361 Reviews

The very best way to cook a large pork tenderloin.I had a beautiful 41/4 pork loin and I wanted to avoid having it dry out so--with great trepidation- I tried this method.What a success!!! It was moist and so flavorful. It smokes a bit during the initial cooking time though so be ready to open a window. When the oven is turned off the smoke gradually subsides though.The roast turned out so well it was well worth it!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hapfreas October 31, 2015

I left a review earlier. The meal turned out great, however, when cleaning up and putting away the leftovers, I noticed the inside bottom edges got burnt in my roaster. I used the typical black roaster with the white dots on it. I have to throw it away. What is everyone else using to put the roast in?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen z. October 25, 2015

It was the best pork tenderloin I have ever cooked. Moist! I am going to make again for company this weekend. That hour in the turned off oven gives us time to prep the rest and visit with guests.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy D. October 19, 2015

Amazing, came out perfect. 2.55 lb. roast at 500 for 14 minutes. 50 minutes later, it was 140 and after 15 minutes of rest, 155.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim B. October 16, 2015

Love Love Love it. 5 stars aint a high enough rating. It was amazing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer W. September 16, 2015

Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I was skeptical at first about the roast being juicy because it seemed to me that it 'sat around' for so long in the hot oven. Even when I was cutting it, it seemed dry. But then I ate my first bite and it's true! The roast was so tender and so juicy! My boyfriend wolfed down 4 pork chop-sized slices it was so good - and he's usually a light eater. He also took some home for lunch today. Bottom line, this recipe is a WINNER!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kegaket1 September 16, 2015

I have made this recipe with beef tenderloin with temperature at 500 degrees and cooking 5 minutes a Lb. leave in an hour for medium rare f. Leave in longer for more medium well. Since a beef filet is sometimes pointed at the end that parent is good for someone who want it more well done. Or cut off and use a beef fondue. The pork also is awesome. Love it that you reminded me of this method of cooking tenderloin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dlower3103 September 13, 2015

Best ever!!! So moist and tender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stevenshirley U. September 12, 2015

Excellent. Cooked so many tenderloins, using a lot of different techniques, but this one produces the most tender, juicy result. 3lb. at about 17 mins. at 500 then 1 hour with oven off. Sliced on bias, this roast seasoned with just onion powder, garlic-pepper, was the best one I've ever prepared. Meat was at about 155 when measured. Didn't tie the 2 halves. Didn't matter. By the way this roast was frozen for at least 4 months when defrosted, still absolutely scrumptious. Thank you all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nolansranch September 04, 2015

Divine! Simple! As easy as it possibly could be to cook and tastes great. I even over cook mine to 165 degrees and it was still juicy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brad Y. September 02, 2015
Perfect Pork Tenderloin