each piece.) I quartered potatoes and coated in green onions and white, fresh rosemary and a stick of buttery cut up laying on the top here and there. I baked all of this together and WOW it is all moist and delicious! Even the potatoes were perfect. They were not dry or under cooked.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dragonschild28 July 05, 2009

Like everyone else, I was skeptical about cooking pork this way, but it completely blew me away! My mother-in-law is a huge pork lover and can cook them well...but my husband said this was the best he's ever tasted!!! I used a dry rub from #85382 and it turned out phenomenal! A MUST TRY! THE ONLY PORK I WILL EVER COOK FROM NOW ON!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j8ert8er15 February 07, 2009

Add me to the list of converts! I discovered that what I thought was one pork tenderloin weighing 2.13 lbs. was in fact two equally-sized ones. I brought them to room temp. I seasoned with only kosher salt and lots of freshly ground black pepper, laid them right next to each other in the pan, and covered them with strips of bacon. I cooked them for 15 min because my oven only went to 500 and it also tends to be a little cooler than the listed temp. I followed everything else to the letter. Result? The meat was cooked through - no pink - and practically melted in my mouth. I have made my boyfriend forget his mother's dry pork chops forever! Now we can have pork all the time!!! YAYYYY!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashannonorourke October 21, 2008

Gotta admit, I'm skeptical about your cooking method and WisconsinGirl backs up my fears. There's a BIG difference between 500 and 550 degrees, especially when you state EXACTLY 5-1/2 min per pound. In today's economy, I'm afraid to incinerate my families dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Explorer May 29, 2008

Like this needs another review...LOL! This was fantastic and came out perfect. I could have taken it out a bit early since my thermometer was reading 150 at 2 mins to go. My son, who doesn't eat much meat ate about 5 pieces of this. I rubbed it with olive oil, then sprinkled with salt and pepper. Sprinkled it with oregano, garlic powder and basil. It was delicious. I had 2.15 lbs of meat and it is nearly all gone. Thanks for a definite keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~jb4~ March 08, 2008

Wow, I have to chime in on how moist and tender this was! My only question was I had 2 roasts each about 2.5 lbs which held 2 tiny tenderloins inside so I was unsure if I should time it for 5lbs, 2.5lbs or 1.25lbs. I cooked according to the 2.5lbs because that was ONE packaged roast, let it sit one hour and it was perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dtgadgetgirl February 01, 2008

What a great recipe, I was a little scared of just leaving it in the oven but it came out perfect. I had a 1.63lb. pork tenderloing that I rubbed with olive oil and seasoned with garlic powder, onion powder, thyme, black pepper, small amount of cayenne pepper and salt. I cooked it at 550 for ten minutes and when I took it out an hour later it was perfect. I made a quick gravy with some chicken broth and served with mashed potatoes and broccoli. Thanks for the great recipe, this is my new favorite for pork tenderloin.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria January 08, 2008

This was perfect! I've been buying Pork Loin at Costco for years and trying to find a way to cook it that doesn't dry it out...BINGO. Thank You So Much...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAKlosterman September 25, 2007

"Perfect" describes exactly the way the pork tenderloin turned out. My family loved this. I used MizzNezz's "Herbed Pork Tenderloin" rub (Herbed Pork Tenderloin) for seasoning. Thanks, BeachGirl!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzzsin August 12, 2007

Fantastic!!! DH kept reading the recipe, as I was roasting this, shaking his head and giving me that look...you know the one that says "I'm not going to say anything, BUT this will never work". We couldn't believe how tender and moist this turned out. I sliced the leftover roast and warmed it in a package of brown gravy mix along with a few sauted onions which DH took to work the following day along with the recipe. I can't thank you enough for posting this wonderful roasting technique.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely February 16, 2007
Perfect Pork Tenderloin