Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Pasta With No Watching and No Sweating Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Pasta With No Watching and No Sweating

    Average Rating:

    164 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 164

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2009

      I tried this tonight with macaroni, and it didn't work so well. It worked okay, but the macaroni ended up a little overcooked. I think it should've only cooked maybe ten minutes. I'll keep this recipe around and experiment with it like you suggested. For anyone who wants to use this for macaroni, I'd suggest you use a shorter time, and let me know if anyone finds a good cook time for macaroni using this method before I do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      Whoo hoo! I tried this with whole wheat lasagna noodles--to make a nice lasagna for hubby. This worked GREAT and THANK U for the specific directions. It took 10 minutes to cook them & hubby had no complaints about the texture so I was a happy camper. Thanks so much again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      How to cook pasta should not be listed as a low-carb recipe. Pasta is carb central!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      This is how I make my pasta every time. I find the time does vary depending on the type of pasta being made (egg noodles only take about 7 minutes). My husband doesn't like this method for hollow pasta - he thinks too much water gets left inside the noodles. For spaghetti and other long noodles it is the ONLY way I make it now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      This is an awesome way of making pasta & you are right, it is perfect every time. After I partially drain the pasta, I pour it back in the same pot and add a bit of Olive oil infused garlic to it & leave it on the stove on low heat, till the other dinner ingredients get ready. Thank you so much for sharing. Ferryal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

    • on August 10, 2009

      This is great. All new cooks (& old as well) take heed to this recipe; it works. I was skeptical at first but now I use this method all the time. It saves from having to stand over the pot and watch it plus it does not steam up the kitchen. Thanks Bergy for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Just did this with Wegmans brand rotini's. It cooked up great, but it has a pasty texture when you chew it. Maybe it was just the pasta i used. I am planning on trying it with a brand name linguini next and will report.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      I needed a pound of macaroni for another recipe so thought I would give this a try. I used Dreamfield pasta and followed the recipe exactly. The pasta did cook up nicely but mine did stick some. I will be trying this with other pastas. This was such a time saver for me as I made the pasta, set it aside and made other things for dinner. When the timer went off, I was able to use the macaroni. I didn't have to sweat over the pot or stir it. I will be using this method in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      My mom taught me something similar when I was learning to cook. We bring water to a boil, add salt & pasta. When water comes back to a boil, cover, turn off burner & leave pan on burner. Set timer for 10 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      I got nervous when I lifted the lid and saw the batch of angel hair grouped together. I thought they hadn't cooked properly or were sticky, but nope! They separated when the water was disturbed and had cooked perfectly. Thanks so much for posting this cooking method!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Update: I have since tried this method with pasta and I wouldn't go back to the old way again! Super easy, perfect every time!!!April 14/2009: This method could be applied when making soup. Once the soup is finished, I add the pasta and remove it from heat. It sits there (uncovered) and is cooked in about 10 minutes. Great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Works perfectly! Thanks for this awesome way of cooking pasta!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      This worked great with spaghetti. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      Great way to cook pasta. I was always looking for the packet to see how long to cook - now it doesn't matter with this method I can do each type for the same amount of time. It might not be quicker but it sure is simple and it works so well. Thanks Margaret.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      Great trick!! Pasta came out perfect...I will definately be using this method from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Wonderful. This worked great! It was so easy. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Great Tip! I made some Spaghetti last night using this method, and they turned out just perfect. I will always cook my pasta this way from now on. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      Excellent! Perfect Pasta everytime! Just make sure you don't forget to drain it at your 15 minute mark...I ignored my timer and ended up with limp pasta!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      It works!!! How nice not to have to watch it... and have another burner available.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Pasta With No Watching and No Sweating

    Serving Size: 1 (0 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites