164 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I tried this tonight with macaroni, and it didn't work so well. It worked okay, but the macaroni ended up a little overcooked. I think it should've only cooked maybe ten minutes. I'll keep this recipe around and experiment with it like you suggested. For anyone who wants to use this for macaroni, I'd suggest you use a shorter time, and let me know if anyone finds a good cook time for macaroni using this method before I do.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire October 06, 2009

Whoo hoo! I tried this with whole wheat lasagna noodles--to make a nice lasagna for hubby. This worked GREAT and THANK U for the specific directions. It took 10 minutes to cook them & hubby had no complaints about the texture so I was a happy camper. Thanks so much again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS September 19, 2009

How to cook pasta should not be listed as a low-carb recipe. Pasta is carb central!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachelwashere September 19, 2009

This is how I make my pasta every time. I find the time does vary depending on the type of pasta being made (egg noodles only take about 7 minutes). My husband doesn't like this method for hollow pasta - he thinks too much water gets left inside the noodles. For spaghetti and other long noodles it is the ONLY way I make it now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seedbeads September 10, 2009

This is an awesome way of making pasta & you are right, it is perfect every time. After I partially drain the pasta, I pour it back in the same pot and add a bit of Olive oil infused garlic to it & leave it on the stove on low heat, till the other dinner ingredients get ready. Thank you so much for sharing. Ferryal

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ferryal August 23, 2009

This is great. All new cooks (& old as well) take heed to this recipe; it works. I was skeptical at first but now I use this method all the time. It saves from having to stand over the pot and watch it plus it does not steam up the kitchen. Thanks Bergy for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Justin's Mom August 10, 2009

Just did this with Wegmans brand rotini's. It cooked up great, but it has a pasty texture when you chew it. Maybe it was just the pasta i used. I am planning on trying it with a brand name linguini next and will report.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elainia August 09, 2009

I needed a pound of macaroni for another recipe so thought I would give this a try. I used Dreamfield pasta and followed the recipe exactly. The pasta did cook up nicely but mine did stick some. I will be trying this with other pastas. This was such a time saver for me as I made the pasta, set it aside and made other things for dinner. When the timer went off, I was able to use the macaroni. I didn't have to sweat over the pot or stir it. I will be using this method in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 07, 2009

My mom taught me something similar when I was learning to cook. We bring water to a boil, add salt & pasta. When water comes back to a boil, cover, turn off burner & leave pan on burner. Set timer for 10 min.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tora628530 May 13, 2009
Perfect Pasta With No Watching and No Sweating