Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Plum Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Plum Pie

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2010

      This was wonderful! I'll make it often. I did use 5 cups of black plums (about 10 avg size) and added appz 1/4c quick oats to the topping. Thank you for posting PuglyDuckling

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      This pie explodes in your mouth! Tastes like a Sour Patch Kid pie. Made with small, fresh plums from my dad's house. Served with whipped cream. I made one pie with sugar, as the recipe stated, and another with Splenda. They were equally delicious. Great recipe I will use year after year to use some of the plums on my dad's property. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Excellent pie...warm or at room temperature. Serving with vanilla ice cream is a must! Recommendation: Place filled pie on cookie sheet prior to placing in oven (in the event that juices overflow). I used more than 4 cups of plums for the pie. Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      One word: OMG! This is fabulous. I never imagined plums in pie, but it was perfect. Really reminds me of a sour cherry pie, which is my favorite from when I was a child. Definitely a keeper recipe, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      This is really really good. Mine came out tart and tangy because of the homegrown red plums tangy skins I used. We liked it that way! It's very much like sour cherry pie. Such a pretty color too! I added a few tablespoons of cornstarch to the filling because my plums were so juicey and I was afraid it would come out too runny. I diced my plums instead of slicing them - I think that added to the cherry-ness of it. I also added a 1/2 cup rolled oats to the topping and increased the butter to 4 tablespoons. It made a nice crumbly top. My family decided to call this pie Crumby Plummy Pie. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2004

      My husband grew up with fabulous homemade fruit pies (Baker's Square doesn't cut it) so he is pretty picky about what he considers a good pie. This one made the cut, in his and my opinion. I used small yellow plums from our tree in the yard. Based on Kiwii's comment on the topping, I used closer to 4 Tbs. of softened butter and was sure it had no dry flour before putting it on the pie. This is a good pie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2014

      Delicious! I used a top crust made with shortening. It produced a perfectly flaky crust. I also mixed in a few pears and it was a delicious match to the small plums from my csa box. Highly recommend!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2013

      I had a huge box of plums to use up and I decided to use this recipe to make a few pies. Three to be exact. It was super easy to throw them together and aside from cutting up the plums took just a few minutes. I was really worried when I put the topping on and it looked like my beautiful pies were covered in a thick layer of flour, but as you can see from my picture, all ended well. Not only were the pies beautiful but they tasted delicious as well. I'm sure my friends who will be getting the 2 extra pies will be just as thrilled as I am! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      Never had plum pie! this was delish! Used big black plumbs a friend so kindly shared with us off their tree. This is a keeper! thank you. Increased the butter to 4T. Used this pie crust and froze 2 "balls" for a future pie. http://www.food.com/recipe/pie-crust-blue-ribbon-174625

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      Super easy, I read the reviews and increased the butter to 4T. I didn't have any plain oats so I used 1 packet of maple and brown sugar oatmeal which added a great complex flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      Absolutely fabulous recipe. It was enjoyed by all. Thank you so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      Easy pie to make but it will over flow. A must to add to your pie collection

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      This was a really tasty pie! I used these small cherry size red plums that grow in my backyard. I never would have thought this would taste just like a sour cherry pie! ( You may want to double the topping if you like less tart) I loved the tartness though. Now I finally have a use for these plums. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2006

      This is very close to the one I use, but mine bakes in a 425 oven (crusts wrapped in foil for first 25 minutes), then take off foil for another 25 minutes. I just made one today! For someone who hasn't had a plum pie, I think it's a cross between a cherry and a blueberry. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2005

      I made this for a 4th of July celebration. Everyone loved it. I used 4 Tbsp. of butter in the topping and I served each slice with a scoop of vanilla ice cream... perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2004

      plums covered with delicious crumbs. wow, i served this with real whipped cream and it was a definite hit. this will be a keeper, i already sent my married daughter and d-i-l a copy of the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2004

      Thank you for posting this recipe! I had a box full of plums that I just couldn't eat fast enough, and this used them all in one recipe! The taste was great, but the topping needed more margarine. I thought it might come out better after baking (and I always have bad consequences when I don't follow the recipe - so I went by the letter), but it still looked like a pile of flour on top of the pie when it came out of the oven. Overall, with a huge scoop of ice cream on top, nobody noticed and it got rave reviews. Great hot or cold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Plum Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (1209 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2642.5
     
    Calories from Fat 871
    32%
    Total Fat 96.8 g
    148%
    Saturated Fat 22.3 g
    111%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1919.5 mg
    79%
    Total Carbohydrate 431.7 g
    143%
    Dietary Fiber 19.2 g
    76%
    Sugars 266.2 g
    1064%
    Protein 25.8 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes