300 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm sorry to give a bad review, but I followed the directions to a T and came out with a 120 degree tenderloin. Next I put the oven temp. up to 350 and roasted it for 15 or 20 minutes, until the internal temp. was over 140. Dinner was late, but good. Still, I will never use this method for roasting again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WisconsinGirl April 13, 2008

Oh wow, dare I say that after I cooked this pork tenderloin I "ate like a pig"?? It was so tender and yummy, I just couldn't resist another slice, and another, etc. I'm very happy to have found this method for cooking pork, and I'll be doing it frequently in the future.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani June 22, 2003

To those very few here that experienced poor results with this technique, I assure you, it was the result of an action or circumstance, on your end, that was not properly executed. It can only be a few things-- #1: You didn't allow the meat to achieve room temperature before placing it in the oven. That would explain why the unsuccessful reviews all achieved the same 130 temp. That is the most likely reason. #2: You guessed at the weight of your tenderloin and you miscalculated. This technique, as in baking, requires precision. #3: Your oven temperature is not accurate. #4: You peeked. Opening the oven door at ANY time during the cooking process renders this technique null and void. I can't think of any other reasons. I suspect that #1 is the culprit. Try it again. Bon Appetite!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mfbrooker May 19, 2013

This technique is amazing! My pork tenderloin was so very moist. I will always use this when I am cooking a pork tenderloin in the oven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nykizza February 04, 2013

Definitely a keeper!!! Moist & Juicy even though I had issues w/my oven and had to modify the cooking method. Tried this tonight, brushed the tenderloin with olive oil and then lightly coated it w/a combo of rosemary, thyme, basil, garlic powder, salt & freshly ground black pepper. My oven temp reached 500, the tenderloin weighed 1.0 lb exactly. I baked it for 5 1/2 mins and then turned off the oven. Unfortunately, it's apparent my oven does not retain heat well as the internal temp was only 130. I re-set my oven for 350 and baked it another 25 mins and honestly, this turned out just fine, actually great!! The tenderloin came out moist & juicy so I'm giving this 5 stars because had I baked this traditionally, it would have been a dried out, disappointing piece of pork like usual. Served this with Maple Roasted Sweet Potatoes and no one was complaining here! Saving this as a keeper and will definitely make this my tenderloin recipe even though I have to modify how I complete the cooking for this due to my oven issues.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ritabzita February 03, 2013

I had a Costco Pork Sirloin Tip Roast (part of the 4-pack they're selling these days) and tried this recipe with that cut of meat and it worked perfectly. We had made one of the other pork roasts a couple of weeks ago following the basic instructions on the package and it was dry. This time, I used the method described above and it was amazingly moist! So, YES, use this exact same method for more than just tenderloin!
A couple of things to note: bring your meat to room temperature before roasting (I always do this for any meat, and just wanted to bring that to the attention of those who may not know that trick). I rubbed the meat with a mixture of garlic, rosemary, celery salt, salt, pepper and oil. My roast was just under 2 pounds and I cooked for 10 minutes at 500 degrees, convection method. When I turned off the oven, I checked the actual oven temperature 50 minutes after turning it off and it was at 277 degrees. My oven is fairly high-end and I assume well-insulated so I'm thinking that if you have an old or poorly insulated oven that loses heat too quickly, it may work to set your oven at 250 or so instead of turning it off altogether. That way, it won't go below that point.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyMitzi January 31, 2013

what more can I add? Tasty and moist and good! Thanks for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeniseBC January 30, 2013

I have to admit, I was very curious, but also a little skeptical as to whether the pork would be cooked properly and it was hard to not open the oven to check on it. However, the pork was absolutely perfect - moist and delicious! I used a spice rub and then cooked two tenderloins with a total weight of 2.25 pounds at 550 degrees for a little over 12 minutes, then turned the oven off and left them in for 1 hour. I would recommend this cooking method to anyone who wants a sure proof way to cook pork tenderloin.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dcn626_13036809 January 30, 2013

I have a newer oven in my apartment and it must retain heat well because my pork came out well done. Still a bit juicy but I was hoping for medium. I think when the author recommends between 500-550 for temp, it will relate to how done the tenderloin will be. (500=rare, 525=med, 550=well). But like I said, even at well done it was still juicy. My baby reds were sliced a bit on the large side (I thought the temp would take care of that) but they were not quite done enough so I through them back in on the middle rack for 10 minutes. Cut your potatoes small, that's for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soupandsalad January 22, 2013

I agree with the others, this is by far the best and juicest pork tenderloin I have ever had! I usuallyliked to smoke it, butthe weather was bad and I gave thos a try. Thos will be the only way I fix it from now on, Even days later when I cut it and heated it up, it was still very juicy.

Has anyone tried this with a Turkey breast? Bonesless breast only. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Strange007 November 11, 2012
Perfect Pork Tenderloin