372 Reviews

If you plan on making this, be sure to have a completely thawed out 5 lbs. I used a 5.89lb semi-thawed tenderloin and this technique did not cook it through entirely. However I was thoroughly impress at how much it cooked the tenderloin. I will definitely try this again with a fresh tenderloin. Note: The rub that I used had minced onions which slightly burned towards the end of the initial roasting period.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wilska March 16, 2011

This is the BEST and only way to cook pork tenderloin! I had a 1 1/2 pound pork tenderloin. Prior to cooking I used salt, pepper and granulated garlic as a rub. Placed the pork in a 9 x 13 pyrex glass dish and poured coke to cover about half of the loin. I refrigerated it for 6 hours and removed it from the fridge about an hour before cooking to allow it get to room temperature. As a glaze I mixed mustard, honey, brown sugar and cracked pepper in a bowl and poured it over the loin before placing it in the oven. I cooked it at 550 degrees for 9 min, turned off the oven and 1 hour later it was cooked to perfection! The meat thermometer read 160 (I believe) after it rested. I did leave some of the coke on the bottom of them pan hoping to use the sauce for the pork but it did burn slightly. Next time I will try it without liquid on the bottom. Hands down the best way to cook pork tenderloin! Thank you for sharing your great cooking technique!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking in San Diego August 27, 2010

I'm sorry to give a bad review, but I followed the directions to a T and came out with a 120 degree tenderloin. Next I put the oven temp. up to 350 and roasted it for 15 or 20 minutes, until the internal temp. was over 140. Dinner was late, but good. Still, I will never use this method for roasting again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WisconsinGirl April 13, 2008

Ours was very, very tender...but not pink in the center. We followed the recipe EXACTLY :o). We had a 1.1 lb tenderloin and cooked it for EXACTLY 6 minutes. Our oven is a 2 yr old Maytag that always heats accurately. The recipe didn't say if you were suppose to bring the meat to room temp before putting it into the oven. When you're cooking something for such a short time, I bet that would affect the outcome. I took ours out of the fridge one hour before cooking...it was very cool to the touch, not room temp. We marinated ours in olive oil, crushed garlic and rosemary for 7 hrs in the fridge. We both enjoyed it...I'll be making this again for a friend of mine at the end of the month! Thanks, BeachGirl! M&Mers

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M&Mers January 12, 2004

I have tried this recipe two separate times in the last month. Once with a 3 pound loin and tonight with a 5 pound loin. In both situations, I season the loins with a baby back rib like rub that is brown sugar-based. Follow the directions exactly as it says and you should have some great success as I have back-to-back times. Personally, it seems very strange to have the oven on at such a high temperature for a short amount of time then completely turning the power off and letting the roast do it's magic over the next 45 minutes or so. Just like the instructions say, when you pull it out, for oil it for 10 minutes or so and began to slice into the meat, you'll find this to be a strange yet exceptional recipe. Good luck this one's awesome!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
indymike11803408149 November 24, 2014

This recipe is the best. People don't believe it (I didn't either) until they try it. So simple and comes out perfect every time .

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susanglewis_8668949 November 10, 2014

Definitely a keeper!!! Moist & Juicy even though I had issues w/my oven and had to modify the cooking method. Tried this tonight, brushed the tenderloin with olive oil and then lightly coated it w/a combo of rosemary, thyme, basil, garlic powder, salt & freshly ground black pepper. My oven temp reached 500, the tenderloin weighed 1.0 lb exactly. I baked it for 5 1/2 mins and then turned off the oven. Unfortunately, it's apparent my oven does not retain heat well as the internal temp was only 130. I re-set my oven for 350 and baked it another 25 mins and honestly, this turned out just fine, actually great!! The tenderloin came out moist & juicy so I'm giving this 5 stars because had I baked this traditionally, it would have been a dried out, disappointing piece of pork like usual. Served this with Maple Roasted Sweet Potatoes and no one was complaining here! Saving this as a keeper and will definitely make this my tenderloin recipe even though I have to modify how I complete the cooking for this due to my oven issues.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ritabzita February 03, 2013

Like most of the posted reviews...I was doubtful this would come out well for me. I have a low end oven that only goes up to 500 degrees. I was tempted to add more than the stated 5 1/2 min per pound but I didn't. I followed the timing directions to a T. Rubbed two tenderloins with a commercial pork dry rub I happened to have and stuck it in the oven. I'm not a great cook but my husband couldn't get enough of this. It was wonderful. This with good cole slaw and corn on the cob made a great meal!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamelashamala January 20, 2013

Was really doubtful about this recipe but figured what the heck. Did just like it said, salt and peppered, then rubbed in onion powder and garlic salt. It came out fantastic. Very flavorful and moist. My wife, who has alhzimers and is hard to get to eat one piece, ate three pieces and loved it. Thank you for this recipe and it's the only one I will use.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elevenfan December 02, 2012

We slightly altered this recipe to make a little over a pound of pork. We had two half-pound slices, baked it at 550 for 8 minutes, then let it sit in the oven for one hour. In the end it turned out delicious, but, a little dry, little over-.cooked. I think if we had used 1) a smaller container in the oven to contain the juices and 2) reduced the temperature to 500, it would have been juicier. Just FYI for anyone using multiple smaller slices of pork. They cooked a little too fast.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovefoodyaknow November 26, 2012
Perfect Pork Tenderloin