164 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I tried this the other night with linguini and was less then impressed. I let it sit 15 mins as directed but pasta was still clumpy and not done in places. I expect it's a trial and error sort of thing and for all that, I might as well make pasta the way I usually do. Great idea though, just was a little disappointed it turned out iffy... hubby was skeptical it would even work and I only proved him right and I HATE it when that happens! ;-)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Jewhurst July 30, 2002

AWESOME!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 July 29, 2002

This changes everything. I'm going to share this on FB because more people need to know about this - will link to your recipe as well ;) What an excellent GREEN tip!! LOVE IT!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious August 24, 2010

I just tried this with macaroni. It turned out great. I will be cooking my macaroni this way from now on. Thanks for such an easy way of cooking macaroni - with no boiling over.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea May 12, 2010

I WILL NEVER BOIL PASTA AGAIN!! Thank you...Thank you! This was amazing....perfect pasta!! You Rock :) Update-I just used this technique for my son's Ramen noodles, and OMG they turned out perfect after just 10 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bella Rachelle May 09, 2010

I'm *Impressed*. I really had my doubts, but Roxanne's photo and review convinced me to give it a try. I'm certainly glad I did. I used Gemelli pasta, and it was perfectly al-dente in 15 minutes. Every noodle was picture perfect. No breaking, no sticking to the pot, so nothing but perfection. This is the ONLY way I'll cook pasta from now on. Thanks so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 April 28, 2010

Although this worked well for me using whole wheat linguini, I couldn't justify giving this 5 stars because it takes longer than boiling the pasta and doesn't really improve the taste at all. As far as I'm concerned, following the directions on the package works just as well if not better. Sorry!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend July 06, 2009

I was VERY skeptical, but this really Works!! I tried this during the summer when I didn't want water boiling in my kitchen. I'll never cook pasta another way again. So simple. Watch the timer, even this method can produce mushy pasta if left too long. Thanks for an energy saving, temperature saving technique.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellicious October 09, 2007

I gave this a try this weekend, more from curiosity than from a need to eat pasta. I used pasta twists, and I felt they needed a bit more than the 15 minutes. I'll try this again, experimenting with the timing. I suppose each shape and size works a bit differently.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani June 01, 2003

To Margaret 3.. from Thelma Louise This was a really great idea. It worked perfectly. Thanks so much. I live in Florida and we sure don't need any more humidity put in the house. This saves a lot. I will pass this on to others. Thanks again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thelma Louise April 30, 2003
Perfect Pasta With No Watching and No Sweating