33 Reviews

The perfect way to poach eggs, these are great! For me, 2 1/2 minutes is just right. A cook's note from Gourmet magazine that I find very helpful is: Poached eggs keep overnight. Transfer eggs as cooked with a slotted spoon to a bowl of cold water, then chill in water. To reheat eggs, lower them into simmering water with a slotted spoon and cook 20 to 30 seconds. Transfer to paper towels. Thanks for posting CountryLady!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie May 11, 2009

I am the only poached egg eater in this house. Therefore, I do not make 8 eggs at one time! However, I always add a little vinegar to "keep the whites together". It is a great little trick!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. December 27, 2003

This worked out very nicely. I don't think I turned the heat up high enough at first though, as it took a very long time for my water to simmer! But once it did, the eggs were good and it was easy. I even got my 2 year old to have some, and she has always refused eggs!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit April 02, 2004

This works, but not so great due to lingering vinegar in any liquid remaining. Prefer no vinegar cooking methods for poached eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 26, 2015

Easy and delicious. I am fairly new to poaching eggs and this will be my "go to" recipe for poached eggs. I only cooked 2 eggs, the only thing missing was toast for sopping up all that runny yummy yolk. Thanks for posting CountryLady

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sloe cooker August 03, 2011

This was good but I'm going to need a lot of practice making these I'm afraid. My eggs didn't look to good but they tasted good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 August 01, 2011

Been poaching eggs like this for years and thought for this morning a nice quick breakfast but I was really tired after a really bad night (very little sleep) and muffed it up a little but still very much enjoyed (my main mistake I think was that I took the eggs straight out of the fridge where normally I have them at room temperature). Thank you CountryLady, made for All You Can Cook Buffet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat July 31, 2011

This review is from my DH. He wanted to try poached eggs - never had them before. I followed the directions exactly and sprinkled with salt and pepper when serving. He thoroughly enjoyed them. 5 stars all the way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuisinebymae July 10, 2011
Perfect Poached Eggs